Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2012, 08:38 PM   #1
Soulwatcher
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 147
Posts: 571
AMD FX Turbo Question!

Today I had the local mom and pop pc store upgrade my PC. They installed a AMD FX 8120, Ausus MB, 8GB of ddr3 1600 ram. And to be honest I notice a HUGE difference in Everquest 2 over the old Athlon 2 quad core it replaced.

My question is how will I know when the turbo mode kicks in?

Greg
Soulwatcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:52 PM   #2
DirtyBusiness
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Download CPU-Z and watch the numbers. You might have to enable turbo in the bios if the shop set the computer in power save mode.
DirtyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 09:24 PM   #3
venomblade89
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 332
Posts: 1,093
It should be automatic when you do something that stresses your CPU. You can use CPU-Z to see the clock numbers in action, but there's really no need to worry about it.
venomblade89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 07:24 PM   #4
Soulwatcher
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 147
Posts: 571
Thanks guys, it was in power save mode. The turbo is now working and I am getting even higher fps in EQ2 .
Soulwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.