Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alan Wake

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 05:46 PM   #31
dot123
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikboy1029 View Post
777, it's past time for you to upgrade if you want to keep playing newer games smoothly. MW3 is running on a modified QUAKE 3 engine, not exactly the best game to use to reference how powerful your machine is. People need to realize that PC hardware advances much faster and is therefore outdated much faster than consoles. Don't get me wrong, I've played some abysmal console ports but this isn't one of them.
You don't need to teach me about hardware. And no, MW3 is not running on a modified Quake 3 engine, that's a myth. Yes, this engine was the basis, but it is it's own engine right now.

And a HD 5770 OC is more than capable of running games smoothly, even today. Yes, you can't crank the settings up, but still. And Alan Wake shouldn't be that demanding.
dot123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:50 PM   #32
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by dot123 View Post
You don't need to teach me about hardware. And no, MW3 is not running on a modified Quake 3 engine, that's a myth. Yes, this engine was the basis, but it is it's own engine right now.

And a HD 5770 OC is more than capable of running games smoothly, even today. Yes, you can't crank the settings up, but still. And Alan Wake shouldn't be that demanding.
a 5770 was released as a mid range card 2.5 years ago and Alan Wake is pretty demanding so do not expect great framerates at 1920x1080.

Last edited by trek554: 03-23-2012 at 05:53 PM.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:03 PM   #33
sikboy1029
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 43
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by dot123 View Post
MW3 is not running on a modified Quake 3 engine
Yes it is, just like L4D2 is running on the source engine, heavily updated since HL2 but still the source engine



Quote:
Originally Posted by dot123 View Post
And a HD 5770 OC is more than capable of running games smoothly, even today. Yes, you can't crank the settings up, but still. And Alan Wake shouldn't be that demanding.
I was talking to AlanWake777 when I said it was time to upgrade. As for you, that card isn't that powerful these days.
sikboy1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:24 PM   #34
dot123
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikboy1029 View Post
Yes it is, just like L4D2 is running on the source engine, heavily updated since HL2 but still the source engine
No, that's not comparable. They started with a modified Quake 3 engine, but now all the main code parts are replaced, it's a new engine. Source is different there. It mostly evolved, but didn't get a completely new code.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sikboy1029 View Post
I was talking to AlanWake777 when I said it was time to upgrade. As for you, that card isn't that powerful these days.
I know, it's not the best card. I'll update to a HD7850/GTX660 when they dropped the price a bit.
dot123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:33 PM   #35
sikboy1029
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 43
Posts: 1,365
I'm not going to argue over what tech is used for MW3, my point remains valid either way. It's not a good game to benchmark how powerful your PC is.
sikboy1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 02:44 PM   #36
Disc1ple
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 510
Optimization is excelent.
Works great on a good hardware with W7.
Disc1ple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:48 AM   #37
dot123
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disc1ple View Post
Optimization is excelent.
Works great on a good hardware with W7.
LOL, troll detected.
dot123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 05:57 AM   #38
FengZ
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 288
Why are you calling him a troll?

This game DOES run great with good hardware. I get a constant 60+ fps running at 2560x1600 and it never even drops down to 59fps! Every setting maxed except for vol-light and SSAO on low.

Before the SLI patch, I was getting about 45fps and choppy. After the patch, it runs butter smooth and extremely enjoyable.
FengZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 06:18 AM   #39
jacenat
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dot123 View Post
And a HD 5770 OC is more than capable of running games smoothly, even today. Yes, you can't crank the settings up, but still. And Alan Wake shouldn't be that demanding.
The PC version got numerous updates upon the x360 version.

http://www.pcgamer.com/2012/02/16/al...son-360-vs-pc/

You can very well play on medium or low as the differences aren't that high and the xbox version actually is somewhere between them.
jacenat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alan Wake


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.