Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alien Swarm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 06:21 PM   #46
Eggxeon
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 7
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodone View Post
so, does coop actually work online, or steam server browser simply doesn't like the mod?

how about connecting directly, using console?
I believe if you use external software like hamachi to emulate a lan network, you might be able to play online. We tried various ways to make it available via the steam servers but it was out of our league .
Eggxeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:01 PM   #47
phrosty
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 9
Posts: 222
I played this with a friend over steam without any issues. Had a blast! We didn't use the server browser, though.
phrosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 09:17 PM   #48
Eggxeon
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 7
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by phrosty View Post
I played this with a friend over steam without any issues. Had a blast! We didn't use the server browser, though.
The team also felt that the multiplayer is more fun! Glad you managed to play it! One question though, are you guys connected via lan software (e.g. hamachi) before starting the session ?
Eggxeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 01:15 AM   #49
goodone
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 254
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggxeon View Post
One question though, are you guys connected via lan software (e.g. hamachi) before starting the session ?
i do find it unusual that u didn't succeed connecting with either connect console command, or steam's friend invite. can u confirm u tried that...?

i'm trying to make my friends interested into the mod, for some coop action... so, before i do that, would love to know how we stand at coop connectivity.

for lan, or emulated lan, ok... but what about other ways?
goodone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 11:00 AM   #50
phrosty
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 9
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggxeon View Post
One question though, are you guys connected via lan software (e.g. hamachi) before starting the session ?
No VPN. We just did the usual right click->join game from Steam friends list.
phrosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 06:44 AM   #51
Eggxeon
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 7
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodone View Post
i do find it unusual that u didn't succeed connecting with either connect console command, or steam's friend invite. can u confirm u tried that...?

i'm trying to make my friends interested into the mod, for some coop action... so, before i do that, would love to know how we stand at coop connectivity.

for lan, or emulated lan, ok... but what about other ways?
Maybe you can try what phrosty said! Hope it works for you .
Eggxeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:12 AM   #52
Eggxeon
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 7
Posts: 14
Rapidfyre has entered IGF 2012 !! A strong line up of student games there too! Don't forget to check those out !!

http://www.igf.com/php-bin/entries20....php?start=180
Eggxeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:59 PM   #53
Espionage724
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 11
Posts: 368
Downloaded it

I have a question though. Does Rapidfyre use any special arguments on swarm.exe? (for an example, Hidden: Source uses "hidden" as an argument on hl2.exe)

Last edited by Espionage724: 11-18-2011 at 11:35 PM.
Espionage724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 12:34 AM   #54
madato
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
Mind = blown.

I can't believe people are complaining.

This game looks better than most retail arcade games. I would buy this.
madato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 01:09 AM   #55
ldaotong
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 28
Cool, thanks for the feedback.

1) For people who can't run the game properly, USE THE SHORTCUT

OR

Right Click > Properties >Launch Options > Type "-override_vpk" without the quotes.

2) Invite your friends to play Co-op. They need to be on your friends list.
ldaotong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:16 AM   #56
ldaotong
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodone View Post
so, does coop actually work online, or steam server browser simply doesn't like the mod?

how about connecting directly, using console?
Think you need a friend to be in your list or something? And just click "Join Game" basically
ldaotong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:49 AM   #57
goodone
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 254
Lightbulb think about it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggxeon View Post
This game is created and designed by a team of 10 people in 5 months as part of the Digipen-Ubisoft Program (Batch 2 - Team Rapidfire) in Digipen Singapore.
would it b possible to create another version of the mod installer, one that would leave the original alien swarm intact?

what i propose instead of current method is to copy clean alien swarm to a separate steamapps subfolder, and mod it there, creating new shortcut [and possibly a steam client library entry, if possible].

that would enable this mod to be included in the mappack project i am authoring currently, without any of the current issues. this would benefit the mod userbase greatly, since the mappack is largely popular, unlike any mod of the game.

plz, contact me if u think we could work in this context.
goodone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:23 AM   #58
pizzahut
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Reputation: 1152
Posts: 4,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldaotong View Post
1) For people who can't run the game properly, USE THE SHORTCUT

OR

Right Click > Properties >Launch Options > Type "-override_vpk" without the quotes.
For me oddly the issues persisted using either method. To circumvent this I hit Escape, pressed F10 to access the console, and used the disconnect command to return to the main menu and select the next level. In retrospect I could have used maps * to get a map list and then the changelevel command.

Apart from the not working "continue" buttons at the end of each level, other issues were:

- Messed up HUD in the upper left corner.
- Chapter selection aspect ratio messed up.
- The chapter images would not rest in the middle of the screen, but rather scroll past the mouse cursor, making it hard to make a selection.
- After selecting a chapter, the chapter selection screen shots vanished so it wasn't possible to make another choice.
pizzahut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alien Swarm


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.