Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2011, 11:40 AM   #1
katffro
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Why won't Skyrim work properly on my PC?

I'm not tech-savvy at all, nor am I a gamer, but I heard great things about Skyrim so I figured, hey, why not try it out?
I got the PC version (naturally), installed it, and it appeared to load just fine. However, after the dragon, the image was flashing and broken. Audio was fine, pause screen loaded fine, but the image was off.
Here's a screenshot of the pause screen (you can see the distorted image in the background)
http://i.imgur.com/OxPoZ.png

I have an Acer Aspire, here are the details:
- Intel Pentium processor p6000 (1.86 GHz 3MB L3 cache)
- Intel HD Graphics ; Up to 1755 MB DVMT
- 15.6" HD LED LCD
- 4 GB DDR3 Memory
- 320 GB HDD
- DVD- Super Multi DL drive
- Acer Nplify 802.11 b/g/n
- 6-cell Li-ion battery

Forgive me if this is the wrong forum.
I appreciate any and all help!
katffro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:55 AM   #2
Andarvi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 72
Posts: 379
Your specs are well below the minimal requirements.. and there is not much more to be said about it.
Andarvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:58 AM   #3
katffro
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
That's what I thought. Didn't want to believe it. Thank you!
Do you have any ideas on where I should go from here?
katffro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:10 PM   #4
Pfheonix
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 374
Buy a gaming desktop when you can. You can't upgrade a laptop. At least it's on steam, so when you finally do get the proper specs, you will have it.
Pfheonix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:12 PM   #5
katffro
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Will do. Do you have any recommendations?
katffro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:18 PM   #6
Andarvi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 72
Posts: 379
If it just for Skyrim, any current day medium price range rig will be more than enough to run it on high settings.
Andarvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:37 PM   #7
Pfheonix
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 374
Just make sure that the speed of it is faster than 2 ghz, preferable closer to 3 than 2, a graphics card which is in the 200 series or 5000HD or above, and more than 3 gb of RAM. If you need advice on one you think might work, just post here again.
Pfheonix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 03:23 PM   #8
Suspicious
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 323
Posts: 2,609
For a graphics card, pay attention to the SECOND digit. The first digit indicates generation, but every generation has a wide range of performance and price points. A budget card in one generation may be far inferior to a high-end card from an older generation. A GeForce 260 GTX would be a FAR better choice than GeForce 520 GT, for instance.
Suspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.