Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sleeping Dogs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 02:05 AM   #16
Xiupan
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 40
BUMP!
Xiupan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:46 AM   #17
NormireX
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 12
Posts: 47
Hey all. I keep getting this error also. I noticed my framerate dropped a ton and then eventually I got this error and had to close the program.

I hope they get this fixed soon. Loving the game so far! I don't know why but it gives me this Chinese Scarface kinda vibe.
NormireX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:50 AM   #18
Xiupan
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 40
It's errors like this on launches that make me want to abandon PC gaming all together... UGH!! I just want to play this game... *cries*
Xiupan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:52 AM   #19
gonzo13
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 23
Posts: 172
The game seems to run perfectly fine for me BUT its still crashing randomly. Here's hoping a patch is incoming within the near future.
gonzo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:57 AM   #20
Xiupan
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 40
I can't believe only a few of us are having this problem. Wtf? If you have this problem, post! Maybe if they see more people are having the same problem, they will be more likely to fix this game breaking problem quicker.
Xiupan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 03:20 AM   #21
gta_manic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Right after pressing new game and loading screen moving a little it just freezes, not responding, haven't play a second of the game...fml
gta_manic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 04:01 AM   #22
squirrely
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 28
Posts: 203
I get the same error. I got to play the game for about an hour, logged off for a break and now I can't get back in. I get through a good part of the load screen but it always stops there and crashes. I can tell because the dragon stops chasing its tail.
squirrely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:27 AM   #23
lewa_kal
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
My game won't even fully start up. I hit play, then a white window opens. Before anything can load, it crashes with the HKShip.exe error.
lewa_kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:28 AM   #24
7thsin
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
I press play on steam list and get HKShip.exe has stopped working. I haven't played a mere second of this game, Steam really needs to work on their server support for released games. I installed the Texture pack as well, nothing. Validated Steam files, nothing. I'm getting really impatient with this.
7thsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:06 AM   #25
Levitra
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 37
Im getting the hkship.exe error as well. I have not been able to install the game yet. When I keep my antivirus on I get a code 55 error when trying to install. When I shut off my antivirus it installs finally but then the hkship.exe shutdown occurs. The antivirus was quarantining something in windows temp folder so that must be the problem.
I have to go to work..
Levitra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:11 AM   #26
7thsin
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
I went into the sleeping dogs folder, and tried to manually start HKShip.exe, here's what I got.

This application has failed to start because d3d11.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.


We all know re-installing will NOT fix this problem. I'm gonna google the dll and see if I can find a copy, If I do i'll post a link.

---- Edit ----
http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?d3d11
This is for the dll, i'll post again if it works. It will run a dll scanner after it fixes the problem, wait itll it's done and then exit.

---- edit 2 ----
I installed the dll, tried to run hkship again got this,

The procedure point CreateDXGIFactory1 could not be located in the dynamic link library dxgi.dll

So... I'm thinking steam botched the entire install or at least something is getting lost in translation. I'm going to go find that dll and the dxgifactory file as well, will edit AGAIN if it fixes it.


---- Edit 3 ---

IF YOU RUN VISTA YOU MUST INSTALL SERVICE PACK 2 TO PLAY THIS GAME.

Getting tired of tracking all this down. The entry point CreateDXGIFactory1 requires the support of DXGI 1.1 which is available on Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2, and as an update to Windows Vista (KB971644). If you are using Vista and only have DXGI 1.0, please install this Platform Update. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/971644



--- Did all this work, no reason. Still doesn't work. I'm fed up with this. ---

Last edited by 7thsin: 08-14-2012 at 09:40 AM. Reason: Added link
7thsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:21 AM   #27
CaptainKnuckl3s
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Hope someone finds a way to fix this problem soon, I was pretty excited about this game.
CaptainKnuckl3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:23 AM   #28
deezus
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 244
Posts: 1,280
This is how I fixed the HKShip.exe has stopped working error:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...01&postcount=4
deezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:28 AM   #29
newyokohama
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
from the official forums:

"Shut down steam, go into your steam\steamapps\common\sleepingdogs folder.. and delete the HKship.exe file.. (assuming this is where its installed your game - if its not in this folder then it maybe under a username folder in steamapps).. Restart steam, and right click on sleeping dogs, go to properties and verify local files from the tab.. Try launch again"

EDIT: it's from a Square employee as well.

Last edited by newyokohama: 08-14-2012 at 10:33 AM. Reason: additional info
newyokohama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:34 AM   #30
deezus
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 244
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by newyokohama View Post
from the official forums:

"Shut down steam, go into your steam\steamapps\common\sleepingdogs folder.. and delete the HKship.exe file.. (assuming this is where its installed your game - if its not in this folder then it maybe under a username folder in steamapps).. Restart steam, and right click on sleeping dogs, go to properties and verify local files from the tab.. Try launch again"

EDIT: it's from a Square employee as well.
I tried that when I had the issue and it didn't work.
deezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sleeping Dogs


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.