Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sniper Elite series > Sniper Elite

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 10:56 AM   #1
RocketmaN 05 88
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Win 7

Will this game run with Windows 7 64?
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 12:24 PM   #2
coprophagia
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 176
Posts: 1,155
YES it dose!

But beware there is no widescreen support. 16:9 0r 16:10 reloutions. Its not a problem if you can stand 4:3 or stretched by you monitor/driver settings.
coprophagia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 03:57 AM   #3
paulm66
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
SE on windows 7

Hi, my retail version will not run on windows 7 64 no matter what.

Are you saying the steam download digital version will run on 7? I love this game but can't run it - if steam download will run on 7 that would be ace.

Cheers,

Paulm
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 12:53 PM   #4
neosky5k
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 12
Yeah i have the CD version and it won't work, so I was wondering the same thing if the Steam version does? I had got Repulic Commando a while back and it works great on win7 so I figured this would make it work too, but i don't want to buy it again and it not work and have to useless copies, lol.
Thanks for the help whoever.
neosky5k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 02:10 PM   #5
paulm66
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
re se

Hi neosky5k,
I was looking round earlier on the forum, someone said the steam version will definitely run on 7 as the starforce drivers are removed by steam.
Like you I have been loathe to try it until I knew for sure, will be downloading it later so I will let you know.
The starforce removal tool and patch does not work- at least on 64 bit windows 7 ultimate, nor does the compatibility mode and most 'virtual pc' software is no good for running games..
Fingers crossed for steam...gulp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:34 AM   #6
paulm66
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
re se on windows 7 - again

Hi neosky5k (and everyone else), just to confirm, Sniper elite steam version does run on windows 7 64 bit. I downloaded it last night and ran it, tiny graphics issue i.e screen loads in sections so you have part desktop and part SE, but only briefly.
Other than that all is ticketyboo- thank you steam!
For those who haven't played this game, online games are great fun - I try to play the 'no cross' games or no grenade - some idiots just run round throwing grenades. The single player game is excellent too, no auto save so remember to save.

Cheers,

Paulm.

aka triggerhappy UK on SE.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:49 PM   #7
neosky5k
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 12
ah man, I really want to get it now... Sucks least I will have to versions i guess.
neosky5k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 09:44 AM   #8
paulm66
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
re se on windows 7 - again

Hi again,
I had some issues with SE on 7, but it was due to a pc fault. Had to un install it, waited 5 days for a response from Steam and the response was useless.
I have now given up on getting sense out of steam and will now be adding a new hdd and installing a duel os with xp and 7 on different hdd's. Install se onto the hdd with xp - stuff steam and their terrible customer service.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 06:37 PM   #9
Type98
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
YMMV, I have both the steam and gog version of sniper elite. Both worked under Windows 7. Steam version under Windows 7 RC (64bit) and gog version under home premium (64 bit). I have not gotten around to trying Steam version under Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit nor have I tried to run through the complete campaign to see if any issues crop up.
Type98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 03:57 AM   #10
paulm66
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
re se and 7

Hi, I am running 7 ultimate 64, the retail version would run but I had to uninstall the graphics drivers and re install every time I wanted to play the game. This could be due to a combination of 7 ultimate and my GTS 450 graphics card, it is very odd that some can run SE in 7 with no problems and others cannot run it at all. Then again, not everyone says they are running 64 bit and I believe ultimate has added resources - it certainly hates DRM (starforce).
The steam version works well, but attempting to add the 'new maps' causes major problems - hopefully someone can tell me a work around for this. After re installing it last night / this morning I will be back in the game at last...
Happy sniping...

  Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 11:08 AM   #11
diogo_cme
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 46
Posts: 545
No widescreen is a deal breaker, but I might grab it to play on my beaten old laptop while I'm on the road.
diogo_cme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 11:41 AM   #12
Substar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 73
I have Win 7 Ultimate 64 and had no issues running this game.
Substar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 06:14 PM   #13
KSMF
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 486
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by diogo_cme View Post
No widescreen is a deal breaker, but I might grab it to play on my beaten old laptop while I'm on the road.
Max setting is 1600×900 Widescreen 16:9, works fine on my screen.

Runs great at my rig.
I7-2600K
16GB RAM
Win7x64

...

Last edited by KSMF: 08-09-2011 at 09:55 PM. Reason: Typo in resolution corrected.
KSMF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:44 PM   #14
cTs Corvette
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 4
Posts: 23
1600x1200 is 4:3, not 16:9. 1600x900 would be 16:9.
cTs Corvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:53 PM   #15
KSMF
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 486
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by cTs Corvette View Post
1600x1200 is 4:3, not 16:9. 1600x900 would be 16:9.
Your right, it was a typo.

1600x900 widescreen 16:9 is max.

Thanks for catching that, +rep for you.
KSMF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sniper Elite series > Sniper Elite


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.