Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Bad Rats: the Rats' Revenge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2010, 06:37 AM   #1
chwynn
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 23
Posts: 365
Startup Failure

I'm having some trouble loading up Bad Rats. I've had my eye on this game for a while, and its currently on sale for 66p, so I really didn't have much to lose... except it doesn't work.

The splash screen loads up, then a fraction of a second later, I get the message "Startup Failure" and the game crashes.

I'm running Windows 7 x64, I have the latest DX and graphics drivers. Every other game works for me perfectly (except Torchlight which stopped working a few weeks ago, and now inexplicably crashes on startup)

Any ideas anyone? I googled it, and searched these forums, but no luck. (I couldn't access the official forums, the site was down)
chwynn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 07:38 PM   #2
Twilkitri
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
The game was dying during startup for me, but not with 'Startup Failure' displayed anywhere. I managed to get it working by disabling DEP on rats.exe - you could try that if you haven't already.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:00 AM   #3
chwynn
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 23
Posts: 365
Thanks, that seemed to solve the problem. I did read through the forums before, and I saw that solution, but I had DEP "enabled only for windows programs and services". Bizzarely I had to turn it on for all programs, then specifically disable it for RATS.exe. stupid windows.
+rep.
chwynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 12:37 PM   #4
The_Phantom_07
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilkitri View Post
The game was dying during startup for me, but not with 'Startup Failure' displayed anywhere. I managed to get it working by disabling DEP on rats.exe - you could try that if you haven't already.
Thanks for your tip by disabling DEP on rats.exe! I wanted play the demo, but rats.exe does not work longer.
Now with your solution I bought the game and it works fine for me. Thanks!
+ rep.

PS: I'm running Windows 7 64 Bit, too!
The_Phantom_07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:28 PM   #5
CrazyTerabyte
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 12
Posts: 227
Just adding a few more keywords so this thread becomes easier to find:

The solution to "rats.exe has stopped working" is to disable DEP (Data Execution Prevention) in Windows.
CrazyTerabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Bad Rats: the Rats' Revenge


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.