Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RACE series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2012, 12:32 PM   #1
troak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Red face Race Injection Won't Work.

Ok. Bought Race Injection a few months ago. I just cannot get this to run. I've reinstalled 4 times now. No luck. I just have no clue what to do anymore. I've validated cache. I had Race 07 and it worked fine before, but now it doesn't. If I start it, I get a black screen and if I go into task manager, it's always not responding.

No clue what to do anymore.

Now, I'm getting

apphangb1
appcrash
...

Last edited by troak: 04-08-2012 at 02:30 PM.
troak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:24 AM   #2
clam_Up
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 40
A good tool to use when you're completely stuck is Process Monitor. It'll indicate where problems are happening within the file system.

If you're not familiar with it, once it's installed just add an entry in the filter list:

Process Name
is not
Race_Steam.exe
exclude

Add

Then run Race and look through the list for failures. It's most likely that the problem causing the crash will be one of the last entries, so that should help point you in the right direction.

...hope this helps.
clam_Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:48 AM   #3
USteppin
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 80
Does Race Injection show up as one game under your library?

Are the error messages you're getting from Steam or Windows?
USteppin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:30 PM   #4
troak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by clam_Up View Post
A good tool to use when you're completely stuck is Process Monitor. It'll indicate where problems are happening within the file system.

If you're not familiar with it, once it's installed just add an entry in the filter list:

Process Name
is not
Race_Steam.exe
exclude

Add

Then run Race and look through the list for failures. It's most likely that the problem causing the crash will be one of the last entries, so that should help point you in the right direction.

...hope this helps.
Used it. Didn't think of using it... lolol

Quote:
Originally Posted by USteppin View Post
Does Race Injection show up as one game under your library?

Are the error messages you're getting from Steam or Windows?
Well, there is Race Injection as one thing, then all of the DLC's +Race 07 also. So, no...

Errors are from windows.
troak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:51 PM   #5
USteppin
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 80
Are you running the shortcut that just says "Race 07" ?
USteppin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 04:25 PM   #6
Gener_AL (UK)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
Start Race07 and set video options then start injection
Gener_AL (UK) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 04:25 PM   #7
troak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Tried it all.

Ran Race Injection, Race 07... w/e. All the same.

EDIT: I did the video stuff like that already
troak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 04:32 PM   #8
Gener_AL (UK)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
ok have you validated the steam files / if not check here how to.
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...2037-QEUH-3335
If so then next step > rename the folder simbin to oldsimbin in your documents folder.

e.g. windows 7 or vista
"C:\Users\Alan\Documents\SimBin"
XP or 2000
"C:\Documents and Settings\Alan\My Documents\SimBin"


Then start Race07 and set video options then start race07.
Then if that works try run injection.

Last edited by Gener_AL (UK): 04-09-2012 at 04:37 PM.
Gener_AL (UK) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:06 PM   #9
troak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Tried that too. No luck.
troak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:58 AM   #10
Soulsick82
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 112
So, it used to run until you bought Race Injection?

You've reinstalled, but have you reinstalled without installing Race Injection?
Does it work when you do that?

Other things to just clear out the way. Have you updated to latest video drivers?
Soulsick82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 07:13 PM   #11
troak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Yeah... I'll give just Race07 install a shot.

I have my latest gpu drivers.
troak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RACE series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.