Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2012, 04:47 AM   #1
MiloSx7
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
Angry Dota 2 FPS Problem!

Hello, recently i got Dota 2 and i played couple of rounds. FPS is really low, and id drops as i get into late game.

First i thought that it is because of fragmentation, so i defrag it using O&O Defrag.
Not helped. I updated my windows, even re installed Steam and Dota, nothing worked. I have good pc performance, and i don't think its the problem about that, cause LoL and HoN run on 80 FPS.

When i get into first game it takes 5 minutes to start, and then i get disconnected, and second game works fine, but with fps fail. I disabled shadows, that didn't worked.

I even set everything to LOW or OFF including resolution 800x600. No, same fps problem..
Any advice on how to fix it, I'm mad because i can't play well, i start fight with enemy and picture freezes and unfreezes and BAM, I'm dead.


Thank you all
MiloSx7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 04:50 AM   #2
tominater12
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 198
What are yours specs and internet connection. Also you should probably post this at dev.dota2.com
tominater12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:11 AM   #3
MiloSx7
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
Windows: XP SP3
Processor: ADM Athlon 300+ 1.8GHz
Graphics: NVIDIA 7600 GS 256MB
RAM: 1GB
Internet Connection: 2Mbps

Again, i don't think the problem is in spec.
MiloSx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:12 AM   #4
tehpopbob
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiloSx7 View Post
Windows: XP SP3
Processor: ADM Athlon 300+ 1.8GHz
Graphics: NVIDIA 7600 GS 256MB
RAM: 1GB
Internet Connection: 2Mbps

Again, i don't think the problem is in spec.
It is.
tehpopbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:15 AM   #5
Masterblaster73
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 557
Posts: 3,118
I was having similar problems with other Steam games. I switched to the Nvidia GeForce 306.02 Driver BETA and my FPS went through the roof. I was amazed.
Masterblaster73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:18 AM   #6
lillythemoogle
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 219
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiloSx7 View Post
Windows: XP SP3
Processor: ADM Athlon 300+ 1.8GHz
Graphics: NVIDIA 7600 GS 256MB
RAM: 1GB
Internet Connection: 2Mbps

Again, i don't think the problem is in spec.
It is

You should be able to run it MAYBE on low, but I highly doubt you will get a steady FPS on it.
lillythemoogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:29 AM   #7
HavocInferno
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 784
Posts: 2,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiloSx7 View Post
Windows: XP SP3
Processor: ADM Athlon 300+ 1.8GHz
Graphics: NVIDIA 7600 GS 256MB
RAM: 1GB
Internet Connection: 2Mbps

Again, i don't think the problem is in spec.
The problem is in your specs. They might be enough for LoL and HoN, but Dota 2 needs quite a bit more power to run properly. It might run on low as others said, but certainly not with 80fps.
HavocInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:48 AM   #8
MiloSx7
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
I'm not quite sure its my spec, since it runs totally same on defaults and on low/off.

I will try to update my driver, thanks
MiloSx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:55 AM   #9
Shaneluls39199
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 132
Posts: 1,003
Really it is your specs milo. no offense or anything 1gb ram is not enough nowadays. 256mb on your graphics card isn't enough either. And 1.8ghzs is a bit slow.

WinXP was a game changer but i should say a very new game like dota2 is more optimized towards vista/win7. If anything adding more ram should drastically improve speeds on your system
Shaneluls39199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:07 AM   #10
MiloSx7
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
If i managed to run gta iv with 55 fps on this machine, ill manage to run Dota 2 too. WIth, or without your help.

I don't have money for new machine, and this one is serving me good for 5 years.

Thanks
MiloSx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:15 AM   #11
tehpopbob
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiloSx7 View Post
If i managed to run gta iv with 55 fps on this machine, ill manage to run Dota 2 too. WIth, or without your help.

I don't have money for new machine, and this one is serving me good for 5 years.

Thanks
Those specs weren't good 5 years ago. You aren't going to be running dota at even a solid 30fps with those specs unless you're playing at a res like 800x600.
tehpopbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:15 AM   #12
kudoboi
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 37
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiloSx7 View Post
If i managed to run gta iv with 55 fps on this machine, ill manage to run Dota 2 too. WIth, or without your help.

I don't have money for new machine, and this one is serving me good for 5 years.

Thanks
k good luck then. but even my smartphone is 4 times more powerful than your current computer.. just sayin. like others said, your computer cannot handle the game and i do not know how the hell you managed to run gta IV on that since gta IV even lags on my gaming computer when trying to run at max
kudoboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:20 AM   #13
MiloSx7
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
ok. ill stay with hon then i can't play like this.
MiloSx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:27 AM   #14
HavocInferno
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 784
Posts: 2,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiloSx7 View Post
If i managed to run gta iv with 55 fps on this machine, ill manage to run Dota 2 too. WIth, or without your help.

I don't have money for new machine, and this one is serving me good for 5 years.

Thanks
"If"

But I am sure you didn't. Your computer is certainly not capable of running GTA 4 (GTA 4 you say, not GTA 3?) at 55fps, probably not even at playable 30fps.

And if you think you can get Dota 2 to run without our help, why did you even open this topic?
HavocInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 08:28 AM   #15
MiloSx7
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
i DID managed to play GTA 4 on 55 fps, but with lowest performance. I wanted help on how to fix this, not answers buy new pc. So if you have any ideas help, dont write my pc spec is low, cause i think its not.
MiloSx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.