Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2012, 12:41 AM   #1711
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by iAlexx View Post
i re-do all of my cabling today, this is as good as it gets whit all of my hardware ATM but i think is pretty good

Front

Back

thoughts???
All your hardware lol there's really not much in there but yeah looks fairly good

I was expecting a lot more hardware though...
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 05:01 AM   #1712
iAlexx
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 13
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg_7_of_9 View Post
All your hardware lol there's really not much in there but yeah looks fairly good

I was expecting a lot more hardware though...
i was talking in the sense of changing it, like having black sata cables or a better PSU which of course i do not have but that's going to change when i upgrade most of my hardware in the future

Last edited by iAlexx: 05-21-2012 at 07:07 AM.
iAlexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 05:48 AM   #1713
Doc_Gonzo
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 848
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by iAlexx View Post
i re-do all of my cabling today, this is as good as it gets whit all of my hardware ATM but i think is pretty good

Front

Back

thoughts???
The back is very nice and neat, much more so than mine, lol. I did try with mine but there's so much room between the case and the side panel that I got away with just shutting the side and forgetting about it
Doc_Gonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:18 AM   #1714
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,248
Very nice work there, iAlexx, I'm going to try to emulate that....key word is 'try' that is. I'll be getting a Sharkoon T28 Red case tomorrow, and I'll be transferring my recent AMD build from my Tt Mozart TX to this new case. Wish me luck because I truly suck at cable management...
HL2-4-Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:33 AM   #1715
iAlexx
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 13
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by HL2-4-Life View Post
Very nice work there, iAlexx, I'm going to try to emulate that....key word is 'try' that is. I'll be getting a Sharkoon T28 Red case tomorrow, and I'll be transferring my recent AMD build from my Tt Mozart TX to this new case. Wish me luck because I truly suck at cable management...
protip: get a ton of zip ties + spare time

i probably put more that 20 zip ties and 2 or 3 twist ties in some places to be as flat as possible whit the tray, if it wasn't by the sata cables (both data and pwr) that i need for the HDD the side panel will close perfectly but anyways god luck

as a side note i want to change my PSU whit something modular i was thinking on a HX 750 also adding black sata cables it will make the system looks even better until a mayor upgrade

new front picture whit better lighting since the old one where a few thing that were harder to see

Last edited by rotNdude: 05-21-2012 at 07:51 AM.
iAlexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 08:26 AM   #1716
Sam_A_1992
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 122
Posts: 910
Ive been meaning to post my pics of my 1st build, dont think i did to badly, the wires to the right look messy but they are organised and i couldnt do much more with them.

Specs are i5 3570k with hyper 212 evo, corsair ax850, 16gb 1866mhz gskill ripjaws, asus p8z77 v, sapphire hd 7850 2gb, 128gb crucial m4 ssd (os) and a 1tb sata 3 WD caviar black in a NZXT phantom 410

Front
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...sc00093jc.jpg/

Back
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/171/dsc00088w.jpg/
Sam_A_1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 12:13 PM   #1717
Loopzz
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 56
Posts: 303
Well it works! :)

I upgraded ps and video card and couldn't fit everything in so...
I also had to move the disc drive down one slot to even get this far.
Yes I am building a proper one eventually. This was a pre-build (my last!)I think I voided the HP warranty, lol!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/679233/comp.JPG


Phenom II X6 1045T 2.70 ghz
ATI 6870
XFS Pro 650 w ps
Foxconn 2AB1
Acer X203H 23" lcd
8 gigs DDR-3
Windows 7 64 bit
Loopzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 01:21 PM   #1718
iAlexx
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 13
Posts: 245
^^ at least put a zip tie or something into that bundle of wire please

BTW this thread is called "Post your excellent wire management!" just to let you know
iAlexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 02:03 PM   #1719
SgtPinback
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 59
Posts: 92
Cool Zalman Z9 / GA-970A-UD3 / x6 1045t & 212 / Vengenance LP 16G / 5670 / CX430 v2

So my local Micro Center has a killer deal for May, the X6 1045t for $100 and $40 off select mobo's - and not to mention the Zalman Z9 for $35 & $10 MIR... just could not pass up.

side

side / front / top

side / front

side / bottom

side w/ panel

Not a bad case for $25 after rebate. I did run into one gotcha - had to bend the rim of the rear edge of the rear cpu-bracket-hole to make the 212 bracket fit (was hitting the bottom of the case, causing a misalignment of the rear i/o panel, you can see my wrench scuff marks)...

cpu-bracket-hole-mod

Phenom X6 1045T/Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 $160 ($10 MIR)
Corsair Vengenance LP 16G (2x8) CL10 $116
Zalman Z9 $35 ($10 MIR)
Corsair CX430 v2 $45 ($20 MIR)
CM Hyper 212+ $26
LG dvd-rw $16

Total ~$400 ($40 MIR)


These I already had / reused, estimated value:

Sapphire 5670 1G/GDDR5 $60
Seagate 1Tb pull/refurb ~$100

roughly $560 said and done, $520 if I ever get the rebates lol... Yes that is an obscene amount of memory, my intention is to run about 4 VMs under virtualbox concurently with the base OS (used LMDE/XFCE this time). So far nearly a dozen people told me the PSU is too weak, yet the PSU calc puts it at 260w min / 310w recomended <shrug> IMO it will work just fine. Even at 6 HDDs I am still 360W recommended, if I decide to make it my fileserver I will probably migrate all the hdds to it and put it on my kill-a-watt and see what it is actually pulling.

cheers!
SgtPinback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:44 PM   #1720
Loopzz
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 56
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by iAlexx View Post
^^ at least put a zip tie or something into that bundle of wire please

BTW this thread is called "Post your excellent wire management!" just to let you know
Didn't mean to offend, just a bit of comic relief
Loopzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 03:56 PM   #1721
iAlexx
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 13
Posts: 245
^^ nah NP
iAlexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 08:41 AM   #1722
HL2-4-Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 953
Posts: 7,248
Actually, the thread title should be, "Post your average to excellent wire management!".....seriously! I'm sometimes reluctant to post pics of my rigs due to thread title.......quite stressful actually. Anyway, turns out the Sharkoon T28 case is a mid tower, not full tower as I'd thought it to be (damn rookie mistake on my part), found out only when I'd opened the case. Anywayz, here are some pics..
A pic from the front, what the case looks like as a whole
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...523_210253.jpg
A shot with side panel on
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...523_210309.jpg
A shot with side panel off
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...523_210445.jpg
HL2-4-Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:29 PM   #1723
Snuffleupagus
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 126
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtPinback View Post
So my local Micro Center has a killer deal for May....
the Zalman Z9 for $35 & $10 MIR... just could not pass up.
I just bought the same exact case because it was such a steal for that price!


Here are the pics of my cable routing. It didn't turn out as clean as I really would have liked it to, but the Corsair GS800 has soooo much cabling that it's honestly a Pain In The A** to route all of them properly, unless you're in a Full Tower case.

Inside of the PC
http://i.imgur.com/StSzB.jpg

Backside of the PC
http://i.imgur.com/yN8hA.jpg
Snuffleupagus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 03:02 PM   #1724
iAlexx
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 13
Posts: 245
^^ what did you use to place the SSD in the back, velcro or it supported by the case????
iAlexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 03:10 PM   #1725
Sam_A_1992
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 122
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam_A_1992 View Post
Ive been meaning to post my pics of my 1st build, dont think i did to badly, the wires to the right look messy but they are organised and i couldnt do much more with them.

Specs are i5 3570k with hyper 212 evo, corsair ax850, 16gb 1866mhz gskill ripjaws, asus p8z77 v, sapphire hd 7850 2gb, 128gb crucial m4 ssd (os) and a 1tb sata 3 WD caviar black in a NZXT phantom 410

Front
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...sc00093jc.jpg/

Back
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/171/dsc00088w.jpg/
What do people think of my first time build? I dont think the wiring is to bad.
Sam_A_1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.