Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 09:32 AM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #16
MikeBlaszczak
 
MikeBlaszczak's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 4662
Posts: 5,061
What errors do you get from Internet Explorer and Firefox, spyder? What does your hosts file look like?
MikeBlaszczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:01 AM   #17
davidsneade
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 61
Posts: 743
Curiosity, who is your internet provider?
davidsneade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 12:33 PM   #18
spyder0527
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
My host file is blank and has no lines from steam and I just get the connection times out page firefox and internet explorer.

Host file reads:

# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
# 127.0.0.1 localhost
# ::1 localhost



and when trying to use firefox to connect to http://store.steampowered.com/ I get:

The connection was reset







The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.





The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.
If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

For steam using any tab other than library i get:

Error Code: -101

Unable to connect to server. Server may be offline or you may not connected to the internet.


As for my internet provider, I am currently deployed and then last 4 months I have been using steam without issues. I've purchased and downloaded games out here, used the workshop for skyrim, etc. etc. About 2 weeks ago, I notice I wasn't able to view any page. Nothing changed on my end and the provider out here allows steam so I'm not sure what happened.

Last edited by spyder0527: 03-05-2012 at 12:37 PM.
spyder0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:13 PM   #19
TzC | :D
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 9
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by heffebaycay View Post
Could you post the content of the following file here: C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts ? (open it with any text editor, such as notepad).
I've gone in it many times, but I don't know what to do. I am also the admin and I can't save it to that folder.
TzC | :D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:03 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #20
MikeBlaszczak
 
MikeBlaszczak's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 4662
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder0527 View Post
As for my internet provider, I am currently deployed and then last 4 months I have been using steam without issues. I've purchased and downloaded games out here, used the workshop for skyrim, etc. etc. About 2 weeks ago, I notice I wasn't able to view any page. Nothing changed on my end and the provider out here allows steam so I'm not sure what happened.
The symptoms you describe point to them not allowing traffic to the Steam websites.
MikeBlaszczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:56 PM   #21
Mangr0v3
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 4313
Posts: 13,608
Can you ping store.steampowered.com?

I had a connection reset issue with api.steampowered.com a while ago, but while trying to troubleshoot it with Valve, the issue mysteriously fixed itself.
Mangr0v3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:04 PM   #22
spyder0527
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangr0v3 View Post
Can you ping store.steampowered.com?

I had a connection reset issue with api.steampowered.com a while ago, but while trying to troubleshoot it with Valve, the issue mysteriously fixed itself.
request timed out when I tried.
spyder0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:11 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #23
MikeBlaszczak
 
MikeBlaszczak's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 4662
Posts: 5,061
If you traceroute to the same server and post the results, that might help.
MikeBlaszczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:26 PM   #24
spyder0527
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeBlaszczak View Post
If you traceroute to the same server and post the results, that might help.
Tracing route to store.steampowered.com [63.228.223.
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 32 ms 19 ms 7 ms 172.20.142.1
2 7 ms 8 ms <1 ms 172.20.50.5
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
spyder0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 06:14 PM   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #25
MikeBlaszczak
 
MikeBlaszczak's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 4662
Posts: 5,061
I don't think there's much we can do for you. You'll need to get in touch with your ISP.
MikeBlaszczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:03 PM   #26
TzC | :D
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 9
Posts: 293
I don't know what ISP is, neither do I know what your talking about. ): I don't understand.
TzC | :D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 06:45 AM   #27
bluz74
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 39460
Posts: 6,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by TzC | :D View Post
I don't know what ISP is, neither do I know what your talking about. ): I don't understand.
ISP is Internet Service Provider. Assuming you are having the same problem as spyder0527, it looks like the problem is with the connection and not Steam. So you need to contact who you get your internet service from.

Last edited by bluz74: 03-06-2012 at 07:22 AM.
bluz74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:17 PM   #28
spyder0527
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeBlaszczak View Post
I don't think there's much we can do for you. You'll need to get in touch with your ISP.
I leave the middle east back for the US in about a week so I'll reply again after I get state side and see if I'm having the same issues.
spyder0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:54 AM   #29
TzC | :D
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 9
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder0527 View Post
I leave the middle east back for the US in about a week so I'll reply again after I get state side and see if I'm having the same issues.
Im just going to back up my files, and fully reinstall windows. My friend said it will work.
TzC | :D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 03:22 AM   #30
Mangr0v3
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 4313
Posts: 13,608
I can't help but wonder if you friend know what (s)he's on about.
Mangr0v3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.