Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2012, 05:34 AM   #1
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
TF2 Server Console Commands

Hello there. I've just started hosting my own public MVM server only 5 minutes ago, and was at a loss when people started joining and I couldn't get into my own server. I tried to talk to them through the server console, but I did not know of any command to do it. I have googled for the commands (http://www.8ugaming.com/pmwiki/pmwik...onsoleCommands) but to no avail. The console will simply say "unknown command". I was hoping that you guys could help me figure out which commands admins use. Right now, I'm mainly looking for a way to reserve a slot for my IP so I get the most priority when queuing. Any help will really be appreciated.
MrConcerto is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:43 AM   #2
CarlZalph
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 645
Posts: 2,969
Anything with reserved slots would need to be done through a server addon.

I'd recommend looking into SourceMod for that.
Reserved Slot information.


As far as talking to others in your server through the console itself, it's as simple as:
Code:
say "Ahoy there."
CarlZalph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:49 AM   #3
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlZalph View Post
Anything with reserved slots would need to be done through a server addon.

I'd recommend looking into SourceMod for that.
Reserved Slot information.


As far as talking to others in your server through the console itself, it's as simple as:
Code:
say "Ahoy there."
Thanks! Um, how do I check if I have Sourcemod? I got the files from http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2883046, and is there a command to see how many players are on my server? Thanks again!
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:53 AM   #4
CarlZalph
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 645
Posts: 2,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrConcerto View Post
Thanks! Um, how do I check if I have Sourcemod? I got the files from http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2883046, and is there a command to see how many players are on my server? Thanks again!
Well, you'll need Metamod since SourceMod uses it.
Then you'll need SourceMod.

From that you'll install them in your server's tf/addons/ folder.
If all is well you can run the concommands:
Code:
metamod_version
sourcemod_version
and have return values.

The concommand
Code:
status
can be used to see who is all on your server at any time.
CarlZalph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:59 AM   #5
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlZalph View Post
The concommand
Code:
status
can be used to see who is all on your server at any time.
I see. Currently, I have metamod 1.8.7u, and sourcemod i.4.5-dev. However, when i try to use commands that start with sm_******, the console doesn't recognize them. Any ideas?
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:01 AM   #6
CarlZalph
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 645
Posts: 2,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrConcerto View Post
I see. Currently, I have metamod 1.8.7u, and sourcemod i.4.5-dev. However, when i try to use commands that start with sm_******, the console doesn't recognize them. Any ideas?
Try running either of these
Code:
sm_help
sm_who
sm plugins list
and see if it returns anything.
CarlZalph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:03 AM   #7
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlZalph View Post
Try running either of these
Code:
sm_help
sm plugins list
and see if it returns anything.
sm help works without the _ in between, the list work too! I'm going to try some commands without the _ now.
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:05 AM   #8
CarlZalph
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 645
Posts: 2,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrConcerto View Post
sm help works without the _ in between, the list work too! I'm going to try some commands without the _ now.
Having the commands without the underscore are core built-in features.

Anything with an underscore is a plugin.

Check your tf/addons/sourcemod/plugins/ folder for plugins.
Here is a list of standard plugins that should have been in there on a fresh install:
Code:
admin-flatfile.smx
adminhelp.smx
adminmenu.smx
antiflood.smx
basebans.smx
basechat.smx
basecomm.smx
basecommands.smx
basetriggers.smx
basevotes.smx
clientprefs.smx
funcommands.smx
funvotes.smx
nextmap.smx
playercommands.smx
reservedslots.smx
sounds.smx
CarlZalph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:07 AM   #9
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlZalph View Post
Having the commands without the underscore are core built-in features.

Anything with an underscore is a plugin.

Check your tf/addons/sourcemod/plugins/ folder for plugins.
Here is a list of standard plugins that should have been in there on a fresh install:
Code:
admin-flatfile.smx
adminhelp.smx
adminmenu.smx
antiflood.smx
basebans.smx
basechat.smx
basecomm.smx
basecommands.smx
basetriggers.smx
basevotes.smx
clientprefs.smx
funcommands.smx
funvotes.smx
nextmap.smx
playercommands.smx
reservedslots.smx
sounds.smx
I only have limithumanclients.smx LOL. Where can I download them?
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:08 AM   #10
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
Still have no idea how to make myself admin. Do I need a plugin for that?
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:09 AM   #11
CarlZalph
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 645
Posts: 2,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrConcerto View Post
I only have limithumanclients.smx LOL. Where can I download them?
Hah, yeah that could be a problem.

You can get all of the standard plugins, precompiled, inside of the sourcemod "Full Package" download at here.
CarlZalph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:12 AM   #12
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
People, I need help. After setting up the server, I wanted to have some reserved slots so my friends and I can access the server anytime. Carl guided me through most of the steps, getting the plugin and changing the admin.cfg file. However, I am still unable to get into my own server without kicking anyone using the server console. Also, I wish to change my map rotation. Its always rotating around the 3 mvm maps, while my orangebox/tf/mapcycle says otherwise. Also, my message of the day isn''t showing up. I will really appreciate any help given.
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:17 AM   #13
lostprophetpunk
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1094
Posts: 2,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrConcerto View Post
Still have no idea how to make myself admin. Do I need a plugin for that?
You need to edit Admins.cfg and add steam id, flags etc to allow you to be an admin.
lostprophetpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:18 AM   #14
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostprophetpunk View Post
You need to edit Admins.cfg and add steam id, flags etc to allow you to be an admin.
yeap carl guided me through that, now its like
"MrConcerto"
{
"auth" "steam"
"identity" "STEAM_0:0:41786505"
"flags" "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz"
"immunity" "9001"
}
However, I'm still unable to get to my reserved slots in my server. Any ideas?
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:56 PM   #15
MrConcerto
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 73
Anyone?
MrConcerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.