Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > General Steam Discussion

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2012, 07:08 PM   #16
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5230
Posts: 11,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burekman View Post
Anyone managed to get remote management working? The community games list is still the same as it was for me. Can't do anything with it.
I've tried it from IE and Firefox and on my iPhone but no real changes as far as I can tell. And yes I read the support article on it but it's not really that descriptive.... I think some screenshots there would help. The 'secondary game window' sin't really helpful.

Also is it my imagination or does it seem like all games want me to 'install steam' now? I don't recall this before as browsers seemed to knwo I had steam installed previously.

Last edited by Satoru: 05-01-2012 at 07:12 PM.
Satoru is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:17 PM   #17
TheDude7053
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 120
Posts: 885
Could be that the new elements of the community site are still rolling out to the servers :P
TheDude7053 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:20 PM   #18
TTK-Bandit
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 83
Posts: 165
>Remote management...
Neat feature, if it was actually implemented on both ends.
Will the download dialog appear on the client ?
If not, can we get the dialog removed from the client install method as well ?
Takes way to long to click through it and wait for it to be done preparing.

>Reduced excessive system memory usage
Weird thing here:
When I start a download, memory usage drops from 125mb to 20mb.
Then rises a bit and seems to stay stable between 25 and 28mb.
Just a 5 minute test so far tho.
TTK-Bandit is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:30 PM   #19
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5230
Posts: 11,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTK-Bandit View Post
>Remote management...
Neat feature, if it was actually implemented on both ends.
Will the download dialog appear on the client ?
If not, can we get the dialog removed from the client install method as well ?
Takes way to long to click through it and wait for it to be done preparing.
You can view the download status on the webpage

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...6324-IGHC-5301

You won't remove the dialog boxes on the 'host' side if you're installing it directly from the Steam client. I'm not sure how 'too long' is but it's rarely more than maybe 10-20 seconds for even the largest games. It's not like you're sitting there for 5 minutes.

Quote:
>Reduced excessive system memory usage
Weird thing here:
When I start a download, memory usage drops from 125mb to 20mb.
Then rises a bit and seems to stay stable between 25 and 28mb.
Just a 5 minute test so far tho.
This may depend on whether the content is on the new or older content systems.
Satoru is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:32 PM   #20
TTK-Bandit
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 83
Posts: 165
When you download 3 games at the same time, it jumps to quite high cpu usages sporadically (20% at a quad core).
And when you decide to delete the content of one of them, it completely freezes the application for a few minutes.
The freezing is not due to disk waits, since I was able to collect data from the disk with no speed issues.

Not sure if that is a beta issue.
TTK-Bandit is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:44 PM   #21
TTK-Bandit
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 83
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoru View Post
You can view the download status on the webpage

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...6324-IGHC-5301
There is no such thing, the link you posted contains information about a feature not yet shown on the community webpage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoru View Post
You won't remove the dialog boxes on the 'host' side if you're installing it directly from the Steam client. I'm not sure how 'too long' is but it's rarely more than maybe 10-20 seconds for even the largest games. It's not like you're sitting there for 5 minutes.
10-20 seconds is still too much for something that could be done in background.
GTA IV takes 30 seconds btw.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoru View Post
This may depend on whether the content is on the new or older content systems.
No idea what difference and where to see if it's the old or the new one.

Different matter: why is the delete content dialog always in a different size even tho the text is exactly the same ?
TTK-Bandit is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:48 PM   #22
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5230
Posts: 11,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTK-Bandit View Post
There is no such thing, the link you posted contains information about a feature not yet shown on the community webpage.
It's not there yet but the FAQ seems to indicate that you can remote monitorthe install progress

Quote:
You may choose to refresh this page to check the current status of your installation
Newer games 'tend' to be on the new content server. Some examples are Civ5 and Witcher2 I believe. Also I suspect that the memory usage increasing might be for bigger games like Shogun2 that have massive patches that may suck up more memory?

Last edited by Satoru: 05-01-2012 at 07:52 PM.
Satoru is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:55 PM   #23
Epsilon
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Reputation: 2222
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTK-Bandit View Post
No idea what difference and where to see if it's the old or the new one.
The new content system is what's being talked about in this post: http://store.steampowered.com/news/5856/

It's a total re-write of how Steam downloads and manages games, so any stuff talking about how they've optimised memory usage probably applies to the new system only.

The easiest way to tell the difference is in the Properties page for a game. On the "Local files" tab, the old system has a 4th button for defragmenting, the new system doesn't.
Epsilon is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 08:12 PM   #24
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5230
Posts: 11,036
[BUG] Error Code 51 when running some games

Problem: When running Shank I receive the error "Error 51 Shank failed to start"

Troubleshooting Attempted: While on Beta did a reverify of game cache, did not fix issue

Reverted to regular client, deleted game, reinstalled. Confirmed that the game works with no issue using ne regular client. Then went to the Beta. Received Error 51 when running Shank

How to fix: Reverting back to the regular client resolves the issue

Could be related to the new/old content servers?

Another theory, games not working seem to need 3rd party authentication, or have cd-keys? Correlative factors GFW/GFWL/Uplay?

Doesn't appear to be CEG related as Skyrim works fine.



Other Games having issues

Fallout:New Vegas
The Witcher Enhanced Edition

ME2
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...9&postcount=53

Prototoype
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...9&postcount=55

Fallout3 GOTY
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...1&postcount=57

Assassins' Creed 2
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...0&postcount=61

Last edited by Satoru: 05-02-2012 at 10:15 AM.
Satoru is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 08:34 PM   #25
TheOnlyTrueZak
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 80
Posts: 517
Does it mean that "Failed to find Steam" error is fixed with some of the games?
TheOnlyTrueZak is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 08:51 PM   #26
Epsilon
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Reputation: 2222
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoru View Post
Getting an odd bug. Running Shank on the Beta gives me a Error Code 51 Shan Failed to Start. But switching back to the 'normal' client Shank loads fine.
Confirmed.
Epsilon is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:09 PM   #27
Darth Tealc
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 591
Posts: 158
Hidden data in this beta reveals the upcoming existence of Steam Wallet Vouchers. It also has some hints on "Big Picture Mode".
(To see for yourself, look in the resource files, such as "public/steamui_english.txt" and "public/url_list.txt")

There will be a link to "Redeem a Steam Wallet Voucher..." in the "Games" menu between "Activate a product" and "Manage gifts". It will link to "%store%/account/redeemwalletcode/"(https://store.steampowered.com/accou...eemwalletcode/), but that currently redirects to the homepage.

There will be a "Big Pucture Mode" button near the Detail/List/Grid icons. The icon for the button will be arrows pointing to the 4 corners, like a standard "enlarge" icon. The "Fullscreen" command the button calls doesn't do anything yet, and the button isn't visible.
Darth Tealc is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:15 PM   #28
khyn18
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
very lag in servidor sul american pliz verification thanks in game dota 2 very la very lag // my internet 5 mbts very fast in all games its estile

Last edited by khyn18: 05-01-2012 at 09:20 PM.
khyn18 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:29 PM   #29
venomblade89
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 332
Posts: 1,093
Not sure if I'm doing this right/wrong...I'm logged into Steam on my browser, Steam is running on my PC(I'm on the same PC in both the browser and on Steam, just for testing purposes) I go to Community > Games thru the browser, however, I don't see any way to choose to install the games...
venomblade89 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:42 PM   #30
TheDude7053
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 120
Posts: 885
I'm still sort of frustrated with getting remote management to work I go to my community games page and still don't see any Install buttons for the games I have uninstalled, nor do I see any installation "status" What the heck am I doing wrong, also some screenshots of it working properly would be great
TheDude7053 is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > General Steam Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.