Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2012, 12:44 PM   #1
d95
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 89
Posts: 1,179
one question for beta testers

if i want to make an underground map(in hammer of course), will it show up nicely on the preview thing in the workshop or will it look ugly?
d95 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 12:47 PM   #2
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5268
Posts: 22,459
6 days.

Wait and see. Or, you know, read the lengthy threads on the issue that already exist.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 03:20 PM   #3
Qrome
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 233
Posts: 270
I'd imagine that when you submit a map made in Hammer, you get to upload your own preview image. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't show up right.
Qrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 10:09 PM   #4
d95
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 89
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qrome View Post
I'd imagine that when you submit a map made in Hammer, you get to upload your own preview image. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't show up right.
well... the test dome is BIG and all the small rooms will be quite small in the preview.
d95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:21 AM   #5
Clord
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 40
Posts: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by d95 View Post
well... the test dome is BIG and all the small rooms will be quite small in the preview.
You can get rid of that starting room what editor gives entirely. In fact there should no be other than 1x1x1 box when someone start to doing new map as too many use starting room as part of their puzzle making them all look similar.
Clord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:04 PM   #6
Qrome
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 233
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by d95 View Post
well... the test dome is BIG and all the small rooms will be quite small in the preview.
If you make a map in Hammer, you won't be able to use the same kind of preview image that the puzzle creator uses (outside looking in), mainly because you can't transfer maps from Hammer to the puzzle creator. I'm guessing that the preview images for maps made in Hammer will be gameplay screenshots.
Qrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 03:30 PM   #7
DirectVic
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 2213
Posts: 5,018
Beta tester here - it'll look fine. Besides, the rating is what attracts players; not the thumbnail. You'll also get to post up your own image, especially if it's a Hammer-made map.
DirectVic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:26 AM   #8
d95
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 89
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirectVic View Post
Beta tester here - it'll look fine. Besides, the rating is what attracts players; not the thumbnail. You'll also get to post up your own image, especially if it's a Hammer-made map.
Good,but i dont like the rate thing... Good unrated maps will end up at the bottom and they will never be seen while the good maps with a high rate will stay at the top
d95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:38 AM   #9
Alexander Bell
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1328
Posts: 2,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by d95 View Post
if i want to make an underground map(in hammer of course), will it show up nicely on the preview thing in the workshop or will it look ugly?

All underground maps look ugly.

Anyway, I assume you could build the map in the normal editor and then move it to hammer to add the underground texture. (sorry if I didnt understand the question)
Alexander Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 03:22 PM   #10
Audrey2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 44
If you're trying to make an underground map, you're going to have a hell of a time getting those lifts to work.
Audrey2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:27 PM   #11
srs_bsnss
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 115
Posts: 743
What he's asking is if the preview image in the steam workshop will look bad because the map has been made in the underground style.

You can choose your own screenshot for the map, so it won't really matter unless you choose a bad screenshot for it.
srs_bsnss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Portal 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.