Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Pirates!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2012, 11:10 PM   #1
Drakkel
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 1
Posts: 11
Fix found for "Failed to Find Steam" Error!

I've been getting the "Failed to Find Steam" error, and the dll replacement fix did not work for me. The only way I could get the game to run was to close Steam and open the exe file manually.

Well, I've found a method of getting Sid Meier's Pirates! to run from Steam as it should. The problem seems to be that the game is expecting Steam to be in C:\Program Files\Steam, but if you've installed it somewhere else or are running 64-bit Windows it, for some reason, can't find the new location. At least my install couldn't.

I eventually discovered a fix for other games that works here:
  1. Bring up the Start Menu
  2. Right click on Computer, select Properties
  3. Go to Advanced System Settings, select Environment Variables
  4. Underneath the box labeled "User Variables for [Windows Username}" click the New button
  5. In the Variable Value field, enter the path to the Pirates! exe file, click OK

This worked like a charm where every other method failed. It's a shame the Steam version of this game seems to have so many problems, because it's a great game. I hope this fix helps, happy sailing!
Drakkel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
DuneTiger
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakkel View Post
I've been getting the "Failed to Find Steam" error, and the dll replacement fix did not work for me. The only way I could get the game to run was to close Steam and open the exe file manually.

Well, I've found a method of getting Sid Meier's Pirates! to run from Steam as it should. The problem seems to be that the game is expecting Steam to be in C:\Program Files\Steam, but if you've installed it somewhere else or are running 64-bit Windows it, for some reason, can't find the new location. At least my install couldn't.

I eventually discovered a fix for other games that works here:
  1. Bring up the Start Menu
  2. Right click on Computer, select Properties
  3. Go to Advanced System Settings, select Environment Variables
  4. Underneath the box labeled "User Variables for [Windows Username}" click the New button
  5. In the Variable Value field, enter the path to the Pirates! exe file, click OK

This worked like a charm where every other method failed. It's a shame the Steam version of this game seems to have so many problems, because it's a great game. I hope this fix helps, happy sailing!
Uh, what is the environment variable you're defining? You have a value, but no actual variable.
DuneTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:23 PM   #3
Sjaman
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
This is the correct solution

You must do these steps like Drakkel wrote:

1. Bring up the Start Menu
2. Right click on Computer, select Properties
3. Go to Advanced System Settings, select Environment Variables

But then you go to the "System variables" section
4. find the Variable named "Path"
5. Mark it, and click Edit
At the end of the existing string:
6. add ";" followed by the path to Steam.exe
for example ;c:/programfiles(x86)/steam/ (if win7/64 bit.)

Enjoy!
Sjaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:29 PM   #4
cpholmes9
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Thanks guys!!! This worked like a champ. I have windows 7 64 bit. Just follow these steps then exit steam and bring it back up and it will run. Now to go play it!!!
cpholmes9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:33 PM   #5
bcasner50
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
An easier way...

My way around the problem is to simply turn steam completely off, then select Pirates. It starts steam up again and then pirates too. Works perfectly each time.
bcasner50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:34 PM   #6
gijas04
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 6
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpholmes9 View Post
Thanks guys!!! This worked like a champ. I have windows 7 64 bit. Just follow these steps then exit steam and bring it back up and it will run. Now to go play it!!!
Which steps? So you need to close Steam first?
gijas04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sid Meier's Pirates!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.