Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > F.E.A.R. series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 04:24 PM   #1
v@.Li.um
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 352
Posts: 3,841
Exclamation really BAD performance with FEAR1

New computer, i5, 8gb of ram, GTX560... everything runs quite well, except for FEAR, the original. No matter what settings, I usually get around 15FPS... even putting lower settings than those which worked with my old PC (medium-high) gives me that performance... what gives?

Anyone has this problem?
v@.Li.um is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 06:17 PM   #2
Stixsworld
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 125
Posts: 1,027
Did you check and see if the problem was related to your mouse?

Remember that bug with this game and new mouses? Ya see if you cant first solve that...then see if you get bad performance...then come back here and fill us in on that report...

---Stixsmaster

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1279444 THIS IS WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT!
Stixsworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:51 AM   #3
MADDOGGE
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 11580
Posts: 26,196
Agree with Stixsworld. It's likely the mouse over polling issue.
MADDOGGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:04 PM   #4
Sami69
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 335
Posts: 1,146
There's issues with certain logitech mouse and kb. g-series i think and disabling those could be worth to try. If you don't have those then i don't know...
Sami69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 01:54 PM   #5
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
lol, over 6 years on the forum and you have not yet learned how to search?
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 03:31 PM   #6
FreemanForPrez
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 9441
Posts: 4,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sami69 View Post
There's issues with certain logitech mouse and kb. g-series i think and disabling those could be worth to try. If you don't have those then i don't know...
It's the Logitech G series keyboard driver and/or the Logitech SetPoint mouse software that causes it. Or more specifically, the FEAR 1 game engine having some anti-Logitech bug.

I can't believe that they never addressed this *extremely* well-known issue. You would think that Monolith could just grab a programmer and have him spend half a day coding a fix for it, but I guess that would cut into the profits too much.

Well, there's all kinds of evidence to support the probability they forgot all about FEAR 1 anyway... such as how FEAR 2 and 3 turned out.

Last edited by FreemanForPrez: 03-03-2012 at 03:33 PM.
FreemanForPrez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 10:41 AM   #7
MADDOGGE
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 11580
Posts: 26,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek554 View Post
lol, over 6 years on the forum and you have not yet learned how to search?
It's those damn invisible stickies fault!
MADDOGGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:32 PM   #8
Yokuz116
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I had the same problem. It turns out that FEAR runs terribly on my native resolution. Try setting the resolution lower. The game wasn't designed for the very high resolutions we have today.
Yokuz116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:40 PM   #9
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yokuz116 View Post
I had the same problem. It turns out that FEAR runs terribly on my native resolution. Try setting the resolution lower. The game wasn't designed for the very high resolutions we have today.
that is nonsense. your pc was just too weak to run it at your native resolution.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 05:39 AM   #10
Stixsworld
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 125
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek554 View Post
that is nonsense. your pc was just too weak to run it at your native resolution.
Ya I agree here...your rig mustve been too weak to handle that rez...

As I run the ENTIRE F.E.A.R. series yes F.E.A.R. 1 + its expansions all in a resolution of 1920x1080x60 and get around a steady 50+ FPS...

I even force other graphical effects on in Nvidia Inspector...such as forcing 32xS Antialiasing...along with ambient occlusion...and other things...

---Stixsmaster
Stixsworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 05:42 AM   #11
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stixsworld View Post
Ya I agree here...your rig mustve been too weak to handle that rez...

As I run the ENTIRE F.E.A.R. series yes F.E.A.R. 1 + its expansions all in a resolution of 1920x1080x60 and get around a steady 50+ FPS...

I even force other graphical effects on in Nvidia Inspector...such as forcing 32xS Antialiasing...along with ambient occlusion...and other things...

---Stixsmaster
yeah with a stock gtx570, I average just over 200 fps at 1920x1080 with every single setting in the game enabled or maxed.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > F.E.A.R. series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.