Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Civilization series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 02:14 PM   #1
stopgap
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 18
Posts: 282
Civ5 died in the night.

Hi
I've had the game since launch and it's been problem-free
for a long, long time. I play a long game every week or so and it's been fine until today. I haven't changed anything, I can't see that there's been any updates, I've verified the game files, but it keeps crashing with "Civ5 has stopped working" and I've no idea why it's suddenly decided to do this. Once it has happened in a game, that game is gone- reloads will die in the same turn 100% of the time no matter how far back I go.

It does it with & without mods, it does it with new games and old. Any ideas why?
stopgap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:51 AM   #2
masterthehero
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 49
Posts: 697
Well if the game was working fine before and you've been playing long games every week. Then it wouldn't make sense that the game suddenly stopped working on you.

I think you downloaded or installed something recently that has affected your video game, maybe try a system restore point and see if you get the same results.

Could be a video card driver, a program you downloaded off the internet, could be a variety of things.
masterthehero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:18 AM   #3
RadiantFleet
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
I have the same problem. Exactly as you state, I think it was a windows update that broke the game, but I'm not positive. Very disappointing that a game that has worked so reliably suddenly just starts failing with "not responding" errors.
RadiantFleet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:17 PM   #4
stopgap
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 18
Posts: 282
I haven't changed any drivers, the only things I can think of that I've installed recently are Steam client updates and Windows updates. Something to do with the cloud maybe?

I'm going to try uninstalling it, sanitising the drive and reinstalling it. I'll report back.
stopgap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:40 AM   #5
17121712
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Exactly the same issues for me. I installed a windows update then that was it. After doing the not responding thing for a while it now simply quits to desktop during the loading screens.

At least this is a documented problem for a bunch of people. Hopefully it'll get solved soon.

Gutted really, I was a third of the way through a 64 turn golden age at turn 1150 on a marathon game
17121712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 05:38 PM   #6
17121712
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Perhaps it's solved for you now too but just try verifying the game files in steam.
17121712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Civilization series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.