Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Zombie Driver

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2012, 06:02 PM   #1
Streaks
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 68
Posts: 799
Game works...except for gamepad. :(

I got this game at a great price of $2, along with its DLC for $0.40 and ANOMALY for $4. Awesome prices for the quality of the games!

But now I have a problem. Gamepad doesn't work.

I mean I can calibrate the gamepad in Win7 and all that (Start->Games->Tools pulldown menu). Everything works perfectly in the calibration window.

Its a generic gamepad (HID-compliant) that looks like a PS2 controller but with 6 right buttons numbered 1 to 6.

It really doesn't work in the game though. And seriously, that is why it sucks.

This is the reason why I stayed away from games that are best controlled by gamepads; because despite what "plug & play" promises, its a broken promise.

Any help would be nice.

UPDATE: I know that this issue is a very old one. I tried googling solutions to this problem, but again, my google-fu sucks and I never truly got any solutions.
Streaks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
T@F
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 1868
Posts: 10,339
I use a xbox360 pad and it works fine.
maybe it's just for xbox360 pads rather than generic ones.
T@F is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 07:12 PM   #3
Scorcher24
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 678
Posts: 3,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by T@F View Post
I use a xbox360 pad and it works fine.
maybe it's just for xbox360 pads rather than generic ones.
Nope, that is not true. Please stop spreading such rumors.
All you need is a XInput compatible Gamepad.
I have a Logitech F510 and it works with all Games that use the XInput API.

@OP
If you don't have a XInput Gamepad, you might want to use a program that maps keys to the gamepad.
But the F510 ain't expensive or the F310.
And they are like Playstation Gamepads.
Scorcher24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 07:20 PM   #4
T@F
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 1868
Posts: 10,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorcher24 View Post
Nope, that is not true. Please stop spreading such rumors.
All you need is a XInput compatible Gamepad.
I have a Logitech F510 and it works with all Games that use the XInput API.

@OP
If you don't have a XInput Gamepad, you might want to use a program that maps keys to the gamepad.
But the F510 ain't expensive or the F310.
And they are like Playstation Gamepads.
I was talking about generic ones like the ones not supporting XInput.

oh yeah XInput is an API that allows applications to receive input from the Xbox 360 Controller for Windows. Controller rumble effects and voice input and output are supported.you just have a generic one that can support that.
so i'm am tec right then.you need an xbox360 pad or a joypad that supports xinput.
(not many generic pads support that anyway)
so i was not spreading rumours but the truth.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

[edit]i just checked that pad out pmsl buttons YAXB so plz before you slate someone get ya facts right it even has xbox360 button layout.
you have to flick a switch on the back to copy the way the 360 joypad works anyway.
just because it's not made by microsoft,it still working the way a 360 joypad works once the switch is flicked.

So yes to use a joypad you need an xbox360 joypad or a generic one that acts like a 360 joypad.

Last edited by T@F: 05-28-2012 at 08:16 PM.
T@F is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:17 PM   #5
Streaks
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 68
Posts: 799
Hmmm...

What programs are there that maps keys to the gamepad? I mean, really, do I need to have such a program? The OS's gamepad calibration function have all the buttons and analog directional sticks mapped out perfectly. I even have both directional sticks calibrated perfectly as well.

I'd like to try installing XInput, but my gamepad is definitely super-generic. Do you think its a good idea? I mean, my gamepad is like, mid-2000-ish. I just stored it well.

See, this is my main point of contention about "Plug & Play" devices and software like Zombie Driver:

Why can't the game (software) access the hardware (gamepad,regardless of brand) if the OS can make it work properly? My OS (Win7) sure can make it work properly. The software should be able to access the device through the OS, right?

But of course, as we all know, it is more complicated than that. "Plug & Play" isn't as simple as it seems.

Sucks.

Last edited by Streaks: 05-28-2012 at 09:22 PM.
Streaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:55 PM   #6
Streaks
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 68
Posts: 799
UPDATE:

Stupid me. I just had to map the keys in the game itself. Having said that, and having played the game using a gamepad....I think I prefer the mouse and keyboard.

DURH!!!!! >_______<'''''''''
Streaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:52 AM   #7
T@F
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 1868
Posts: 10,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Streaks View Post
UPDATE:

Stupid me. I just had to map the keys in the game itself. Having said that, and having played the game using a gamepad....I think I prefer the mouse and keyboard.

DURH!!!!! >_______<'''''''''
Cool most new game you can use any joypad only prob is the trigger buttons you cannot map unless it has XInput option and normally the right thumb stick as well.
But other buttons should be ok.

I find the joypad better tbh,just depends what feels better for you.
T@F is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Zombie Driver


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.