Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings, The

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2012, 09:57 PM   #16
Sm0
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 54
Posts: 231
If you guys want to make it REALLY easy. Choose "No" when steambot installer pops up.
Sm0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 05:29 AM   #17
Draake
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
From another thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Who Cares View Post
Another solution involves a registry hack.

open regedit and go to (on 32 bit XP that is):

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Valve\Steam\Apps\20920

Should show:
default REG_SZ (value not set)
DirectX Reg_DWORD 0x00000001 (1)

Need to add
dotNetFX40 Reg_DWORD 0x00000001 (1)
vcredist Reg_DWORD 0x00000001 (1)

Adding a value:
right click, select new, select DWORD
fill in the name of the value, double click and fill in 1
For 64-bit win7 it's:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Valve\Stea m\Apps\20920
Draake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:48 PM   #18
Trision
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Thanks for the tip! It worked for me.

EDIT: (above post worked)
Trision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 05:25 PM   #19
lyle_hatt
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 2
Okay, I have almost no tech knowledge and was getting this error but I fixed it:

go to your Witcher 2 folder, there will be a file called runasadmin.vdf, open it with notepad

there will just be one long line of text
look for "vcredist 1"
change the 1 to a 0, save it. Right click the file, click properties, make it "read-only".
That worked for me.
lyle_hatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:04 PM   #20
Incindre
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draake View Post
From another thread:


For 64-bit win7 it's:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Valve\Stea m\Apps\20920
I ING LOVE YOU!
Incindre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 11:09 PM   #21
Sygnus21
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 17
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyle_hatt View Post
go to your Witcher 2 folder, there will be a file called runasadmin.vdf, open it with notepad

there will just be one long line of text
look for "vcredist 1"
change the 1 to a 0, save it. Right click the file, click properties, make it "read-only".
That worked for me.
This works as well and is much easier than messing with registry keys. I just tried it and it does work, and stick.

Anyway to find "vcredist 1" open the file as stated above, make sure your cursor is at the top of the page and click Edit, Find and type/paste in "vcredist 1" without the quotes and go from there (above instructions).

Quick, easy, and painless.

Later.
Sygnus21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:11 AM   #22
enkfayeh
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 58
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyle_hatt View Post
Okay, I have almost no tech knowledge and was getting this error but I fixed it:

go to your Witcher 2 folder, there will be a file called runasadmin.vdf, open it with notepad

there will just be one long line of text
look for "vcredist 1"
change the 1 to a 0, save it. Right click the file, click properties, make it "read-only".
That worked for me.
This works !!
Ty xD
+1 rep
enkfayeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:08 PM   #23
One Two Three
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
The Solution

I discovered a real fix - not just a workaround - for the first time setup bug.

In short: Uninstall and reinstall .Net 4.0. That's it.

Specifically:
  1. In the Windows Control Panel, open Programs and Features (Win7/Vista) or Add or Remove Programs (XP).
  2. Uninstall Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 Extended (choose to reboot later).
  3. Uninstall Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 Client Profile.
  4. Reboot.
  5. Install Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0. There is a download link on this page on the official Witcher website, under the heading "Reinstalling and Fixing .Net Framework 4."
  6. Reboot.
  7. Run Microsoft Update and install updates for .NET 4.0. There will be a bunch and they take a little while to install.
  8. Reboot one last time.
  9. Run The Witcher 2.

This completely fixed the problem for me and it doesn't involve altering game files or messing with the registry. Huzzah!

It might be worth noting that I'm running version 3.1 of the game, which was just released. The 3.1 update was supposed to fix the setup/.Net bug, but it didn't. However, for all I know, you might need to be on version 3.1 in order for this .Net reinstallation fix to work. Steam should update the game automatically, but if you want to confirm that your copy has been updated, look at the "date modified" for witcher2.exe. For version 3.1, it will say May 18, 2012. The file is in Steam\steamapps\common\the witcher2\bin.

Cheers.
One Two Three is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 09:02 PM   #24
Sygnus21
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 17
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by One Two Three View Post
I discovered a real fix - not just a workaround - for the first time setup bug.

In short: Uninstall and reinstall .Net 4.0. That's it.

Specifically:
  1. In the Windows Control Panel, open Programs and Features (Win7/Vista) or Add or Remove Programs (XP).
  2. Uninstall Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 Extended (choose to reboot later).
  3. Uninstall Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0 Client Profile.
  4. Reboot.
  5. Install Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0. There is a download link on this page on the official Witcher website, under the heading "Reinstalling and Fixing .Net Framework 4."
  6. Reboot.
  7. Run Microsoft Update and install updates for .NET 4.0. There will be a bunch and they take a little while to install.
  8. Reboot one last time.
  9. Run The Witcher 2.

This completely fixed the problem for me and it doesn't involve altering game files or messing with the registry. Huzzah!

It might be worth noting that I'm running version 3.1 of the game, which was just released. The 3.1 update was supposed to fix the setup/.Net bug, but it didn't. However, for all I know, you might need to be on version 3.1 in order for this .Net reinstallation fix to work. Steam should update the game automatically, but if you want to confirm that your copy has been updated, look at the "date modified" for witcher2.exe. For version 3.1, it will say May 18, 2012. The file is in Steam\steamapps\common\the witcher2\bin.

Cheers.
And if that doesn't work, never did work for me, try this fix here - http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...1#post30811390. Very simple. Make sure you have the latest patch for the game though (1.3).
Sygnus21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings, The


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.