Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2012, 01:14 PM   #1
chocowalnut4
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 4
Posts: 185
64bit on 32bit computer

hello,

i put a 64 bit windows 7 operating system on a 32 bit computer that ran windows vista previously. what is the worst that could happen with this?
chocowalnut4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:16 PM   #2
damaged
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 8793
Posts: 7,278
If it installed successfully, then the CPU is 64-bit, in other words, it's fine.
damaged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:17 PM   #3
dosbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Reputation: 2908
Posts: 8,451
Exactly what hardware does this computer have? Just about every x86 CPU made in the last 8-9 years is 64-bit.
dosbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:23 PM   #4
chocowalnut4
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 4
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosbox View Post
Exactly what hardware does this computer have? Just about every x86 CPU made in the last 8-9 years is 64-bit.
i'm not sure but it is a gateway laptop t-series. the maximum color option is 32 bit though and the other is 16 bit
chocowalnut4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:24 PM   #5
Alshain
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 737
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocowalnut4 View Post
i'm not sure but it is a gateway laptop t-series. the maximum color option is 32 bit though and the other is 16 bit
Color depth has nothing to do with processor architecture. Looks like the Gateway T series used Turion 64 X2 era CPU's. Well after they stopped producing 32-bit CPU's.
Alshain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:26 PM   #6
chocowalnut4
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 4
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alshain View Post
Color depth has nothing to do with processor architecture. Looks like the Gateway T series used Turion 64 X2 era CPU's. Well after they stopped producing 32-bit CPU's.
so everything is fine with my computer then?
chocowalnut4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:27 PM   #7
dosbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Reputation: 2908
Posts: 8,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocowalnut4 View Post
so everything is fine with my computer then?
No. You need a 128-bit OS (64x2)





yes, it's fine
dosbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:27 PM   #8
Alshain
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 737
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocowalnut4 View Post
so everything is fine with my computer then?
Yep. CPU manufacturers were far ahead of the curve on the 64-bit migration. Of course that was sort of necessary before Windows migrated anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosbox View Post
No. You need a 128-bit OS (64x2)

Lol, I know your joking... but your gonna confuse him.
Alshain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 06:17 PM   #9
seseorang
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 748
Posts: 7,385
If you had a genuine 32bit computer, you would NOT be able run the 64bit code. Most modern computers are 64bit, BUT have 32bit software installed and this leads people to think they are 32bit instead.

All the Quad cores, i3, i5, i7 and new laptops are all 64bit. This includes the Mac as well
seseorang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 09:57 AM   #10
RedYellowBlueCR
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 133
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosbox View Post
No. You need a 128-bit OS (64x2)





yes, it's fine
Something tells me we will never see consumer level 128-bit computers giving the nearly infinite amount of RAM that 64-bit can recognize. lol. I about choked when I diddied up that stats to see the deference between 32-bit and 64-bit. lol.
RedYellowBlueCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:57 AM   #11
masterchef341
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 722
Posts: 1,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedYellowBlueCR View Post
Something tells me we will never see consumer level 128-bit computers giving the nearly infinite amount of RAM that 64-bit can recognize. lol. I about choked when I diddied up that stats to see the deference between 32-bit and 64-bit. lol.
Being able to easily access memory in a small number of CPU instructions is one motivation for changes the length of CPU instructions, but it's not impossible to access more than 4 GB of memory on a 32 bit processor.

When processors move to 128 bits, the motivations will not be related to keeping the memory addressing fast and simple. There are other benefits to having longer CPU instructions, because accessing memory by address isn't the only operation CPU's do. They also operate on data. If you increase the instruction size to 128 bits, you can operate on larger numbers (or more precise numbers) in a small number of steps.

Currently, working with data of any type that is more than 64 bits takes many more operations than operating on data that is 64 bits or less on a 64 bit computer. It's not impossible either way, it just takes more steps.

This means that big integers, or extremely accurate floating point numbers (like quad precision floating point), are much slower to work with than 64-bit data types or smaller (because those 64 bit data types can more or less be handled in a single step on a 64 bit cpu).

Redesigning CPUs to handle data in chunks of 128 bits could provide performance benefits to those applications. That will happen when the market demands it.

Hope that helps.

Last edited by masterchef341: 06-02-2012 at 11:00 AM.
masterchef341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 12:29 PM   #12
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10750
Posts: 46,732
This

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2730418
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 03:28 PM   #13
sfade
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 986
Posts: 2,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedYellowBlueCR View Post
Something tells me we will never see consumer level 128-bit computers giving the nearly infinite amount of RAM that 64-bit can recognize. lol. I about choked when I diddied up that stats to see the deference between 32-bit and 64-bit. lol.
Never say never when addressing (haha get it?) the computing market, you might generate your very own '640k' joke.
sfade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.