Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 03:27 AM   #1
PIEDPIPER85
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Posts: 75
Optical Drive not showing up in Bios Asus p8z77 Deluxe)

Hello everyone. I setup my first PC build and I have run into a little snag. I have 4 HDD and and SSD hooked up to the sata ports on the motherboard as well as a Lite-on drive. I have the red cable which is at the front of my HAF 932 case plugged into one of the sata ports as well. When I get into the bios the only thing I see is the samsung ssd and no optical drive so that I can install windows. Could anyone let me know what the issue may be?
My drive is able to open and it's lit green when it's powered on. I put in the disc but no go. By the way my connectors to the drive are in place securely as I have opened the case up several times to ensure that. I gather I have obviously missed something.

Last edited by PIEDPIPER85: 05-11-2012 at 03:30 AM.
PIEDPIPER85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:32 AM   #2
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
mobo spec's may help..

I assume you set the HDD's/SSD to AHCI for the SSD, if there is another controller ie marvel make sure its set to IDE and the CD/DVD drive is plugged in to that controllers Sata Port
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:55 AM   #3
TeKraken
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7355
Posts: 7,685
If you are installing Windows onto the SSD you want to remove all of your HDDs first anyway.

Then attach all the drives afterwards.


See if that makes a difference.
TeKraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:57 AM   #4
PIEDPIPER85
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg_7_of_9 View Post
mobo spec's may help..

I assume you set the HDD's/SSD to AHCI for the SSD, if there is another controller ie marvel make sure its set to IDE and the CD/DVD drive is plugged in to that controllers Sata Port
I'm a noob (first time build), so could you please enlighten me as how to do that?
PIEDPIPER85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:59 AM   #5
PIEDPIPER85
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeKraken View Post
If you are installing Windows onto the SSD you want to remove all of your HDDs first anyway.

Then attach all the drives afterwards.


See if that makes a difference.
I'll try that when I get in. I was wondering if it made a difference where the sata cables were plugged in? I have the ssd in 6gb slots as well the hdd(s). Should my optical drive be plugged into any particular one?
PIEDPIPER85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:07 AM   #6
TeKraken
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7355
Posts: 7,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIEDPIPER85 View Post
I'll try that when I get in. I was wondering if it made a difference where the sata cables were plugged in? I have the ssd in 6gb slots as well the hdd(s). Should my optical drive be plugged into any particular one?
You want the SSD on one of the Grey Intel sata3 ports.

You will want to connect the eSata cable from your case to the RED sata connector on the motherboard
(The eSata ports on this board do not support ATAPI devices.)

The rest wont (read shouldn't) matter.

Which colour sata port do you have the optical drive on?
TeKraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:20 AM   #7
PIEDPIPER85
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeKraken View Post
You want the SSD on one of the Grey Intel sata3 ports.

You will want to connect the eSata cable from your case to the RED sata connector on the motherboard
(The eSata ports on this board do not support ATAPI devices.)

The rest wont (read shouldn't) matter.

Which colour sata port do you have the optical drive on?
The deluxe motherboard has 4 light blue, 2 white (grey) and 2 dark blue and the sticker on top the dark blues say ssd caching. I see no red sata connector.
PIEDPIPER85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:34 AM   #8
caveman26
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2239
Posts: 4,626
If you have a usb stick Microsoft have a tool that let's you put an image of Windows Vista/7 on the stick and you can install from that

With the dvd go back to basics unplug everything but the dvd and see if it shows up in the BIOS
, if not use q diff power for it and another SATA cable and port on your mobo
caveman26 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:44 AM   #9
TeKraken
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7355
Posts: 7,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIEDPIPER85 View Post
The deluxe motherboard has 4 light blue, 2 white (grey) and 2 dark blue and the sticker on top the dark blues say ssd caching. I see no red sata connector.
Ah the red ones are on the back IO plate... ignore those then.
TeKraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 05:03 AM   #10
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
e-sata does not require a special motherboard connection id read the manual and use the non intel controller if you have one..
Run the intel controller as AHCI

List ya dame mobo model too P8Z77-V DELUXE or this P8Z77-I DELUXE as I said earlier spec's may help

Ok I figure U have the V deluxe

Id put the CD/DVD on the Marvell® PCIe 9128 controller :
2 x SATA 6Gb/s port(s), navy blue

SSD in the Intel Gray sata ports
Hdd's in light blue

go into the bios set AHCI for the intel controller and IDE for the G-bit Marvel controller

Pray ASUS have fixed there BIOS as there where some reports of the marvel controller not liking DVD drive's yet GB board's with the same controller don't have this issue

Last edited by borg_7_of_9: 05-11-2012 at 05:10 AM.
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:16 PM   #11
PIEDPIPER85
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Posts: 75
Silly me! I forgot to plug in the sata cable to the motherboard. Sorry for the inconvenience everyone, but thank you once again to all who provided help.
PIEDPIPER85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:24 PM   #12
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
lol /thread
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.