Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2012, 01:09 AM   #31
Nindo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 51
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by stabby stabby View Post
As for the network side of things, while you are limited to 66.6666- updates/sec out, how recent those updates are is determined by FPS.

It's also worth noting that fps_max works poorly. Your FPS will fluctuate between the cap and 10 frames below. You may also experience odd tearing or input lag.
It does. It's determined by the server's fps.

It's a fact that some people (I'd estimate ~5%) may experience performance jitters with max_fps and if that is your case, I'm sorry. My game runs at 132FPS solid. No fluctuating fps or anything. I don't care if you get inputlag, just don't try to convince me I'm wrong, because if I were, I would waste my time. Competitive gaming is my passion and I make damn sue I know my facts.
Nindo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:55 AM   #32
Juracule
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 202
Posts: 1,687
Seeing as I told you my situation, Nindo, what do you recommend I do? I have a 120 hz monitor, already using max-frames, fps around 90-120. Should I just continue using fps_max 61 or start using 66?
Juracule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 02:27 AM   #33
AlphaPenguin
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 74
Posts: 709
Your system is awesome if its getting 400 fps.

No way on earth is it gonna miss frames if you enable vsync.

In your case switching on vsync should not cause any input lag.

You will just end up with smoother graphics a cooler running graphics card and smaller electricity bill.

Switch on vsync and go for Double buffered.


If your getting input lag in a Source engine game your doing something wrong in your mouse driver / settings.

Some games have mouse lag that is made worse by vsync " cough HR cough HR bag of crap "
Source isnt one of them.

I've run L4D2 HL2 and TF2 on old cards at horrible FPS and never seen input lag in them.
AlphaPenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 02:50 AM   #34
Nindo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 51
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juracule View Post
Seeing as I told you my situation, Nindo, what do you recommend I do? I have a 120 hz monitor, already using max-frames, fps around 90-120. Should I just continue using fps_max 61 or start using 66?
This might sound evil but if you can't run the game with at least 120fps, you can't utilize your monitor's refresh rate to 100%. I recommend you to set fps_max to 66 and play that way until you can afford a pc upgrade/lag fix. What specs do you have?

In general, I would do:
Goal 1: get fps > monitor Hz.
Goal 2: sync fps with net/hardware.

@alpha: Input lag can be a cause of many factors. I think the motherboard is a bigger factor than your gfx card, but I'm not certain on that. My old ty pc suffered huge input lags on source games, even with 60 fps. Computers don't seem logical. For some users one setting is better off than on even though sometimes its most commonly better having it on.

Last edited by Nindo: 05-01-2012 at 03:01 AM.
Nindo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:13 AM   #35
Juracule
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 202
Posts: 1,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nindo View Post
This might sound evil but if you can't run the game with at least 120fps, you can't utilize your monitor's refresh rate to 100%. I recommend you to set fps_max to 66 and play that way until you can afford a pc upgrade/lag fix. What specs do you have?

In general, I would do:
Goal 1: get fps > monitor Hz.
Goal 2: sync fps with net/hardware.

@alpha: Input lag can be a cause of many factors. I think the motherboard is a bigger factor than your gfx card, but I'm not certain on that. My old ty pc suffered huge input lags on source games, even with 60 fps. Computers don't seem logical. For some users one setting is better off than on even though sometimes its most commonly better having it on.
I have an ATI radeon HD 4350, an Intel Quad Core Q8300 with 2.50 Ghz, and 4 GB of RAM, combined in the form of an Inspiron 545. So yeah it's most likely my ty graphics card.
Juracule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 12:49 AM   #36
Nindo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 51
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juracule View Post
I have an ATI radeon HD 4350, an Intel Quad Core Q8300 with 2.50 Ghz, and 4 GB of RAM, combined in the form of an Inspiron 545. So yeah it's most likely my ty graphics card.
Ouch... Luckily for you, graphic's cards are not that expensive. Around 150€ is enough (I say "not expensive" as its well spent money on something that you will be really satisfied with). It might be a problem with DELL as you have purchased pre-built pc :/
Nindo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:50 AM   #37
Ded-
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 375
Posts: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juracule View Post
I have an ATI radeon HD 4350, an Intel Quad Core Q8300 with 2.50 Ghz, and 4 GB of RAM, combined in the form of an Inspiron 545. So yeah it's most likely my ty graphics card.
My pc is same as your except the graphics card
It's radeon hd 2600xt.
No lags here.
Ded- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 01:02 AM   #38
Nindo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 51
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ded- View Post
My pc is same as your except the graphics card
It's radeon hd 2600xt.
No lags here.
Juracule is not "lagging". His 120Hz monitor requires 120FPS to achieve maximum performance, but he only gets ~90. As long as you have FPS over 66, you won't notice any lag on a regular 60Hz monitor. I had the same problem as Juracle when I got my 120Hz monitor (not getting 120 FPS solid). However, I was lucky to have a Radeon HD 6950 so I just had to use a FPS config.
Nindo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 01:44 AM   #39
Not_Matlock
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 771
Posts: 4,958
Source games base your mouse movement on framerate. An unstable framerate will cause inconsistent mouse movement. This is one of the reasons why at low fps your mouse will feel really weird.

FPS caps can help prevent your fps from going too high and messing with your mouse sensitivity.
Not_Matlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:01 AM   #40
Lumpy311
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 352
Posts: 1,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stalast View Post
Have some +rep Nindo, there were quite a few things I didn't know about this topic. Thanks.
Necromancers are strong here today.
Lumpy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:33 PM   #41
Stalast
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumpy311 View Post
Necromancers are strong here today.
Nothing wrong with giving the thanks that he deserves.
Stalast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:35 PM   #42
Dr.EvilBrain
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 420
Posts: 3,963
Holy necromancers
Dr.EvilBrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:42 PM   #43
a bad sniper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 284
Posts: 1,004
there are some necros that are reasonable, i think this is one of them.
a bad sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:48 PM   #44
Lampshade
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 564
Posts: 3,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kageking View Post
I have pretty legit PC
Please stop.
Lampshade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:56 PM   #45
stabby stabby
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 641
Posts: 1,897
No reason to use an FPS cap if you have raw input enabled--which you certainly should.
stabby stabby is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.