Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 04:53 PM   #1
b00tsy
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 82
Posts: 721
Does old games run on vista?

Quick question,

I want to buy 'Rome - Total War", but as it is an old game I wonder if it is playable on Vista. The requirements listed on the Steam page of course only mentions that it will run on old junk as the page has never been updated after original release, but not mentioning if it is compatible with Vista.

So will I have trouble playing such an old game on a more modern OS like Vista?
b00tsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 05:39 PM   #2
Tiger88
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 54
Posts: 150
I'm not sure about Rome: Total War, but I run Medieval II: Total War on Vista without any problems.

Since your question seems to be about a specific game, you might do better looking for an answer in the Rome: Total War forum.

Last edited by Tiger88: 02-22-2012 at 05:42 PM.
Tiger88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 05:49 PM   #3
Manuel859
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 206
Posts: 735
Vista has its flaws, but Rome Total war is definitely playable on it. I know because I used vista for a while until Microsoft rolled out their $50 fix/patch (Windows 7).
Manuel859 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:56 PM   #4
Atwooooood
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 125
Posts: 698
I have Rome: Total War on Vista 32bit and it runs just fine.
Atwooooood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 12:20 PM   #5
b00tsy
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 82
Posts: 721
Ok great thank you, I will buy it then
b00tsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 02:39 PM   #6
zodaex
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manuel859 View Post
Vista has its flaws, but Rome Total war is definitely playable on it. I know because I used vista for a while until Microsoft rolled out their $50 fix/patch (Windows 7).
How did you get Windows 7 for 50 dollars? I paid $130 for mine and am feeling taken advantage of. I knew something didn't feel right about that transaction.
zodaex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 02:58 PM   #7
Manuel859
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 206
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodaex View Post
How did you get Windows 7 for 50 dollars? I paid $130 for mine and am feeling taken advantage of. I knew something didn't feel right about that transaction.
I bought the upgrade version of windows 7 home premium which at the time cost $50 at newegg, but only if you prepurchased.
Manuel859 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:51 AM   #8
zodaex
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manuel859 View Post
I bought the upgrade version of windows 7 home premium which at the time cost $50 at newegg, but only if you prepurchased.
Oh yea. Unfortunately Microsoft says i'm not eligible for that version because I don't own the full version of windows. I swear these licensing terms are too confusing for me I wish they wouldn't treat us like criminals. Apple seems to do just fine without doing that.
zodaex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.