Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2012, 05:52 PM   #16
TF2KeyTrade
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 115
Going to shamelessly bump this.



I can also get a spare FX-8150 (8 core) if I upgrade my mobo, so I'm not sure which would be better. Is DDR2 still almost equal to DDR3?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103960
A new case would also be helpful, or something that would help me clean up my wiring, I'm sure the intake airflow is highly constricted with all my wires in this small case. Perhaps an antec 1200?
TF2KeyTrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:03 PM   #17
Bad_Motha
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 3208
Posts: 13,394
TBO I wouldn't have upgraded to an 1100T CPU over what you have now as the differences might turn out to be minimal, depending on your usage and needs.

So I think it would've perhaps been a better choice to do a few other things.
Such as updating your motherboard BIOS and then try your hand at overclocking your current CPU to get a little more out of it.

But overall, buying an SSD and reinstalling your OS fresh would also be a very good way to refresh the system and it should then be alot more responsive and that in itself should prolong the system a bit.

Instead of upgrading the CPU, I would've invested more into a newer/faster GPU that you could then carry over to a newer system down the road.

Since you have DDR2, yes upgrading down the road will mean new motherboard, CPU and RAM.

Now if you were to upgrade to some sort of AM3+ motherboard, you can still use your AM3 1100T CPU on it, and then use DDR3 RAM.

The real world differences between DDR2 and DDR3 though are very slim and for most part aren't even noticeable in everyday tasks. DDR3's design though does allow for higher clocks, lower timings, and lower voltages. Depending on the DDR3 RAM you buy and what all the motherboard supports and how flexible it's capabilities are.
Bad_Motha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:12 PM   #18
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2872
Posts: 13,517
Also I notice you are looking for a Sata III HDD don't bother if it's going to cost more than a Sata II drive as Mech HDD's can't saturate a Sata II port regardless of make/model..
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:28 PM   #19
Bad_Motha
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 3208
Posts: 13,394
Yes, the difference between SATA II/III in terms of real speed only really comes into play when you're comparing SSDs. Even then, SATA II SSDs are fairly quick and the difference over ANY mechanical drive and an older SATA II SSD is huge.
Bad_Motha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:42 AM   #20
TF2KeyTrade
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 115
So what should I buy?
Edit: I feel like the 1100T would do be some good, cause I tend to try and run 2-3 copies of minecraft at a time, and it doesn't work very well... I can run 2 copies and League of Legends fine, but everything else is horrible.

Battlefield 3 makes my computer sluggish but the game is nice.

Last edited by TF2KeyTrade: 03-14-2012 at 05:38 AM.
TF2KeyTrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:28 AM   #21
Alshain
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 737
Posts: 1,734
I would start with the Crucial M4 listed for you. Get it up and running on the current hardware and gauge performance once you do that. Then decide how far you want to take the upgrade afterward. One of the nice things about the SSD is that it really isn't dependent on the other hardware as much like Memory, CPU, Motherboard, GPU, and PSU.

You have to have a SATA mobo that supports AHCI. That's pretty much it. I bought that exact drive and I'm running it on a SATA II motherboard and it's fast as lightning. I can only imagine what it will be like after I get SATA III.

Last edited by Alshain: 03-14-2012 at 06:31 AM.
Alshain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:36 AM   #22
TeKraken
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7355
Posts: 7,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alshain View Post
You have to have a SATA mobo that supports AHCI. That's pretty much it. I bought that exact drive and I'm running it on a SATA II motherboard and it's fast as lightning. I can only imagine what it will be like after I get SATA III.
You probably won't notice the difference that much, unless you run benchies.
TeKraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:42 AM   #23
Alshain
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 737
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeKraken View Post
You probably won't notice the difference that much, unless you run benchies.
More likely I probably won't be able to tell what difference comes from SATA III and what difference comes from the fact that I would be upgrading an 8 year old CPU lol.
Alshain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:22 PM   #24
TF2KeyTrade
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 115
So get the SSD now, and then buy a mobo and whatnot once I get a new GPU?

What's a good GPU (b4b) right now?


Keep in mind, my DDR2 4GB is only at 800MHZ
TF2KeyTrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:31 AM   #25
TF2KeyTrade
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 115
I really like this mobo and the features it has.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131736

What else?
TF2KeyTrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.