Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
Basti511
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Steam Webpages not even loading

Hi there I have for the past few weeks not been able to load any Valve associated website to be more precise Steam website on my pc. Doeesn't matter whether I use IE, CHROME or FIREFOX. There always appears to be a Gate Way timeout error. This all started about a week ago. Yesterday I still had Steam installed on my computer and Steam Store page in Steam would also not load. Any other game website by Valve also doesn't load. THis error always appears:

Gateway Timeout
The following error occurred:
[code=GATEWAY_TIMEOUT] A gateway timeout occurred. The server is unreachable. Retry the request.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please contact the administrator.

So today I checked if its only like that on my computer, so I tried loading the Steam website on my parents computer and it gave me the same error. Back when Steam was still installed on my computer which was 3 days ago, the Steam Store page could never load in Steam itself. Every other website works with my internet, literally!

These links are discussions on the same problem as I have, I put it there just to give you a bit of background information

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/ [...] 706AAcHDit

http://forums.steampowered.com/for [...] ?t=1607350


Sebastian
Please can someone help me

Sebastian
Basti511 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:00 AM   #2
kakkerlak
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2004
Reputation: 2165
Posts: 24,008
I gave a reply for that problem here
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2704325
kakkerlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:21 AM   #3
jgperuherjpmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 41
Posts: 95
Open cmd.exe (WinKey+R -> cmd -> Enter), type:

nslookup steampowered.com

What result do you see? Maybe you have wrong DNS setup or host file corrupted?
jgperuherjpmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:31 AM   #4
bha2597
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgperuherjpmer View Post
Open cmd.exe (WinKey+R -> cmd -> Enter), type:

nslookup steampowered.com

What result do you see? Maybe you have wrong DNS setup or host file corrupted?
It could be that
bha2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:57 AM   #5
kakkerlak
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2004
Reputation: 2165
Posts: 24,008
click the blue stuff :P
but thanks for reinforcing my suggestions.
kakkerlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.