Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Cities XL

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2011, 02:05 AM   #1
oldbrokenlink
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 359
Posts: 3,016
played cities xl 2012 tonight for over 5 hours and...

played cities xl 2012 tonight for over 5 hours and...

so far it ran great!
oldbrokenlink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 03:54 AM   #2
Marleyman
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 144
Posts: 718
Yep, I have 11 hours logged, no crash, no lag, no obvious bugs and 3 cities on the go, one with 70,000 population. So all good news so far
Marleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:05 AM   #3
City Builder
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 1,331
Try placing a mountain hotel, it won't accept any residents (bug) check out the road names, what once had each road named differently like avenue or road with grass etc, now all just named 'road' (bug), some new buildings don't have real names, just internal name of the files (bug).

Check it closely, theres quite a few bugs.

70k population is a relatively small city, it doesn't really start to lag until you get a large city.
City Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 10:37 AM   #4
oldbrokenlink
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 359
Posts: 3,016
it's 32-bit single core program, so there are limits

the game will benefit from redoing the engine to be 64-bit multi-core
oldbrokenlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 01:05 PM   #5
Embolism
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Right around the 100k range the game slowed down so bad that I had to turn down all the settings. 150k with low settings was playable but really laggy. There is a Med. pop residence that never gets hooked up to the roads. So far there doesn't appear to be much new from 2011 except more bugs and worse performance. Some of the new buildings don't even work. I'm running an i7 920 with a GTX 480 if anyone is wondering.

Why did I pay for this again?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 01:58 PM   #6
Marleyman
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 144
Posts: 718
My roads all have different names, city has 500,000 now and all options on max, still no lag.
Marleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 02:42 PM   #7
NorthernAurora
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 38
I play the game Maxed out with no problems.
NorthernAurora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 02:59 PM   #8
oldbrokenlink
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 359
Posts: 3,016
i also have it maxed 1920x1200, but i tend to create spread out low density cities.
oldbrokenlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 01:30 AM   #9
Ric666
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 171
Posts: 1,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Embolism View Post
Why did I pay for this again?
lol.....blind hope/stupidity?
Ric666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 01:48 PM   #10
avalanch07
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 70
Posts: 887
Better question... why did you buy both of the titles?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Embolism View Post
Right around the 100k range the game slowed down so bad that I had to turn down all the settings. 150k with low settings was playable but really laggy. There is a Med. pop residence that never gets hooked up to the roads. So far there doesn't appear to be much new from 2011 except more bugs and worse performance. Some of the new buildings don't even work. I'm running an i7 920 with a GTX 480 if anyone is wondering.

Why did I pay for this again?
avalanch07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 02:37 PM   #11
oldbrokenlink
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 359
Posts: 3,016
i pay to keep it going
oldbrokenlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 12:44 AM   #12
smakme7757
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I've found the game tends to lag after about 40 minutes. Restarting the game fixes the issue for me.

I'm enjoying it though really good fun, but the last city builder i have played was the First Sim City, so it crushes my expectations hehe


1920x1080 Graphics maxed!

2600K @ 4Ghz
16Gb Ram
GTX 580
smakme7757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 03:16 AM   #13
skyesfury
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
I've never been able to play a city past the 125k mark. I have a solid system that runs many other applications that are far more demanding of both the processor and the GPU and never have any troubles with them. But CitiesXL has a problem. Most people can start and run a city fine up to a point, and past that, they might as well abandon the city because it's nigh unplayable even with a restart. That's a memory leak and it needs to be fixed.
skyesfury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 09:49 AM   #14
phylum_sinter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 57
I'm glad you think it's all rosy, because i did the same thing and have been this close to kicking the screen in (i've decided to delete it instead hehe) - The whole thing feels so half-baked, more like a student with fond memories trying to update sim city, releasing an ALPHA more than than a finished game.

I guess (and maybe there is a way to do this) if you can disable all the alerts and just have a pure sandbox mode it might be worth the 5 dollars. But i've had so many false-positives, things that read as bad = red text that are positive, problems that have been checked with that happy green check mark - my favorite "hotels have a problem getting unskilled workers!" CHECK. Like you know, that's what they're going for.... anyhow, seriously disappointed, i was hoping it would have been more polished since the 2011 version but it seems to have the same insane, busted advisor mechanics running the show as they've always had. Any attempt to track your cities needs becomes an exercise in frustration.

I Hope that the cash they bring in can bring them up to say, Tropico 4 standards. If you miss sim city, for both the sandbox, the learning AND the dramatic elements that actually lead you to believe in little narratives, get that instead. Granted, the setting makes it a stone's throw from what sim city was, but i think its' originality and production values trump Cities XL a thousand fold. I'm going to reinstall that right now.

This one's on my "never again" list.

//endrant.
phylum_sinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Cities XL


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.