Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Empire: Total War

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 05:22 AM   #1
donaldathome
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Every Total War game I own has stopped working

In the last 30 days have been played Shogun 2 with no mods, Napoleon with Europe in Conflict mod, and Empire with T.A.R. mod. I have had no trouble at all. Now, suddenly, none of the three will play.

Shogun crashes on load.

Napoleon and Empire crash when I try to load a campaign game or start a new one. I played Empire yesterday, but today it's broken.

I have deleted the .exe files and verified the integrity of game cache and rebooted repeatedly. I even did a system restore to eliminate new windows updates. Followed by more verify and reboot cycles.

Any ideas why all three games would break at the same time?
donaldathome is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 08:49 AM   #2
MilitantCactus
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 13
Posts: 103
Maybe a stealthy antivirus update? Do non-Total War games run?
MilitantCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 05:05 PM   #3
donaldathome
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Actually, when I went back and tried Rome and Medieval-2 they both ran.

I checked the NVIDEA drivers and they are up to date.

I also discovered this:
After verify/reboot on Shogun, Napoleon, and Empire
Shogun ran fine
And Napoleon ran fine
But Empire crashed
After Empire crashed Napoleon would not run
And Shogun would not run

Rome/Med2 don't use Steam, Sho/Nap/Emp do use Steam. So what is common to Sho/Nap/Emp that might get corrupted when one game crashes?
donaldathome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:23 PM   #4
donaldathome
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
... and then my vidio card died. So I decided to try everything at once.

I installed an Nvidia GTX 560 TI
Uninstalled TAR and Empire
Installed Empire from disc and waited for the Steam file to load
Verify Files for Shogun
Verify Files for Napoleon
Verify Files for Empire (just in case)
Reboot
Everything played (Wooo Hoooo!!)
Turned off virus protection
Reinstalled TAR (fingers crossed)
Turned on virus protection
Everything still works.

Musta been the dieing vidio card.
donaldathome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:44 PM   #5
donaldathome
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
No it was not the video card. The game worked for one session. The very next day the same problem came back again.

How can one game crashing take three games off line?
donaldathome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 07:00 AM   #6
omnash
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
I have a problem with ETW suddenly crashing to desktop too. I've never had any problems in the past, and now ETW keeps trying to receive incoming internet connections and crashes to desktop. What's going on?
omnash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:59 AM   #7
goodboy2_2001
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Total War Empire and Napoleon crash on me too

I have the same problems too and it all started near the end of April 2012. Not sure if it is Sega doing something for causing these crashes, a virus in Steam or something else. I have installed the games a number of times and only may play for 10 minutes before crashing or less, it turns the computer off for me too which is really odd. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Ive had the games for 2 years now and they ran perfectly until last month. thanks for any help.
goodboy2_2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 03:05 PM   #8
Rakhilim
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 21
Posts: 224
Have same problem here. Every TW game stopped launching. The Can't Find Steam error or other crashes, still, all other games in Steam run great.

SEGA, handle this annoying problem or refund! I have 0 hours played since the purchase of complete pack, because NONE OF THEM WORK!
Rakhilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 09:02 AM   #9
Soyaman
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 36
Similar issue.

I had no problem a couple of months back, it could be a driver / patch update that has ruined something.

Localizing the issue would be very much appreciated (CA / SEGA)
Soyaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:46 PM   #10
Poeticider
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Have the same issue. Its clearly graphics related, becuase of when the crashes happen. I was playing TWE, in the middle of a battle the game froze and i had to ctrl+alt+del to close the program. Since then i have been unable to get on TWE, NTW, AND TWS 2. MTW 2 works fine.

Like most of the others here i've had the games for a long time with no problems until now.

My persumption is that the 3 newer games all work on the same engine, but other than that i'm stumped. Suggestions?
Poeticider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Empire: Total War


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.