Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sherlock Holmes series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 10:47 AM   #1
McChadworth
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 78
Posts: 617
Will this series work with Windows 7

I have a Windows 7 machine with a GTX 570, a i5 processor, and display at 1920x1080. I was wondering if anyone else with a similar configuration was able to play the games, or if they had to do work arounds like using old copies of physix and what not to make them work.

I am pretty interested in getting these games, but I do not want a bunch of useless games taking up space.
McChadworth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 11:32 AM   #2
DodgeRainPop
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 127
Posts: 874
i wanna know too. Also how are the games? are they worth it?
DodgeRainPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:22 PM   #3
stillwater78
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 305
Posts: 815
Well, I can't tell you for sure. But it does say on the store page that it supports vista, which should pretty much guarantee that it works on 7.
stillwater78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 03:47 PM   #4
HitDeity
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 364
Posts: 2,232
Works okay on my rig (with only slightly differing degrees of tinkering).

AMD 1055T x6 core, nVidia GeForce 470 GTX, Win 7 x64, 1600x900 widescreen.

Only had to do some slight .ini modifications to get the resolutions jacked up to 1600x900 on my machine. Wasn't too difficult.
HitDeity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:21 PM   #5
dblade
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 13
Posts: 217
I downloaded the awaken demo, but haven't been able to get it to work. The Demo.exe process shows up in the task list but nothing else ever happens. I've tried various compatibility mode settings with no luck so far.

Windows 7 64bit
dblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 06:05 PM   #6
Cholkan
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 112
I have The Awakened on my Windows7 64bit computer running fine. I haven't tried Jack the Ripper yet.

I am playing at 1920 x 1080 after changing the .ini file as mentioned above.

OP has more than enough power to run this game. I'm on a 2.8 dual core fx-62 with a 5770 ATI.

I find I get a bit dizzy after playing for awhile. But it's not that bad.

Last edited by Cholkan: 12-21-2011 at 06:14 PM.
Cholkan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 07:21 PM   #7
McChadworth
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 78
Posts: 617
Thanks for the replies everyone, I decided to pick the set up.

I was not concerned that I had enough power to play the games, I just wanted to see if others with similar configurations were able to play it without too many problems. I do not have a problem with changing an .ini setting to get it to play with my resolution.

@cholkan:
What do you mean when you say you find you get a bit dizzy after playing for a while? Is it the low FOV on the camera?
McChadworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 03:39 AM   #8
Cholkan
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 112
Yeah. The FOV seemed low. Usually no games bother me at all. It's not a big deal for me. I just find after awhile I have to quit for bit.

I personally like the game and it doesn't stop me from playing it. I find this game relaxing.

Last edited by Cholkan: 12-22-2011 at 03:41 AM.
Cholkan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 10:23 AM   #9
kschang
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 36
Posts: 176
SHvs.JtR works fine in Win7x64. Haven't tried the others yet.
kschang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 03:42 PM   #10
FriedTaco
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 33
They're all working fine for me. Win7 x64
FriedTaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:20 PM   #11
johnafirth
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 17
Posts: 84
Silver Earring definitely works on Win7 x64.
johnafirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 12:11 AM   #12
koima57
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 105
Mystery of the Mummy could not get past the launcher with a crash to desktop, but a quick compatibility mode to XP SP 3 from the install folder .exe properties was the fix on Win7 x64.
koima57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:09 AM   #13
johnafirth
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 17
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by koima57 View Post
Mystery of the Mummy could not get past the launcher with a crash to desktop, but a quick compatibility mode to XP SP 3 from the install folder .exe properties was the fix on Win7 x64.
I got it to run fine on Win 7 x64 without any messing about. Looked like though, so I uninstalled it. The joys of PCs...
johnafirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 10:49 AM   #14
koima57
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnafirth View Post
I got it to run fine on Win 7 x64 without any messing about. Looked like though, so I uninstalled it. The joys of PCs...
Haha yea.. New problems pop like flies on turds for the same OS, for no obvious reasons.

As for Mystery of the Mummy, OH sweet baby Jesus that one game.. I've bought the Sherlock games bundle from Steam Christmas sales and i try every now and then to get into this one but it is just way too. F ucking. Horrible.

The panoramic view and crazy mouse sensivity makes me motion sick. The graphics are blury as fog with filters, blocky as lego with none. Either makes my eyes bleed. The gameplay is filled with a hundred of puzzles to the brim with no obvious link in between. Only the music is somewhat alright.

I wish i could remove this thing from my library definitely. It is depressing me just to think about starting this one, it is THAT bad.

Last edited by koima57: 05-17-2012 at 10:54 AM.
koima57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:35 PM   #15
johnafirth
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 17
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by koima57 View Post
Haha yea.. New problems pop like flies on turds for the same OS, for no obvious reasons.

As for Mystery of the Mummy, OH sweet baby Jesus that one game.. I've bought the Sherlock games bundle from Steam Christmas sales and i try every now and then to get into this one but it is just way too. F ucking. Horrible.

The panoramic view and crazy mouse sensivity makes me motion sick. The graphics are blury as fog with filters, blocky as lego with none. Either makes my eyes bleed. The gameplay is filled with a hundred of puzzles to the brim with no obvious link in between. Only the music is somewhat alright.

I wish i could remove this thing from my library definitely. It is depressing me just to think about starting this one, it is THAT bad.
It looks dreadful. I managed a few minutes then gave up. Thankfully they used a completely new engine for the other games, and they look pretty good (although somewhat dated by now).
johnafirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sherlock Holmes series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.