Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 12:48 PM   #1
lostprophetpunk
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1113
Posts: 2,849
Water "nodraw" issue

Heya there,

I am having some trouble with some water textures in my map. I have textured the water with all faces via the top face as nodraw. The top face has the water texture on it.

I have also placed a cubemap exactly 64 units above the water, and linked the cubemap to the face of the water texture.

I have all the settings on normal for the compile options.

I also have a water_lod_control in the map.

Yes I know it says I have a leak. I have checked everywhere on the map and there is no space going into the void whatsoever.

Yet the water displays with a nodraw texture.

This is the compile log.
Code:
** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.vmf"

Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Oct 25 2011)
2 threads
materialPath: c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\team fortress 2\tf\materials
Loading C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.vmf
ConVarRef mat_reduceparticles doesn't point to an existing ConVar
fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
**** leaked ****
Entity func_respawnroomvisualizer (552.00 -976.00 128.00) leaked!
Processing areas...done (0)
Building Faces...done (0)
FixTjuncs...
PruneNodes...
WriteBSP...
done (0)
Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
   skybox/sky_hydro_01*.vmt
 ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
   skybox/sky_hydro_01*.vmt
 ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
Finding displacement neighbors...
Finding lightmap sample positions...
Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
Building Physics collision data...
done (0) (54295 bytes)
Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
Compacting texture/material tables...
Reduced 286 texinfos to 171
Reduced 26 texdatas to 21 (733 bytes to 587)
Writing C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.bsp
0 seconds elapsed

** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3"

Valve Software - vvis.exe (Oct 25 2011)
2 threads
reading c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.bsp
reading c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.prt
LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.prt


** Executing...
** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
** Parameters:  -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3"

Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Oct 25 2011)

      Valve Radiosity Simulator     
2 threads
[Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
[34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

Loading c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.bsp
No vis information, direct lighting only.
Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.04 seconds)
909 faces
2660502 square feet [383112320.00 square inches]
0 Displacements
0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
sun extent from map=0.000000
8 direct lights
BuildFacelights:     0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (12)
Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0212 sec>
FinalLightFace:      0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
FinalLightFace Done
0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (8)
Writing leaf ambient...done
Ready to Finish

Object names       Objects/Maxobjs  Memory / Maxmem  Fullness 
------------       ---------------  ---------------  -------- 
models                  34/1024         1632/49152    ( 3.3%) 
brushes                134/8192         1608/98304    ( 1.6%) 
brushsides             804/65536        6432/524288   ( 1.2%) 
planes                 262/65536        5240/1310720  ( 0.4%) 
vertexes              1486/65536       17832/786432   ( 2.3%) 
nodes                  800/65536       25600/2097152  ( 1.2%) 
texinfos               171/12288       12312/884736   ( 1.4%) 
texdata                 21/2048          672/65536    ( 1.0%) 
dispinfos                0/0               0/0        ( 0.0%) 
disp_verts               0/0               0/0        ( 0.0%) 
disp_tris                0/0               0/0        ( 0.0%) 
disp_lmsamples           0/0               0/0        ( 0.0%) 
faces                  909/65536       50904/3670016  ( 1.4%) 
hdr faces                0/65536           0/3670016  ( 0.0%) 
origfaces              384/65536       21504/3670016  ( 0.6%) 
leaves                 835/65536       26720/2097152  ( 1.3%) 
leaffaces             1012/65536        2024/131072   ( 1.5%) 
leafbrushes            262/65536         524/131072   ( 0.4%) 
areas                    2/256            16/2048     ( 0.8%) 
surfedges             5677/512000      22708/2048000  ( 1.1%) 
edges                 3141/256000      12564/1024000  ( 1.2%) 
LDR worldlights          8/8192          704/720896   ( 0.1%) 
HDR worldlights          0/8192            0/720896   ( 0.0%) 
leafwaterdata            1/32768          12/393216   ( 0.0%) 
waterstrips            105/32768        1050/327680   ( 0.3%) 
waterverts               0/65536           0/786432   ( 0.0%) 
waterindices          1446/65536        2892/131072   ( 2.2%) 
cubemapsamples           1/1024           16/16384    ( 0.1%) 
overlays                 0/512             0/180224   ( 0.0%) 
LDR lightdata         [variable]      841304/0        ( 0.0%) 
HDR lightdata         [variable]           0/0        ( 0.0%) 
visdata               [variable]           0/16777216 ( 0.0%) 
entdata               [variable]       13687/393216   ( 3.5%) 
LDR ambient table      835/65536        3340/262144   ( 1.3%) 
HDR ambient table      835/65536        3340/262144   ( 1.3%) 
LDR leaf ambient      4395/65536      123060/1835008  ( 6.7%) 
HDR leaf ambient       835/65536       23380/1835008  ( 1.3%) 
occluders                0/0               0/0        ( 0.0%) 
occluder polygons        0/0               0/0        ( 0.0%) 
occluder vert ind        0/0               0/0        ( 0.0%) 
detail props          [variable]           1/12       ( 8.3%) 
static props          [variable]           1/12       ( 8.3%) 
pakfile               [variable]      212934/0        ( 0.0%) 
physics               [variable]       54295/4194304  ( 1.3%) 
physics terrain       [variable]           2/1048576  ( 0.0%) 

Level flags = 0

Total triangle count: 2323
Writing c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.bsp
22 seconds elapsed

** Executing...
** Command: Copy File
** Parameters: "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\testmap3.bsp" "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\lostprophetpunk\team fortress 2\tf\maps\testmap3.bsp"

Last edited by lostprophetpunk: 04-28-2012 at 12:52 PM.
lostprophetpunk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:23 PM   #2
Punishment
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 384
Posts: 4,605
Your map has a leak which is preventing your water from rendering correctly. If you fix it, it should work.
Punishment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
lostprophetpunk
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1113
Posts: 2,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punishment View Post
Your map has a leak which is preventing your water from rendering correctly. If you fix it, it should work.
You clearly didn't read...

"Yes I know it says I have a leak. I have checked everywhere on the map and there is no space going into the void whatsoever."
lostprophetpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:45 PM   #4
dumdadumdoo
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 61
Did you try loading the pointfile?

(Map->Load pointfile)
dumdadumdoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:01 PM   #5
lostprophetpunk
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1113
Posts: 2,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumdadumdoo View Post
Did you try loading the pointfile?

(Map->Load pointfile)
Yes, of course I did. It points to the entity in which is not leaking whatsoever. There are no leaks in the map whatsoever, yet it has created this "leak" from nowhere.
lostprophetpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:01 PM   #6
Jekyll G. Payne
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 73
Aren't you by any chance sealing the map with a part of the water brush, or maybe with a func_detail or a Hint brush? If so, it won't work.

If you aren't, then I suggest deleting your sealing skybox cube (I hope it's a simple cube) and redrawing it once again. It's very quick to do and it may turn out to be very helpful. Sometimes people create leaks accidentally, without noticing, and it may seem as if there's no leak at all, yet there is, or the SDK thinks so for some reason. Remaking the skybox cube has helped me sometimes.

Anyway, if it says 'leak', there IS a leak of sorts. If redrawing the sealing cube doesn't help, try removing some elements, like that water brush, and checking if it works without them. If it does, there's a problem with that feature, try to figure it out.

Last edited by Jekyll G. Payne: 04-28-2012 at 02:09 PM.
Jekyll G. Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:08 PM   #7
lostprophetpunk
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1113
Posts: 2,849
I have checked and redone parts of the map, and there are no visible leaks at all. I have checked every part of the map. It starts from a random entity and points through my skybox at a point in which is completely sealed.

EDIT: It goes through a process of pretending the leak is from a certain entity. When I delete that entity it tells me that is a different entity etc, it goes on until nearly everything from the map is deleted. Like I have said...I know for a fact that all of the map is sealed off by world brushes.

Last edited by lostprophetpunk: 04-28-2012 at 02:18 PM.
lostprophetpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 03:40 PM   #8
lostprophetpunk
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1113
Posts: 2,849
It seems to happen only after I add the water. Before adding the water the map receives no errors on leaks etc. Once I put the water in (in which I check isn't leaking etc and is done correctly), it seems to pick a random entity to think it's leaking from.

So what in the world is happening? As I have already got water in the map in 2 other places, in which are fine but when I place this one...it's just not helping me whatsoever.
lostprophetpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:07 PM   #9
Jekyll G. Payne
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostprophetpunk View Post
It seems to happen only after I add the water. Before adding the water the map receives no errors on leaks etc. Once I put the water in (in which I check isn't leaking etc and is done correctly), it seems to pick a random entity to think it's leaking from.

So what in the world is happening? As I have already got water in the map in 2 other places, in which are fine but when I place this one...it's just not helping me whatsoever.
You should probably recheck the basic requirements for water. Maybe you made the water brush too complex, while it should stay rectangular, maybe the water brush goes out of the map sealing wall at some place. Look into it.
Jekyll G. Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:12 PM   #10
lostprophetpunk
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1113
Posts: 2,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jekyll G. Payne View Post
You should probably recheck the basic requirements for water. Maybe you made the water brush too complex, while it should stay rectangular, maybe the water brush goes out of the map sealing wall at some place. Look into it.
Nope, the water is a rectangular block, which is in a room sealed by world brushes. No leaks are in the map at all. No a single pixel leads into the void.
lostprophetpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:54 PM   #11
TZK203
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 1005
Posts: 1,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostprophetpunk View Post
Nope, the water is a rectangular block, which is in a room sealed by world brushes. No leaks are in the map at all. No a single pixel leads into the void.
You either have displacements that are not sealed by nodraw textures, func_details that shouldn't be... func_details, because they don't seal maps, or something else.
TZK203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 07:57 PM   #12
Punishment
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 384
Posts: 4,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostprophetpunk View Post
I have checked and redone parts of the map, and there are no visible leaks at all. I have checked every part of the map. It starts from a random entity and points through my skybox at a point in which is completely sealed.

EDIT: It goes through a process of pretending the leak is from a certain entity. When I delete that entity it tells me that is a different entity etc, it goes on until nearly everything from the map is deleted. Like I have said...I know for a fact that all of the map is sealed off by world brushes.
The entity that the compile log gives you is not necessarily the source of the leak, it's just the closest entity to the leak. I recommend turning off all your visgroups except for the world brush and skybox ones, and then try to find the leak.
Punishment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 03:55 AM   #13
Jekyll G. Payne
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 73
Guys, seriously, the man already told you that the error appears only when he adds this water brush. Apparently he knows how to seal a map.

lostprophetpunk, you should probably edit your first post and explain, that the game doesn't think there's a leak unless you create the water brush, or they'll keep talking about sealing the level properly.
Jekyll G. Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.