Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Gothic series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
i9urd
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 110
Posts: 523
Arcania and SecuROM

Could someone from Nordic Games clarify how many activations you have and if they come back after a certain time period? There is a revoke tool on the securom site, but it doesn't say how many activations you have and when/if they can run out.

Also, before anyone wastes their time posting about the patch floating around on german gaming sites that only mentions a generic "removal of a online activation", that patch updates the executable with a later version of securom. This all leads me to think that it was meant for a retail german release.

Anyway - official response about activation limits (if any) would be appreciated.

Last edited by i9urd: 01-13-2012 at 06:21 PM.
i9urd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:46 PM   #2
alexUW
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 621
Posts: 2,668
latest official patch = no securom [1.1.0.1433]

I bought Arcania from Amazon Downloads recently [1/2/12], and they did not even give me an activation key; latest version as of April of 2011 removes Securom.
Why was this done? The former Ex-Publisher, JoWood, went backrupt and was kind enough to remove the DRM so people could still play it.

My advise, want an official response? Email Nordic Games [they acquired the rights to JoWood after they went backrupt]

[of course, if you have the STEAM version, you still have STEAM as DRM].

Last edited by alexUW: 01-13-2012 at 07:49 PM.
alexUW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 08:11 AM   #3
i9urd
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 110
Posts: 523
First of all - a game having no cd-key is not proof that it doesn't have active DRM.

Running the game creates securom entries which are picked up by the securom removal tool itself - http://imageshack.us/f/338/49699396.jpg/

The patch I was talking about is 1.1.0.1433. Furthermore, a protectionID scan (which is designed specifically to pick up DRM) shows this:

Code:
ProtectionID Protection Report (txt format)

15:09:58 | D:\Steam\steamapps\common\arcania gothic 4\Arcania.exe | SecuROM Detected - Version 08.02.0015 | Possible CD/DVD-Key or Serial Check 
15:09:58 | D:\Steam\steamapps\common\arcania gothic 4\Data\data0.pak | SecuROM DFA (variant #2) protected file 
15:09:59 | D:\Steam\steamapps\common\arcania gothic 4\DFA.dll | SecuROM SLL v 1.6.1 Protected (For SecuROM v 8.1.8) | SecuROM DFA Core Module 
15:10:00 | D:\Steam\steamapps\common\arcania gothic 4\GameServices.dll | Possible CD/DVD-Key or Serial Check 
15:10:00 | D:\Steam\steamapps\common\arcania gothic 4\paul.dll | SecuROM PA (v 2.0.1.3 (PA API v0.96)) | Possible CD/DVD-Key or Serial Check 
15:10:07 | D:\Steam\steamapps\common\arcania gothic 4\redist\PhysX_9.10.0223_SystemSoftware.exe | Wise For Windows Installer Module | Possible CD/DVD-Key or Serial Check 
15:10:08 | D:\Steam\steamapps\common\arcania gothic 4\rldata.dll | SecuROM SLL v 1.6.1 Protected (For SecuROM v 7.42.1)
Lastly, Nordic Games representatives have posted on this forum. If nothing comes of this thread, then I will email them.
i9urd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 12:41 PM   #4
alexUW
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 621
Posts: 2,668
I just tried running the SecuROM ArcaniA uninstaller on my computer; it wouldn't even run because it says SecurROM is not on my machine.

Here's the exact message I get when I try to run the ArcaniA uninstaller: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/824/securom.png/

Uninstaller found here: https://support.securom.com/pop_arcania.html


Of the 7 files you have mentioned, the ones that are SecuROM specific cannot be found on my computer: rldata.dll, DFA.dll, GameServices.dll, paul.dll.

Patch 1.1.0.433 replaces ArcaniA.exe with a non-secuROM version, and the other 2 files [physX and data0] are not secuROM specific files. [data0 is a 200MB file so I doubt it's a securom installer/file]


All I can say is what is/is not on my computer. From my analysis, ArcaniA did NOT install SecuROM on my computer



Anyways, if a Nordic Games Rep would like to chime in here, I too would like to hear it.

Last edited by alexUW: 01-14-2012 at 12:47 PM.
alexUW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Gothic series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.