Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 10:21 AM   #1
Lucas4140
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 461
Need some help with overclocking my GTX 560 (Superclocked edition)

I want to overclock my GPU a bit, but i don't wanna damage it. So that's why I am here for some help. (I don't wanna make it a monster, but i would get some more FPS on some games)
- What programs do i need to use
- What should i apply?


My system
Intel Core I5 2.80 GHz
8 GIGs of ram
EVGA GTX 560 Superclocked
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Antec VP550P 550W Continuous Power


(Ps: I am pretty noob when it comes to overclocking)

Last edited by Lucas4140: 08-07-2012 at 10:23 AM.
Lucas4140 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 10:32 AM   #2
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10698
Posts: 46,607
If you have a superclocked card, you will not be able to get much better clock speeds and even if you do, your incremental performance will be minimal. I wouldn't do it.
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 02:41 PM   #3
TheIronSky
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
rotNdude is correct, but if you really want to taste the forbidden fruit in this instance, download the nVidia Inspector program and adjust your clock speeds from there.

You can download that utility here:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/NVIDIA-I...load-2612.html

And learn all about it here:
http://www.overclock.net/t/1267918/g...d-undervolting
TheIronSky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:33 PM   #4
YahooElite
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 782
Posts: 6,942
eVGA Precision or MSI Afterburner(Old versions) may be easier..

As far as Overclocking that card in general, read up some reviews for that card, they generally have an overclocking section and you can just go from there.

But start off at a lil lower of an overclock then what they do though..

This for example - http://guru3d.com/article/asus-gtx56...u-ii-review/20
YahooElite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:24 AM   #5
Lucas4140
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by YahooElite View Post
eVGA Precision or MSI Afterburner(Old versions) may be easier..

As far as Overclocking that card in general, read up some reviews for that card, they generally have an overclocking section and you can just go from there.

But start off at a lil lower of an overclock then what they do though..

This for example - http://guru3d.com/article/asus-gtx56...u-ii-review/20
My Memory Clock is 2052 and not Memory Clock: 4008MHz.
Lucas4140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:09 AM   #6
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucas4140 View Post
My Memory Clock is 2052 and not Memory Clock: 4008MHz.
Be careful memory clocks can be deceiving..
2052 DDR might be 4104mhz effective..
Some programs report effective speed some actual speed

ie: my card is at 1450Mhz memory effective is 5800Mhz (Double data rate/double pumped)
Same goes for cpu's with DDR3 ram, ie: DDR3 1600 does not use a 1600mhz clock speed the actual clock is 400Mhz double pumped 800 double data rate 1600Mhz effective..

Some software reports the actual clock speed not the effective speed..
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:14 AM   #7
Lucas4140
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 461
Hey guys, I have speed it up a little bit here are the new specs (i only use them while playing games)

850 MHz GPU -> 900 MHz GPU
1700MHz Shader Clock -> 1800 MHz Shader clock

I will configure my fan speed by myself, I am just making it sure it's always under 65-70°C

Those are the only things I've adapted. My memory clock is still 2052 MHz, on the EVGA specs site it says 4306 MHz (effective) so can i put it up to like 2100 MHz - 2200 MHz would it still be stable?
Lucas4140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:25 AM   #8
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
Try small steps on the ram ya never know how far it will go..
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:29 AM   #9
Lucas4140
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg_7_of_9 View Post
Try small steps on the ram ya never know how far it will go..
But can i adjust it? it's the 1 GB version... but it says 4008 MHz effective?
Lucas4140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:36 AM   #10
borg_7_of_9
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 2869
Posts: 13,509
Assuming its not locked u can adjust it might get it to 4100 effective..that's why I said small steps..
borg_7_of_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.