Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Age of Empires III

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
Spacewolf78
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
ESO lag with my friend

Recently when I've tried to play with my roommate, once we've gotten into the game, the game just stops every few seconds. Units stop in their tracks, buttons don't do anything, etc. I can still move around the map, and when either of us leaves the game, it stops happening. We've been able to play before and we're using ESO, and we both have VERY fast internet. Is something going on with ESO or something? We've tried reinstalling the game.
Spacewolf78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:46 AM   #2
MS Ryz0n
 
Microsoft Games Studios
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 157
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacewolf78 View Post
Recently when I've tried to play with my roommate, once we've gotten into the game, the game just stops every few seconds. Units stop in their tracks, buttons don't do anything, etc. I can still move around the map, and when either of us leaves the game, it stops happening. We've been able to play before and we're using ESO, and we both have VERY fast internet. Is something going on with ESO or something? We've tried reinstalling the game.
Are you both playing on the same network? I would suggest playing via LAN to see if that resolves the issue. If it does, then you may want to enable the port override feature:
http://www.agecommunity.com/faq_mp.aspx#mpeso
MS Ryz0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 11:15 PM   #3
Spacewolf78
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
Well the thing about LAN is that we tried extreme measures to get it to work to no avail, which is why we turned to ESO, which has worked until now.

Oh, and yes, we're on the same network. The weird thing is that it's worked until now.
Spacewolf78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:14 PM   #4
Cooper Kid
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 153
Posts: 1,089
Do you use a wireless connection, and are either of your computers DELLs? There's an odd conflict with DELL laptops and some routers that causes games to lag or time out. It can be resolved if you use a LAN cable instead of the wireless connection.
Cooper Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Age of Empires III


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.