Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Publisher & Developer Discussions > Codemasters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 10:26 AM   #16
deadpoet
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I had the exact same problem as the OP (I'm running Windows 7 32-bit), but setting compatibility mode to Vista didn't work for me.

Strangely enough, setting compatibility mode to "Windows 7" solves the problem for me.
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\soldiers heroes of world war 2\soldiers.exe

Don't ask me why it works, but it does!

Oh, BTW this game doesn't support ultra high resolutions such as 2560x1440 -- it'll crash with a texture error. You have to manually decrease your res to 1920x1200 or less in order for the game to work. It's a pity!
deadpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 01:12 PM   #17
Psiborg
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
I'm running Win7x64 and setting compatibility to WinXP/Vista/etc. did NOT work for me. I'd add my $0.02 in case it helps anyone else in the future:

I did get it working by downloading the v1.28 NoCD patched EXE and then setting the compatibility mode on the NoCD EXE to WinXPSP3.

However, it's IMPORTANT that you also don't launch it through Steam! If you launch directly by running SOLDIERS.EXE it works fine.

If you want the Steam Overlay to chat with friends etc. then just add the patched SOLDIERS.EXE to your Steam library as a NON-STEAM game.

Good luck!
Psiborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 01:55 PM   #18
NoOnions
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 38
Soda700,

Thanks - worked for me.

Vista SP2 mode.

Works directly from Steam now.

Windows 7, 64bit.

Thanks,

NoOnions
NoOnions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 09:07 PM   #19
spelzion
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
ok, so i am having a simmilar problem. except i have windows 7. whats more is that i got the game from steam, so im having trouble finding an exe file/ ne thing to alter compatibility. Plz help
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 05:36 AM   #20
m8harry
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Many thanks for the advice, worked a charm. I love this game :-) glad to be able to play it on 7.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 07:23 AM   #21
yeemanz
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Excellent, games works now
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:37 PM   #22
闪电战
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by soda700 View Post
Go to your main Soldiers Heroes of World War II and right click on soldiers.exe. Go to Compatibility tab and set it to Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) and start it up from that .exe. Worked for me.
Very nice
Thank you
闪电战 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Publisher & Developer Discussions > Codemasters


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.