Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source SDK General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 02:29 PM   #1
Crypt19
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Red face Yet Another Model Compiling Error

So after a good 2 hours of searching, I've come to no avail in solving the "ERROR: Bad command {" error that I've been getting whilst compiling a model. I've have really tried just about everything that I've come across, none of it working. I've tried numerous compiling programs, from StudioCompiler, to StudioMDL, even to compiling with Notepad++ and ConTEXT. ALL of them give me the same "bad command {" error. I've made sure there are no stray or misplaced open brackets, and there's been no way of getting around it. I'm attempting to compile the vending machine model directly from Half-Life˛, but with an added skin. I've also tried decompiling, then recompiling the model as-is, and still receive the same error. I've been trying to compile this and fix it for nearly 2 hours now. Here's the .qc:
Code:
$cd "C:\offcom\decompiles\vending\files"
$modelname "props_interiors\VendingMachineSoda01a.mdl"
$model "Body" "VendingMachineSoda01a_reference.smd"
$lod 100
{
  replacemodel "VendingMachineSoda01a_reference" "lod1_VendingMachineSoda01a_reference"
}
$cdmaterials "models\props_interiors/"
$texturegroup skinfamilies
{
	{ "SodaMachine01a.vmt" }
	{ "SodaMachine01b.vmt" }
} 
$hboxset "default"
$hbox 0 "static_prop" -21.423  -26.061  -47.992  21.423  26.061  47.992
// Model uses material "SodaMachine01a.vmt"
$surfaceprop "plastic_barrel"
$keyvalues  { prop_data { "base" "Metal.Large"  } } 
$illumposition -0.000 0.000 0.000
$sequence idle "idle" fps 30.00
$collisionmodel "phymodel.smd"
{
	$concave
	$mass 600.0
	$inertia 1.00
	$damping 0.00
	$rotdamping 0.00
}
If anyone has the solution, it would be greatly appreciated. If not, and I feel like an a** for suggesting this, if anyone can decompile the model, then recompile it with code I've given, then send me the file, that would likely solve the problem.
Crypt19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:23 PM   #2
Dark_St3alth
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 30
I would recommend reading this page from the Valve Developer Community about compiling a model:

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...piling_a_model
Dark_St3alth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:46 AM   #3
Crypt19
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
I have thoroughly read that page, and many others on VDC.
Crypt19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 12:33 PM   #4
Blueberry_pie
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 172
Posts: 1,494
Your QC file looks fine as far as I can tell. Have you tried splitting "$keyvalues { prop_data { "base" "Metal.Large" } }" into multiple lines? Maybe the compiler doesn't like multiple opening/closing brackets on a single line.
Blueberry_pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:12 PM   #5
Crypt19
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueberry_pie View Post
Your QC file looks fine as far as I can tell. Have you tried splitting "$keyvalues { prop_data { "base" "Metal.Large" } }" into multiple lines? Maybe the compiler doesn't like multiple opening/closing brackets on a single line.
Wow, the model actually compiles now, thank you.

Last edited by Crypt19: 02-26-2012 at 07:30 PM.
Crypt19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source SDK General Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.