Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Max Payne series > Max Payne 1 and 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
ViperSRT
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
Max Payne 2 won't even start

Hey all,

As many of you are probably doing I recently played through max payne 1 and now want to go through 2 before the third game comes out. After installing the sound fix for MP1 I went through the game no issue. Now I installed MP2 (I have the retail version from it's original release many moons ago) and when I click the icon on my desktop to start an error box shows up saying "Max Payne 2 has stopped working" and windows looks for a solution. What would be causing this? I've looked through the forums and can't find anything. I have Vista 32-bit.

Thanks.
ViperSRT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:10 PM   #2
Gamer4Life
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 94
try running it off the cd, if you have it;I had basically the same problem running the first one.
Gamer4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:15 PM   #3
ViperSRT
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
What do you mean by run it off the CD? I tried to use the launch exe from the CD and nothing. I tried compatibility mode and administrator. Nothing. I'm surprised MP1 ran perfect minus the initial sound issue which I fixed. Thanks for the help!
ViperSRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:38 PM   #4
Gamer4Life
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 94
I meant, if you are trying to run the game off steam, Close out of steam, and put The CD in the drive, and see if it will run that way. Worked for me.
Gamer4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:43 PM   #5
ViperSRT
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
Actually I do not have the game on steam at all. I'm using the original retail copy from its initial release.
ViperSRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:52 PM   #6
Gamer4Life
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 94
what are your system specs, besides vista?
Gamer4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:57 PM   #7
ViperSRT
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
Vista 32
1.8 intel dual core
Nvidia geforce 9800 GT
4 GB Ram

Again I appreciate your taking the time to respond.
ViperSRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:28 PM   #8
Gamer4Life
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 94
Not a problem;you're system specs are ok, however, the problem most likely lies within windows vista;Try upgrading to Windows 7, or if that is not an option, calling 2K Support would help also. Let me know how that goes. Thanks.
Gamer4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:23 AM   #9
TimeNinja
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 441
Im having this same issue. Anyone have any updates? I've tried googling, and all i can find is a vista sound fix that just fixes broken sound. But That seems useless as I cant even get into the game to have broken sound.
TimeNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:24 AM   #10
ViperSRT
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
Two questions came to mind. One who should I technically contact for tech support. Second would I be able to activate my copy of MAx Payne 2 through steam even tho there isn't a serial number?

thanks
ViperSRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:27 AM   #11
BBboy20
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamer4Life View Post
Not a problem;you're system specs are ok, however, the problem most likely lies within windows vista;Try upgrading to Windows 7, or if that is not an option, calling 2K Support would help also. Let me know how that goes. Thanks.
Same issue on 7. I don't even get a error message, it just never starts.
BBboy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:33 PM   #12
z0011
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
I have the same problem, max payne 2 wont even start, i only see it on task manager but wont start, i have windows 7 64bit, intel core i5, nvidia GTX 560M.
z0011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 01:24 AM   #13
schept01
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Hello, I have the same problem as described above. I bought the 3CD-ROM game second hand and want to play it on W7 (drivers up to date). It installs without problems, but the game won't start. Installing and starting the game in WinXP compatibility doesn't help.

1. How can I fix it? (don't want to buy the game for a second time)

2. Will downloading/buying the game on steam (again) again fix the problem?

3. Can I somehow 'activate' the retail game on steam, so that I can download it on Steam, but won't have to pay money for a second time?
schept01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Max Payne series > Max Payne 1 and 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.