Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Amnesia: The Dark Descent

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2012, 04:53 PM   #1
susitsu
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Still no fix for black screen?

Well, Ive looked around on the internet a nice amount and all things relating to it are around from two years ago; though from playing the demo, it seems the issues still exists. This issue being where you can hear all the sound, move, but can't see a thing you're doing. Hoping someone has found SOMETHING in the last two years, I present to you my computer specs

Manufacturer: Toshiba

Model: Satellite L755

Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B950 @ 2.10GHz 2.10 GHz

Installed memory(RAM): 4.00 GB

System type: 64-bit Operating System

Graphics Driver: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family

Now I would really love to check the game out via demo, but if there is a fix for it that you can get from buying the game, I suppose Ive heard enough about it to be willing to buy it, but I would really rather not if I'm not even able to play it.
susitsu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
envirovore
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Reputation: 2107
Posts: 7,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by susitsu View Post

Graphics Driver: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
Integrated GPU's are not officially supported, so don't expect a fix any time soon. This isn't due to anything on Frictional's end, but how poorly Intel handles their OpenGL support.

I had read that there is a way to get the game to run on Intel HD GPU's, but apparently it's still very poor performance.

Go to this link:
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-3754.html
Read section 1.3 Users of Intel graphics cards. You may or may not be able to run it, follow the instructions in that thread.

Last edited by envirovore: 02-25-2012 at 10:15 AM.
envirovore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
susitsu
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Well, thank you for a straight forward and concise answer, saddens me to find that out being I was quite excited to try this game, oh well.
susitsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
envirovore
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Reputation: 2107
Posts: 7,317
If your Intel GPU is one of the HD3 or HD4 series, then check the link I posted for possible solutions. It may play, but you'll probably have to bump some settings down/off.
If it works, cool! If it doesn't, well it was worth a shot, right?
envirovore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:03 PM   #5
a709622932
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
I have a laptop (Samsung) that runs on Dual-Graphics, as Intel(R) HD Graphics Family being the Primary Graphics Card, because both Skyrim and Deus Ex Human Revolution detect that as the Graphics Card I have. But I also have an ATI AMD Radeon HD 6490M Graphics Card as my other Graphics Card, and the problem I am having is also Black Screen. So is there any way I can run this game, or maybe have the game detects my ATI Graphics Card instead of my Intel HD?
a709622932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:39 PM   #6
envirovore
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Reputation: 2107
Posts: 7,317
Follow the link posted in my previous post here, it's the Amnesia Troubleshooting Guide.
There should be a solution to your problem in there.
envirovore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Amnesia: The Dark Descent


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.