Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Max Payne series > Max Payne 1 and 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2012, 10:38 AM   #1
Cotillon
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 137
Exclamation Max Payne 3 is steamworks (proof inside)

Proof from a famous video game shop in Russia.
The game is edited by 1c in this country and the digital version is STEAM powered.

Here
Or try the shop and try to search for max payne 3 if my previous link doesn't work.

Don't try to buy it if you don't live in Eastern Europe, the game will be region locked like Skyrim (or Russian VPN required for activation AND play) like every new game from 1c now.
Cotillon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
d__________
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 213
Awesome. I'm pretty sure it is up on the steam store as coming soon.
d__________ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:33 AM   #3
FulValBot (ITA)
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 113
Posts: 2,612
no, it will use gameshield...

check gamersgate site for any info...

i think that only steam version of game will use steamworks.
FulValBot (ITA) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:51 AM   #4
StreetFighter
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 32
Posts: 230
Yes it'll have Steamworks.
No it won't have Steam DRM.

Last edited by StreetFighter: 03-26-2012 at 11:56 AM.
StreetFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:44 PM   #5
steven88
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 139
Posts: 1,031
So wait, it will have steamworks or not?

Because just because a certain game has "steam features" doesn't automatically mean its a steamworks game....a steamworks game is a game that REQUIRES steam...period

But there are titles out there that have these steamworks "features" but doesn't require the Steam to play....such an example is Batman Arkham City...it has steam cloud saving, but its not a steamworks game...you can buy a retail boxed copy and play it straight up without registration on steam....and I also know LA NOIRE & Witcher 2 has Steam achievements, but doesn't require steam to play it
steven88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:57 PM   #6
rtv05
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 2
Posts: 265
False, it uses gameshield:
DRM:Gameshield
http://www.gamersgate.com/DD-MP3/max-payne-3
rtv05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 11:32 AM   #7
nytiger73
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 24
Posts: 227
This hasn't even been mentioned by R* as of yet (that I am aware of). I have the retail collectors edition pre-ordered, so I am hoping that is something I can register on Steam. Perhaps I'll hit up R* on Twitter to see if there is an announcement forthcoming.
nytiger73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 12:05 PM   #8
steven88
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 139
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by nytiger73 View Post
This hasn't even been mentioned by R* as of yet (that I am aware of). I have the retail collectors edition pre-ordered, so I am hoping that is something I can register on Steam. Perhaps I'll hit up R* on Twitter to see if there is an announcement forthcoming.
please do so...and let us know how it goes!
steven88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 05:31 PM   #9
kmrking
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 431
Posts: 2,715
it wont REQUIRE steam, but it will have steam achievements and such if you buy it there. think the witcher 2 etc
kmrking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 05:41 PM   #10
steven88
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Reputation: 139
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmrking View Post
it wont REQUIRE steam, but it will have steam achievements and such if you buy it there. think the witcher 2 etc
yup, and also LA Noire is like that too...doesn't require steam but has achievements...and Batman Arkham City
steven88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 05:50 PM   #11
kmrking
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 431
Posts: 2,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven88 View Post
yup, and also LA Noire is like that too...doesn't require steam but has achievements...and Batman Arkham City
of course, LA Noire! this is a R* game too so would have been a better example
kmrking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 06:57 AM   #12
scubs
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 324
Posts: 1,380
yeah and LA Noire on Steam uses third party DRM (gameshield)
think i'll wait until DRM is removed if ever. you'd think Rockstar would learn.. probably one of the reasons that contributed to LA Noire being a epic failure on PC.
scubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:07 AM   #13
kmrking
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 431
Posts: 2,715
why does everyone complain about drm? if the game runs and you can play it whats the problem
kmrking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 12:30 AM   #14
ryanzero
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 44
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmrking View Post
why does everyone complain about drm? if the game runs and you can play it whats the problem
DRM leads to unforeseen problems down the road, because you're basically buying a restrictive license to the content instead of owning a product the way most consumers imagine when they pick up a new game.

Some DRM is worse than others, and some companies prove their trustworthiness and get away with it better (Steam/Valve being one of them). Companies like Ubisoft that require internet connections and customer service hoops just to play an offline/single-player game are on the other end of the spectrum.

If you let companies railroad you with unreasonable DRM you'll find yourself in a jam when they shut down their servers 10 years from now and the games linked to those databases become unplayable.

Yet pirates will still be able to play their cracked versions like always. Bad DRM only hurts honest customers.
ryanzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:36 AM   #15
IDefectedI
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 18
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtv05 View Post
False, it uses gameshield:
DRM:Gameshield
http://www.gamersgate.com/DD-MP3/max-payne-3
Can we name one game where DRM works ?
IDefectedI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Max Payne series > Max Payne 1 and 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.