Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2012, 03:25 PM   #1156
JF171
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 5
Posts: 194
THIS GAME IS NOT ING FIXABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


the only way to solve this problem.....IS TO REMOVE ALL COSMETIC ITEMS FROM GAME!!!!!!!
JF171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 01:30 AM   #1157
impetus
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Post chris's autoexec.cfg helped my FPS a lot!

there is something seriously wrong with the default.cfg file.
this sticky should really have links to chris's config files.

[edit] no antivirus here. i boot a more secure OS for surfing.

i have an old system that used to play TF2 pretty well.
just started playing again and my FPS were around 50-60FPS then dipping into single digits

Windows XP Pro 32bit
DirectX 9.0c
2.4C @ a stable 3.4Ghz
1.5 GiB of ram
Radeon 9800pro 256(R360)@413Mhz/378Mhz
Raptor HD
1280x720 rez


found a link to chris's config files. i'm using the dx9frames config with huge success!
now i'm at 70-80 FPS with dips into the low 60's. i can actually play now!

how to do it. download the config text file you wish to use. make a copy and put it in \Steam\steamapps\YOUR STEAM NAME\team fortress 2\tf\cfg
rename it autoexec.cfg . then start up TF2 and it should load your custom config file. to confirm hit ` and scroll up and you should see something like this...
-------------------------------------------------------
Chris' dx9frames config loaded.
-------------------------------------------------------
Please direct all comments/queries/whatnot to
#christf2 on QuakeNet.

*note you may want to edit them to your liking.
the dx9frames has spray tags disabled. so i moved the // so i can see sprays again.

HTH

Last edited by impetus: 06-26-2012 at 01:37 AM. Reason: antivirus? what's that?
impetus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 11:22 AM   #1158
Durazno
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Posts: 210
Did this last update bring down performance again? Not only on pyroland, but overall I'm getting a lot less fps.
Durazno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 01:24 PM   #1159
Zaqq
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 7
Posts: 418
2 years ago: AA 4x, all on High - I always had 30+ FPS with 32 players.

Now: AA 0, almost all on Medium - I have maximum 35 FPS with 32 players and 15-20 FPS when it's a real blood bath.

The problem is I don't have an Antivirus!
Zaqq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 01:52 PM   #1160
dec2k
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Durazno View Post
Did this last update bring down performance again? Not only on pyroland, but overall I'm getting a lot less fps.
Same here...
dec2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:41 AM   #1161
Indexx
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaqq View Post
2 years ago: AA 4x, all on High - I always had 30+ FPS with 32 players.

Now: AA 0, almost all on Medium - I have maximum 35 FPS with 32 players and 15-20 FPS when it's a real blood bath.
So true
Indexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 12:13 PM   #1162
what dead baby
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by impetus View Post
there is something seriously wrong with the default.cfg file.
this sticky should really have links to chris's config files.
Thank you so much for this link! I went from 20 FPS to upwards of 100!
what dead baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:10 PM   #1163
Neo-Phoenix
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 99
Posts: 1,516
I just looked in the stats folder and there are more then one UserGameStats file.

Do I need to add them all to the scan exceptions list?
Neo-Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 04:17 PM   #1164
minecraft409920
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Anyone know how to do this with Mcafee Security Center 11?
minecraft409920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 07:12 AM   #1165
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo-Phoenix View Post
I just looked in the stats folder and there are more then one UserGameStats file.

Do I need to add them all to the scan exceptions list?
If you just add the entire stats folder to the exceptions list you should be good go.

Personally, I added my entire Steam folder to the exceptions list.
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:30 PM   #1166
z4_
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 3
Posts: 5
How to get a High and Stable FPS in Team Fortress 2(Tf2) for Windows 7

I have a dell L502x with a GT 525m GPU, which is not that good for high end gaming. I searched around the internet and found some things to increase FPS. My fps went from 20-30 to constant 100+ (110 capped). These tools were scattered round the internet (except for a few) so i decided to make a thread where methods for increasing fps and ping were listed

1) Use Chris' Fps config
Highframes- Overall probably the better choice for most people it increases fps substantially but still doesnt look like complete crap
Maxframes- For really old and crappy computers, or for people who dont care about visuals and quality. As chris says on his website, maxframes will not deliver that many for frames from highframes

2)This will shorten the load times for maps (not fps)
It defrags the steam gcf files
follow the links
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...10&postcount=6

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccmoToUgEpo

3) add C:\Program Files\Steam\appcache\stats to anti virus realtime scan exclusions list
C:\Program Files\Steam\appcache\stats
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1093560

4) Swift shader allows 3d to render faster (apparently 100x faster)
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1093560

5)set windows power plan to gaming
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...gs-change.html

6)remove particles
I recommend downloading one of the flamethrower packs on the thread link, and then downloading the ones below which were not in the pack
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=958575
drag the downloaded .pcf to particles folder in tf
the rain and snow remover doesnt work for me (try it in case)

7) working nohats modification
it stops tf2 from rendering hats (hence nohats)
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2041907

8)Install tf2 phongless skins (follow installation instructions)
http://gamebanana.com/skins/95889

9)(optional instead of tf2 phongless model skins) Tom Tallian low poly tf2 modelshttp://tommytallian.blogspot.co.uk/p/low-poly-tf2.html
simply drag the class folders to /teamfortress2/tf/materials/models/player
delete any other class files before copying files

10) http://gamebanana.com/tuts/6903
tweak some launch settings

11) in game console commands
Useful commands that may increase FPS
http://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Li...nsole_commands
removed burning gibs increased my death fps

12) Download steam cleaner by Icepick66
http://gamebanana.com/tools/3595
just select all checkboxes (except for maps)and run cleaner

13)download wlan optimizer
stops windows from searching for available connections in the background while connected
http://www.martin-majowski.de/wlanoptimizer/

14)download and install tcp optimizer
and use optimal settings
for me i used the settings in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZV8OE7xZ1-g as they increased by download speed the most

15) defrag windows
auslogics disk defrag

16)use ccleaner to fix errors in registry and to clean drives
also disable unnecessary startup programs

17) windows readyboost
stick a memory stick in
delete files
right click on memory stick icon and select autoplay
press on readyboost
and dedicate device
this is just to generally improve windows speed

18) overclock gpu using msi afterburner
just google: yourgraphicscard +overclock scores
you will find some good overclock settings which are stable
be careful as you might damage your GPU

19)change windows 7 theme to classic when gaming
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1870410

20)For AVG users change to avast or another AV
for me when i had avg i used to lag more
but with avast its perfect

21)in an autoexec.cfg put fps_max (and then specified fps in number)
This is in chris fps config but uncommented
you have to fiddle and adjust this to make it perfect
analyse your average fps and see what it goes up to
fps and ingame will jitter ingame if you dont get the stable and best cap
for me stable was when i capped fps at 110 and when i went in game my fps was constantly 110 (no changes at all)

22) In steam launch options type in -dxlevel 80 to run in direct x 8 mode
this lowers the quality

If you have any other tips then please post them
please give me any feedback on this thread and your success with these

Last edited by z4_: 07-04-2012 at 08:45 AM.
z4_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 08:57 AM   #1167
GregW177
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 87
I'm sure this has already been said, but it'd be nice to include it in the OP...

If you're using a 64-bit version of Windows, you need to add this instead:
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\appcache\stats
That's where mine ended up at any rate.
GregW177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:41 AM   #1168
Wesley37
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by impetus View Post
it should load your custom config file. to confirm hit ` and scroll up and you should see something like this...
-------------------------------------------------------
Chris' dx9frames config loaded.
-------------------------------------------------------
Did everything. Although, this never did showed up when I checked. Guess not everything can work for every CPU.
Wesley37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 07:41 AM   #1169
SolidSpeerlaiye
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 83
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by z4_ View Post
-snip-
Well thank you, these "tips" dragged my fps down from 100 to like 10 -.-

Last edited by SolidSpeerlaiye: 07-12-2012 at 07:48 AM.
SolidSpeerlaiye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:44 PM   #1170
coldroll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Reputation: 10
Posts: 344
Does this game require you to change your rates to get better ping or no?
coldroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.