Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Filmmaker

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2012, 07:08 PM   #1
JetsamXYZ
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 303
Posts: 2,340
[Suggestion] Support for multiple maps in one video?

(As far as I can tell,) Source Filmmaker does not support using multiple maps in a single project. This means that an entire project has to be done in one map, which would not work well with intricate video ideas that require several sets.

Could it be possible to have a project contain multiple maps, and some sort of tab to switch between the map currently loaded? While you work on the project in one map, parts of the project that aren't situated on that map would be greyed out and uneditable until you switch back to the map that they are appended to.
JetsamXYZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:14 PM   #2
Pistachio
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 137
While that feature would be great, it isn't terribly hard to edit together sessions from different maps using basic video editing programs like vegas, premiere, final cut pro, or avid.

Hell, even After Effects would suffice for splicing together different clips. That's what I'm using
Pistachio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 07:16 PM   #3
Sidec_Ibidis
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 45
I actually use Windows movie maker, even though it's bare minimum it works perfectly.

Though I do admit it is a pain in the butt to create a new session, render the scene and clip it to the other video just for a real quick cut-away moment.
Sidec_Ibidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:04 PM   #4
Dunnerski
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 191
Posts: 1,354
Only suggestion I could have for you is to open up the vmfs, edit out the parts of the maps your not using, splice together the parts of the maps you are and doing it that way if you really don't want to edit the video.
Dunnerski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:25 PM   #5
MigX
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
I've read about SFM having support for multiple maps, but I can't for the life of me find the page I was on.

All you had to do was create a new sequence then load another map.

Really RAM heavy though.

EDIT: Found it

But it involves use of that risky element viewer, not creating a new sequence, my bad.

Last edited by MigX: 07-23-2012 at 09:32 PM.
MigX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:29 PM   #6
Obfuscated
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 62
Posts: 369
Eh. You can do this already.


Each shot can have a different map.

Right click on a shot > Show in Element Viewer > set mapname.

Now SFM will spit out "Wrong map loaded" when you scrub to a shot that needs another map than what's loaded.

Once you render out, the renderer will switch map to the ones each shot require.

/thread

Last edited by Obfuscated: 07-23-2012 at 09:44 PM.
Obfuscated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:39 PM   #7
CrashWhiz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 81
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidec_Ibidis View Post
I actually use Windows movie maker, even though it's bare minimum it works perfectly.
When using it, do you lose any of the video quality? I have a grudge against WMM from past experience because of quality loss.
CrashWhiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:10 PM   #8
Evenios
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obfuscated View Post
Eh. You can do this already.


Each shot can have a different map.

Right click on a shot > Show in Element Viewer > set mapname.

Now SFM will spit out "Wrong map loaded" when you scrub to a shot that needs another map than what's loaded.

Once you render out, the renderer will switch map to the ones each shot require.

/thread
wow thanks that is very useful! though for the effort as youll have issues when going back and forth between scenes it might as others said just be better to put the other scene in another file. and then use an editor :-) but at least thats nice the options there.
Evenios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:32 PM   #9
Pistachio
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashWhiz View Post
When using it, do you lose any of the video quality? I have a grudge against WMM from past experience because of quality loss.
It all depends on what file you bring in, and what file you send out. If you bring in a high quality, uncompressed file, your output will look all that much better. The idea is to compress and recompress the image as few times as possible before sending it to youtube and parts beyond.
Pistachio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:18 AM   #10
Dr Endo
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Quite honestly, Source Filmaker is a cinematographers dream, however for post-processing, or scenes that span multiple maps, rendering out your scene for each map and using another application to composite that footage (I like afterfx) is more pragmatic than fiddle-faddling with scripts or dealing with the hit to performance your PC would have to endure


You'd need such a beast mode computer to swag on multiple maps at once in SFM, integrating outside tools is the best solution I've found. Plus, the approach opens alot of interesting avenues...like using 100FPS footage for fluid slow mo, extra particle effects, time remapping, color correction, etc...
Dr Endo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:44 AM   #11
Obfuscated
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 62
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Endo View Post
Quite honestly, Source Filmaker is a cinematographers dream, however for post-processing, or scenes that span multiple maps, rendering out your scene for each map and using another application to composite that footage (I like afterfx) is more pragmatic than fiddle-faddling with scripts or dealing with the hit to performance your PC would have to endure


You'd need such a beast mode computer to swag on multiple maps at once in SFM, integrating outside tools is the best solution I've found. Plus, the approach opens alot of interesting avenues...like using 100FPS footage for fluid slow mo, extra particle effects, time remapping, color correction, etc...
It's not about loading multiple maps at once. It's supporting one map per shot. And it does.
Obfuscated is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Filmmaker


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.