Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > General Steam Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 07:07 AM   #1
Menphues
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 307
Posts: 1,617
Skin theme Windows 7 transparent?

Hello,

Just a quick question really.

I've got windows 7 and with transparent set to 100% so all my stuff like the taskbars, windows outlines etc is transparent and it just looks alot better.

So wondering, seeing as there is no actual colour for transparent and no way to make it.

Is there any Steam skins that would resemble any thing like Windows 7 feature/ transparency?

Just looks boring basic, and some of the themes are nice, but changes thing. If I new how to make a theme, then I'd happily spend hours making some.

Thank You!
Menphues is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 07:23 AM   #2
Missaglia
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 240
Posts: 349
Well...Sometimes I think Valve are still under the impression that windows users are still using windows 95, and that apparently, we don't deserve a really good looking UI like mac users. So er. No.
Missaglia is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 07:30 AM   #3
malek1013
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 326
Posts: 1,276
Probably not untl Steam Skins support Alpha Channels.
malek1013 is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 08:02 AM   #4
Menphues
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 307
Posts: 1,617
Ah right okay.

Thank You!
Menphues is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 10:31 AM   #5
Sintes
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 11
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missaglia View Post
Well...Sometimes I think Valve are still under the impression that windows users are still using windows 95, and that apparently, we don't deserve a really good looking UI like mac users. So er. No.
Steam looks awesome on Windows 7. Windows always has a higher priority than Mac when it comes to Steam and games as a whole.
Sintes is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 10:35 AM   #6
BS_1
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 4075
Posts: 3,345
I wouldn't mind some Aero, it would add a nice touch to skins. I don't know of any skins that allow you to have Steam transparent though.
BS_1 is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 11:19 AM   #7
Pulseh
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 693
Posts: 442
Transparency through to the desktop isn't possible atm. Colour in Steam's interface is defined in r,g,b,a format. So there is transparency, just not the Aero kind.

DialogBG, for example, is the colour of Steam's background in many places (the last layer so to speak). If you try and lower its transparency, it'll simply blend against black (meaning it will calculate the resulting colour as though there was a black panel behind it). So basically if you try setting DialogBG's alpha to 0, the client will be all black. And afaik there is no way around that at the moment.

Or at least, black's what Steam gave me when I asked it for transparency

Last edited by Pulseh: 08-15-2011 at 11:46 AM.
Pulseh is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 11:27 AM   #8
Menphues
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 307
Posts: 1,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by BS_1 View Post
I wouldn't mind some Aero, it would add a nice touch to skins. I don't know of any skins that allow you to have Steam transparent though.
Areo yeah be awesome.
Menphues is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 12:12 PM   #9
Missaglia
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 240
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sintes View Post
Steam looks awesome on Windows 7. Windows always has a higher priority than Mac when it comes to Steam and games as a whole.
Poppycock. The gui is way better on a mac, and the reason games aren't focused on with a mac is because a mac isn't a gaming machine.
Missaglia is offline  
Old 08-10-2012, 08:24 PM   #10
BradOZ
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Lightbulb It is entirely possible.

I tried using auto hot key with a script to change windows transparency with Win+T.

Now it does work on any steam window but steam will reset its own transparency back to opaque as soon as you click on it or click away from it.

So autohotkey is just telling windows to change the transparency of the window but steam changes it back.

So its quite possible steam just needs to have an option for it.
Winamp has an option for it why not steam? Its all part of windows capability ever since Win2k.
__________________________________________________ ______
\/ Just in case your interested in this hotkey script \/

Goodle AutoHotkey and click download.
then when you have it installed and running click file
edit script.

here is the script I used.
http://poojanblog.com/blog/2008/08/a...arency-script/
BradOZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > General Steam Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.