Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2012, 08:25 PM   #1
scavengerspc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 60
Gaming on a less powerful system

There are plenty of reasons for using a lower power PC.
Maybe its a laptop, or a parents\kids computer. Or maybe you just cant afford anything higher level right now.

Lets list our less capable systems, some basic specs (CPU, motherboard, Ram and GPU). Just list the game or benching program used, some bench results or just some FRAPS runs.

I will edit this post to add games and their benchmarks as I get a chance to test them.

In my case I will list my HTPC:

Intel Pentium 2160 Dual Core Wolfdale 1 meg cache @ 2.8 Ghz (From 1,8 ghz stock).
Ultra cheap Asrock G31 motherboard with very basic OC features.
2 gig DDR2 memory.
$57 Radeon HD 6570. 1 Gig DDR3 128 bit.

Zombie Shooter 2 and Alien Shooter 2 runs measured with FRAPS.
4x aa 16x af 720P
Both could hang around 260 fps with a low of 89 and an average of 209.

Return to Castle Wolfenstein (4x aa 16x af) 720P according to FRAPS was at its max framerate of 90 fps for most of the time with a low of 68 and an average of 85.

MSI Kombustor 2.2: http://www.ozone3d.net/msi_kombustor...0.php?id=53209

Dave
scavengerspc is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 12:33 AM   #2
caveman26
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2239
Posts: 4,604
you would have to test your games at stock speeds as ppl with the same setup might not want/or can hit the same o/c as you
caveman26 is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 12:52 AM   #3
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman26 View Post
you would have to test your games at stock speeds as ppl with the same setup might not want/or can hit the same o/c as you
Exactly! Going from 1.8ghz to 2.8ghz would yield a substantial boost in framerate. Basically, by doing this, you have eliminated a probable cpu bottleneck and invalidated the point which you are trying to make. Lower to stock speed and bench....
HL2-4-Life is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 03:04 PM   #4
scavengerspc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 60
You can overclock the out of a Pentium 4. And its still a Pentium 4.
Even low end can be tweaked, and if its not possible then results are still results.

And I am not trying to make a point with this thread really. Just let people show what they are getting out of what they have is the deal.

Dave

Last edited by scavengerspc: 05-23-2012 at 03:06 PM.
scavengerspc is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 10:56 PM   #5
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 742
Posts: 7,384
Not everyone is going to be able to overclock. Some cheaper set ups will not include it. Stock is a must. It serves as a minimum reference point
seseorang is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 01:53 AM   #6
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,238
Heck, I built an FX4100 + Asus M5A97 EVO rig to see if the much despised BD CPU can handle games, it did so admirably....and it was cheaper than any i5/P67 combo I could come up with. In fact, I liked it so much, I sold them and replaced them with an FX8120 + Asus Crosshair V Formula setup and it is sa-weet! But the point I'm trying to make is that a cheap AMD CPU plus mobo combo can do the job well enough, at a lower cost.
HL2-4-Life is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 02:39 AM   #7
Mr SmokesAlot
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 209
Posts: 1,167
My single core lasted until last year just fine. Newer games however started requiring multi core so I had to upgrade. As long as you have a low end gaming grade graphics card and a dual core at least, you'll be fine.

Games are absolutely playable on non gaming grade graphics cards, however they will have garbage framerate for the most part.

/me starts to wonder why people buy i7's for gaming
Mr SmokesAlot is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 10:41 AM   #8
CrawlingChaos
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 118
Posts: 520
The Pentium g850 is an excellent CPU for gaming, and only runs about $80-90. And is also 1155 socket, SandyBridge architecture.

My rig is essentially a Nvidia 2 gig 560, paired with the G850 and i run BF3 at max with FPS of upper 50's.
CrawlingChaos is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 05:55 PM   #9
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawlingChaos View Post
My rig is essentially a Nvidia 2 gig 560, paired with the G850 and i run BF3 at max with FPS of upper 50's.
By 'max', do you mean 'Ultra' setting with 4xMSAA?
HL2-4-Life is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 08:54 PM   #10
Blinkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 69
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawlingChaos View Post
The Pentium g850 is an excellent CPU for gaming, and only runs about $80-90. And is also 1155 socket, SandyBridge architecture.

My rig is essentially a Nvidia 2 gig 560, paired with the G850 and i run BF3 at max with FPS of upper 50's.
I don't think so Tim.
Blinkie is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:59 PM   #11
cannondale06
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 310
Posts: 1,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawlingChaos View Post
The Pentium g850 is an excellent CPU for gaming, and only runs about $80-90. And is also 1155 socket, SandyBridge architecture.

My rig is essentially a Nvidia 2 gig 560, paired with the G850 and i run BF3 at max with FPS of upper 50's.
sorry but that is bull unless you are at low res. and in multi player your cpu would not let you average upper 50s no matter what resolution you are at.
cannondale06 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 10:26 PM   #12
venomblade89
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 332
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by HL2-4-Life View Post
By 'max', do you mean 'Ultra' setting with 4xMSAA?
Yea, definitely not. There are so many people with varying definitions of "max". I'd like to know this as well. Also, what res? 50fps at ultra preset with a 560, impossible, well maybe at 720p and below.
venomblade89 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:41 PM   #13
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by venomblade89 View Post
Yea, definitely not. There are so many people with varying definitions of "max". I'd like to know this as well. Also, what res? 50fps at ultra preset with a 560, impossible, well maybe at 720p and below.
The term 'max' has been bandied about so often, it has become almost meaningless as various peeps differ on their definition of it. When I say I play BF3 maxed out, I do mean each and every ingame option has been maxed to the hilt. My single HD7970 can do BF3 @1920x1200, Ultra setting + 4xMSAA, post AA, whatever that can be maxed, is maxed out. That is my definition of 'max'. For Metro 2033, even with 2x HD7970, I would say 'near max' even though I have it at Very High, Tessellation + DoF + 4xMSAA @1920x1200, that's because I have disabled Advanced PhysX. If one option isn't enabled or maxed out, it obviously isn't 'max'.

Last edited by HL2-4-Life: 05-24-2012 at 11:43 PM.
HL2-4-Life is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 07:49 AM   #14
CrawlingChaos
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 118
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannondale06 View Post
sorry but that is bull unless you are at low res. and in multi player your cpu would not let you average upper 50s no matter what resolution you are at.
Wrong... Res is 1600x900. And yes it does.

To answer the gentleman above, no i do only run with 2x AA, not 4x.

EDIT: SYSTEM:

Intell Pentium G850 (sandy bridge)
FoxConn Rattler MOBO
Nvidia 2 gig 560
Creative SB fatality soundcard
8 gigs corsair DDR3 1333
2 WD 500gb 7200RPM HD's (SATA)
1 seagate 500 gb 7200 rpm HD (SATA)
1 LG DVD RW

Last edited by CrawlingChaos: 05-25-2012 at 07:58 AM.
CrawlingChaos is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 08:04 AM   #15
Blinkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 69
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawlingChaos View Post
Wrong... Res is 1600x900. And yes it does.

To answer the gentleman above, no i do only run with 2x AA, not 4x.

EDIT: SYSTEM:

Intell Pentium G850 (sandy bridge)
FoxConn Rattler MOBO
Nvidia 2 gig 560
Creative SB fatality soundcard
8 gigs corsair DDR3 1333
2 WD 500gb 7200RPM HD's (SATA)
1 seagate 500 gb 7200 rpm HD (SATA)
1 LG DVD RW
My missus' rig has an overclocked i5 760 (thats a quad core) and a 6870, so pretty much the same GPU, but a much more powerful CPU, and at 1440 x 900, with BF3 at full settings, it usually got 40-50FPS.
Blinkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.