Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Universe Sandbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2012, 12:01 PM   #1
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
Exclamation How to kill the spam at closing the game? (Before you go please share your thoughts)

Whenever I finish playing and closing the game I get a pop up window with a title "Before you go please share your thoughts" and it wants to send gathered info with screenshots and who knows what else to somewhere.

How can I uninstall this spyware-like thing to keep the game playable? It is very annoying that I always have to click on the "Don't send" button.

vempajor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:51 PM   #2
RagingLoon
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 43
Posts: 345
Hmm, mine just says "Would you like to close Universe Sandbox?" I choose "Exit" or "Cancel" and that's it.
RagingLoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:48 AM   #3
Dan Dixon
 
Universe Sandbox
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 59
Posts: 229
Is the dialog appearing every time?

The share your thoughts dialog should appear when you exit Universe Sandbox the first two times and then once every 7 or 8 exits. It shouldn't appear every time.

It's not spyware. If you do type in a message it just send me that message (along with your log files if the box is selected) and their contents are totally transparent. If you click 'Don't Send' it sends out nothing.
Dan Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:52 AM   #4
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
Not every time, it is appearing like 6x from 10 times after I finished playing.

I will never click the "send it" so how can I disable (if not a "spyware") this spam? I can't find any checkbox.
vempajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 05:17 PM   #5
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
Anyone please?
vempajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 07:39 PM   #6
Dan Dixon
 
Universe Sandbox
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 59
Posts: 229
There's currently no way to disable it. Although I've just made a change to the code so that a user will only ever see this dialog 10 times once I post a new update to Steam.

So if you run Universe Sandbox more than ~70 times you won't see the dialog anymore. Does that work for you?

Although I won't be releasing the update until sometime next week (and it's just a few minor bug fixes; nothing new).
Dan Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:14 AM   #7
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
10 times is still too much (about 3 would be enough imo) but better than it was, so OK I guess. Or it could be 10 or endless like it is now but after the window popped up 3 times let the users select with a checkbox they never want to see this again. So at the first 2 times there is no checkbox at all, and when it is popping up the 3rd time there should be either a checkbox or a button "Never show this any more". Thanks a lot.
vempajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:18 PM   #8
Dan Dixon
 
Universe Sandbox
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 59
Posts: 229
A checkbox is a good idea but it would be better to spend time on new features like that in the full rewrite as the current code base is basically dead.

How many times have you seen the message? Haven't you already seen it at least 10 times?
Dan Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 05:46 PM   #9
MST3K
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 157
Posts: 448
Huh, I have had the game for a while, and I have never seen this; not that I remember anyway.
MST3K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 06:17 AM   #10
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
@MST3K: It's OK you have the game but have you ever played?

@Dan Dixon: Can't tell how many times I've seen it, but im sure more than 10x.
vempajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 09:49 AM   #11
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
I'm still getting this window while closing the game, f.

should I use alt ctrl del or how to shot the game down
vempajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 10:58 AM   #12
Dan Dixon
 
Universe Sandbox
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 59
Posts: 229
All you have to do is press the button "Don't Send".
Dan Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 11:00 AM   #13
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
No-no, not that. I want to close the game and not starting to hunt for "dontsend" buttons. This happens AFTER I closed the game.
vempajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:34 AM   #14
vempajor
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 181
Posts: 2,322
Haha now it is even better. I got this spam right after STARTING the game too. Hilarious. Now not only spamming after we closing it but at the starts too. And it is still at the Steam Store.
vempajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Universe Sandbox


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.