Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Source DS (Windows)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2012, 11:06 AM   #16
kakkerlak
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2004
Reputation: 2165
Posts: 24,008
sure that will work.

you probably just need to edit that config file that gets generated automaticly.
with a good ftp client you can even right click the file and select edit there.
kakkerlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:09 AM   #17
Wendigo
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 63
Posts: 527
what is name of a good and popular ftp client? The program I download "smart FTP" sucks.
Wendigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:15 AM   #18
kakkerlak
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2004
Reputation: 2165
Posts: 24,008
filezilla or coffeecup maybe but smartFTP worked fine for me.

I am useing flashFXP myself
kakkerlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:22 AM   #19
Wendigo
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 63
Posts: 527
btw what config file are you referring to? Do you mean if a round restarts, everything will be back to stock?

I was going to pm the staff at gameservers, with an reply like this:

"Hi again. Sorry for making the same request again.
But last time, I requested this here to be installed https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=889437

Everything is fine ingame. But I need to edit how and what the mod loads. I wan't to buff the special infected only, not survivors. So if I request you guys to reinstall it, is there any way via FTP or something like that, where I can manually edit the mod, to play with in the server?

the files needed for the mod, were:
-translations.zip
-perkmod2.sp"
Wendigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:26 AM   #20
kakkerlak
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2004
Reputation: 2165
Posts: 24,008
I am still talking about the perk plugin.
Quote:
But acording to the instructions for the perk mod, I should be able to see a certain file in my cfg. folder. But its just not there.
"A cfg file should automatically be generated in 'steamapps\common\left 4 dead\left4dead\cfg\sourcemod', named 'perkmod.cfg'"
no it will not reset because of a round change unless you dont have a config file and set the cvars trough the console.
kakkerlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:43 PM   #21
Wendigo
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 63
Posts: 527
How am I suppose to edit the "perkmod.cfg" when the mod is not on my pc, but installed directly into the server?

Is this where one of those FTP client program, enters the picture? Like drag it out from the server to pc, edit it, then drag it back in?

Also another thing. I found some ways at https://developer.valvesoftware.com/..._of_L4D2_Cvars to buff the witch. How do I implant all of those commands, to get activated on the server?
Wendigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:47 PM   #22
kakkerlak
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2004
Reputation: 2165
Posts: 24,008
I tought we crossed that bridge allready.

I posted this before that you need to edit the server side config and yes you use FTP.

I am out now I hate repeats.
kakkerlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Source DS (Windows)


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.