Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 06:08 AM   #1
Magnivore703
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 55
BOrderlands 2 .NET Framework

What the heck is wrong with Borderlands 2? After starting it up both times now it's tried to repair my .NET framework. It's already installed, and even had me restart to finish installation which didn't seem to work because it's doing it again.
Magnivore703 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:21 AM   #2
Hatesauce
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Same thing happening here man...
Hatesauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:39 AM   #3
Kaptain Ketchup
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Its doing the same thing for me, but you should be able to start the game without restarting. I chose to restart later, and the game started up.
Kaptain Ketchup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:45 AM   #4
EXCellR8
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Yea I didn't restart either and it was fine, repaired the installation twice though. The game seemed fine but I couldn't connect with any of my friends and vice versa. Turned into an hour and a half of not being able to play!
EXCellR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:37 AM   #5
Hitokiri1985
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Likewise, having the same issues. Every time I start up the game, it goes through the process of repairing my .NET frameworks and installing a profile. When finished, it'll want to restart (which I've done four times already). Instead, hitting "Restart later" seems to make it go away and Borderlands 2 starts just fine.

No problems with multi-player like the fellow poster above me though.
Hitokiri1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:46 AM   #6
jimmynavio
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Bump

My friends and I area all having the same issue. This has never happened with any other game on steam before.
jimmynavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:40 PM   #7
Defektiv
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
+1 same problem. happens every single time. It's a Performing first time setup... operation to install .NET Framework 4.0 Redist Package. In the Client Profile Maintenance window that pops up after it says all files were verified successful in a few seconds but then it takes a couple minutes to go ahead and do a repair anyway. Then it prompts for restart.

I'll gladly take this release bug over game-breaking ones but still annoying.

Edit: Marsbergen posted a fix in this thread.

Delete or move the dotnet.exe file from the ...\Borderlands 2\Binaries\Redist folder. In my case the file was named a bit differently but was the only exe there. It worked.

Last edited by Defektiv: 09-18-2012 at 12:45 PM.
Defektiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:17 PM   #8
jasonelmore
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Posts: 31
Same problem as well, deleted the .net exe file,
jasonelmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:26 PM   #9
Satoru
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5122
Posts: 10,943
Run through the install
Repair dot net.
reboot computer
should be fine.
Satoru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:15 PM   #10
takaralolita
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
Any update on a fix for this?

still not working for me, says .Net 4 is not installed but I have uninstalled it and reinstalled it 3 times, and used the .net checker tool from Microsoft. any idea's?
takaralolita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:38 PM   #11
SuspiciousSteve
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 64
Here's another work around.
If you're happy poking around your Registry, try the following:
Navigate to the key: "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Valve\Ste am\Apps\49520" (taking into account 32bit/64bit machines)
Create the following DWORD 32bit keys in here, and set the value to 1 on each (some may already exist, or be set to 0):
DirectXRedist
NET40Redist
VCRedist2005
VCRedist2005ATL
VCRedist2008
VCRedist2010

This should make the first-time set-up think you have everything installed and leave you alone; and will hopefully mean you don't need to delete/rename any files should they get restored by an update.
SuspiciousSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:57 PM   #12
azzonie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Reputation: 509
Posts: 3,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoru View Post
Run through the install
Repair dot net.
reboot computer
should be fine.
It should be but if you read it is not which is why people are posting. It tries to reinstall after you reboot. I think this is an issue with the .net install and not really a bordrlands fault. Some people have fixed it by uninstalling all .net 4 entries and then reinstalling .net from scratch.

Last edited by azzonie: 09-21-2012 at 04:15 PM.
azzonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:10 PM   #13
ageres
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 90
Posts: 578
Try to delete something from installscript.vdf.
ageres is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.