Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > ORION: Dino Horde

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 07:37 AM   #1
Joe0x7F
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
How to use a password to connect to a server?

Hello,

We are running a Dino Beatdown server and are using the 'connect <ipaddress>' command to connect to that server, but if there is a password set on that server, then we cannot get in.


Commands like,

connect ipaddress password

do not work.


Any idea how to set the password in the Dino Beatdown clients so we can have a private match?

Thanks!
Joe0x7F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:22 AM   #2
falquinho
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
is there a way to connect via IP? o.O
please tell me how. i've been trying to play with my friends but
never able to find the created game in the list
falquinho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:27 AM   #3
Forblaze7
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 282
Posts: 1,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by falquinho View Post
is there a way to connect via IP? o.O
please tell me how. i've been trying to play with my friends but
never able to find the created game in the list
Open the console with the tilde (~) key (next to the 1 key on a qwerty keyboard) and type "open <IP address>" w/o quotes. The IP address must, obviously, be the public address.
Forblaze7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:44 AM   #4
Keysersöze
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 31
type "open <ip> password"
Keysersöze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:13 AM   #5
Joe0x7F
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keysersöze View Post
type "open <ip> password"
Are you sure about this command syntax? We tried this and it did not seem to work.

Last edited by Joe0x7F: 05-06-2012 at 09:15 AM.
Joe0x7F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:15 AM   #6
Joe0x7F
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forblaze7 View Post
Open the console with the tilde (~) key (next to the 1 key on a qwerty keyboard) and type "open <IP address>" w/o quotes. The IP address must, obviously, be the public address.
If your friend(s) are on the same subnet as you which usually means in the same house, then they can use the local ip address and not the public one.
Joe0x7F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:16 AM   #7
DPrassel
 
Spiral Game Studio
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 347
Posts: 1,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe0x7F View Post
If your friend(s) are on the same subnet as you which usually means in the same house, then they can use the local ip address and not the public one.
This is an issue currently plaguing the release build. It will be sorted I was able to only connect to one passworded server by receiving an invite from my friend hosting it from OUTSIDE of Steam via the Steam Friends list and typing in a password there.
DPrassel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:29 AM   #8
Keysersöze
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe0x7F View Post
Are you sure about this command syntax? We tried this and it did not seem to work.
Yes. but it looks like david said this is broken. what a shock.
Keysersöze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > ORION: Dino Horde


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.