Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom, The

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2011, 10:51 AM   #1
InczeZee
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 26
Posts: 454
Unhappy Game crashes at first none-tutorial level

I just bought the game and it's running fine in 1600x1200 resolution. I played through the tutorials and everything is just fine. But when the first "real" map starts (with lots of pies, not just a few, where you learn the basics), it shows the "Push up button to make the last clone disappear" (or something like this), I press something to make this message disappear, the game just quit. No error messages, no sound, no nothing, just quit. I reinstalled MS VC++ 2005, DX is the newest, ATI Catalyst + driver is the newest, but the still quit.

Anyone has any idea what can I do to solve this problem?

I'm using Win7 32bit.

Please help!

Update:
Screenshots where the game quits.

After this loading screen:
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7...658?tab=public

After I press something here and the actual game is about to start:
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7...831404?tab=all

Last edited by InczeZee: 05-17-2011 at 10:29 PM.
InczeZee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:51 AM   #2
Calmly Frenetic
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 75
Posts: 126
For me, this level is one of a couple in the game where everything seems to slow down, but is still playable. I'm running a slightly older PC with 1280x1024 resolution, and haven't had the game crash completely.

Have you tried lower resolution, or other lower graphics settings? If that helps you get past the "problem" level, you might be able to go back to normal settings for the rest of the game.

If you post more detailed specifications of your PC and graphics card, there might be someone else here who can give you some advice.
Calmly Frenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 07:18 AM   #3
InczeZee
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 26
Posts: 454
Thanks, I'll try it.

My PC:
Gigabyte MA78GPM-DS2H
AMD Phenom 4 9600
ASUS EAH5670 1GB
2GB DDR2

Edit:
I tried. Same thing happens. I tried 640x480, windowed, full screen, same crash.

Edit 2:
I posted a ticket to 2KGames' support when I started this topic. Still no answer... What kind of support is that?

Last edited by InczeZee: 05-20-2011 at 05:41 AM.
InczeZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 02:25 AM   #4
InczeZee
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 26
Posts: 454
I got 4 answers 'till now from the support.
  1. They wanted DxDiag and MSInfo files to examine, I gave it to them.
  2. They said, I need to delete all temprorary files, stop all background processes and restart my PC and to reinstall the game. None of this worked.
  3. They said, I need to install Dx9.0c, VCRedist and .NET framework 4.0, but these are already installed at the first time I created the ticket, and all of this was in the MSInfo file what I gave to them. But I reinstalled all of these, and the game still crashes.
  4. Today they said check the Windows Event Viewer and send the error message(s) to them, but there are no error messages in the Event Viewer after the game crashed.

The crash exists on my laptop too (IBM Lenovo T61), but nothing is common in the two systems except the Win7.

I won't give up 2K! I won't! I will answer every question, and I'll complete every task you gave me, until you're not fixing this problem!
InczeZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 10:15 AM   #5
InczeZee
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 26
Posts: 454
Still nothing.

This is ridiculous. Why are they selling this game if it's unplayable?!

Last edited by InczeZee: 07-13-2011 at 02:25 AM.
InczeZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:23 AM   #6
InczeZee
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 26
Posts: 454
After 25th May they answered again at 5th September.
They said the following:
- Disable all non-Microsoft services
- Disable all startup programs
- Reinstall the redistributable packages

Still can't play and still no real fix.
InczeZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:55 AM   #7
~Ramziel~
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 31
Posts: 242
Jeez man, I bought this game for my wife yesterday, and it crashed same way, on exact same level. My wife is really upset, And now I see there's no fix for that, and how am I gonna tell her that?
.
~Ramziel~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom, The


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.