Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2012, 05:57 AM   #16
Sukotto-mei
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc_Gonzo View Post
Do you have another, decent PSU that you could replace it with and test your system? I can't find any reviews for that model but plenty of user reviews for other Alpine PSU's say that they are junk!

Nope, just the terrible one that came with my case, no label, just '500w'
Sukotto-mei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 06:00 AM   #17
Doc_Gonzo
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 848
Posts: 1,705
Cheap PSU's may work fine for a while, but they are prone to failure, whether it be dramatically going up in a puff of smoke, or just not outputting what they're supposed to - which could be the case with yours.
If it's possible to check it, I would, just to rule it out. Can you borrow one from a friend?
Doc_Gonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 06:07 AM   #18
Sukotto-mei
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 86
Is there anyway I can measure the output?
And this is the case I have right now which came with my old PSU, it's basically a terrible case http://www.falconcomputers.co.uk/com...-500w-psu.html

And I ordered a Bitfinix Shinobi (no PSU, just for far better airflow) and it arrived today - http://www.bitfenix.com/global/en/pr...assis/shinobi/
Sukotto-mei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 07:08 AM   #19
Sukotto-mei
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 86
I just tried taking out the ram, and switching the two around into into each others sockets, so far it seems L4D2 ran far better, Ill test out tf2, if it doesn't work, Ill do a system restore to an earlier point and see if that works?
Sukotto-mei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 05:42 AM   #20
Sukotto-mei
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 86
The system restore seems to have worked, although when there is lots on the screen I get an fps drop, even though it didnt do this before?
Sukotto-mei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:22 AM   #21
Sukotto-mei
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 86
*Bump*
Sukotto-mei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:02 PM   #22
fincher234
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1198
Posts: 2,430
As bad motha said you can use msi afterburner to monitor your clocks and temps while you play. You need to know what your temps and clock speeds are doing when these problems arise. If you need more help about how to go about doing this post back and someone can help you.
fincher234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.