Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dishonored

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 12:16 PM   #16
BC2 Cypher
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 478
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregp View Post
I came across a 'SSAA Tool' today that seems to do downsampling in DX10/11 games (although it is described as an SSAA tool which, strictly speaking, I think, it's not):

http://www.tommti-systems.de/start.html

Which seems a lot simpler than the 'manual' process for setting up downsampling, as described here:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=366244

I haven't had a chance to try out the SSAA Tool yet, but am planning to do so later today.
But Dishonored is a DX9 game so won't that not work?
BC2 Cypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:32 PM   #17
roflquake
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 9
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by BC2 Cypher View Post
Nothing that I know of.

The AMD drivers don't work the same and you can't add AA flags like you can with Nvidia drivers (at least as far as I know).
i use AMD and i can enable msaa / ssaa just normally in the catalyst control center
roflquake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:36 PM   #18
gregp
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
If it truly is a DX9 game, with not a single DX10/11 feature added on top, then I suppose AA from within the game ought to work. On my system, it doesn't seem to be doing anything, and I suspect it's because these MLAA/FXAA modes are 'weaker' implementations of AA, if I understand it correctly, compared to the 'older' and 'stronger' methods like SSAA, MSAA, etc.

That SSAA Tool, by the way, I don't think is limited to DX10/11 games ... I probably should have worded that differently. What I meant was, if a game is DX10/11, then ATI users who aren't able to force AA via CCC might want to try this SSAA Tool, which is really just an automatic downsampling routine.

So yeah, I think it should work.
gregp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:43 PM   #19
Wardiaper
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 5670
Posts: 1,525
Wonder if that smaa injector floating around would work? I use it on Borderlands 2 and it works great. I think it is the same one some people use in Skyrim and The Witcher 2.

Just google "smaa injector borderlands 2." I'm not that tech savvy to know if it is picked up as a 'cheat' in a game like Borderlands, but single player games should be okay. I play BL2 LAN and no problems with the smaa injector running on 2 computers, but we only play singleplayer or LAN.
Wardiaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:57 PM   #20
gregp
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
SweetFX seems to be a more advanced version of that injector, but at least for me, the AA portion of it doesn't work.
gregp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:17 PM   #21
jim2point0
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 229
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregp View Post
SweetFX seems to be a more advanced version of that injector, but at least for me, the AA portion of it doesn't work.
If you're using LumaSharpen, that will actually counter the affects of SMAA. If you use the SMAA part without Sharpen, it works great. You can open injector.ini and set the preset to ultra instead of custom if you don't know what you're doing with the SMAA settings.
jim2point0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:23 PM   #22
Wardiaper
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 5670
Posts: 1,525
I think this is a different one and doesn't have all the other stuff that SweetFx uses. I haven't tried this on Dishonored and not sure I'm going to because I'm using a more powerful computer than the one I usually play Borderlands 2 on. That weaker machine is a dual core 2.5 ghz with an Nvidia 9600 GT and plays BL2 absolutely butter smooth even with the smaa injector. It's like free antialiasing.

Here's the discussion with pics - http://www.dayonepatch.com/index.php...e-enable-smaa/

Here is the guy's site with the download - http://mrhaandi.blogspot.com/p/injectsmaa.html

I do not know if this works with Dishonored or not.

Edit - The only downside in Borderlands 2 is that the game looks great, but the screenshots using steam's F12 makes pics that have jaggies.

Last edited by Wardiaper: 10-10-2012 at 02:37 PM.
Wardiaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:30 PM   #23
NikSha
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 19
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtdew332 View Post
Good thing we all go out and spend a couple of hundred dollars every year to buy the latest and greatest 3D cards just to have games that don't properly support

Stopped reading after that. I bught my 9800GTX+ back in 2008 and I can run this game maxed out at 1080p.

The AA looks to be broken since as a Unreal developer myself, at least FXAA in Unreal engine can completely smooth out the jaggies. It looks like game's problem, not Unreal engine's.
NikSha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:38 PM   #24
gregp
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
So, turns out I was flat-out wrong about not being able to force AA through CCC ... actually, I think I had never even tried before 5 minutes ago!

I know I've had trouble forcing AA with other UE3 games, and somehow the ineffectiveness of the in-game AA, combined with my inability to get SweetFX's SMAA working (although, as jim2point0 pointed out, maybe that was because I was using the LumaSharpen feature), made me inadvertently conclude that AA could not be forced through CCC.

Well, it can. 4x SSAA looks great, and only dropped my FPS from 120 to 100. So I'm not even going to bother with the downsampling tool now.

EDIT: Out of curiosity I decided to try the SSAA Tool -- and simply could not get it to work, as it requires turning off Windows digital driver signing, which I did -- but it just kept crashing the game. Oh well.

Last edited by gregp: 10-10-2012 at 03:14 PM.
gregp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:41 PM   #25
jim2point0
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 229
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wardiaper View Post
I think this is a different one and doesn't have all the other stuff that SweetFx uses. I haven't tried this on Dishonored and not sure I'm going to because I'm using a more powerful computer than the one I usually play Borderlands 2 on. That weaker machine is a dual core 2.5 ghz with an Nvidia 9600 GT and plays BL2 absolutely butter smooth even with the smaa injector. It's like free antialiasing.

Here's the discussion with pics - http://www.dayonepatch.com/index.php...e-enable-smaa/

Here is the guy's site with the download - http://mrhaandi.blogspot.com/p/injectsmaa.html

I do not know if this works with Dishonored or not.

Edit - The only downside in Borderlands 2 is that the game looks great, but the screenshots using steam's F12 makes pics that have jaggies.
SweetFX basically combines the SMAA injector (same smaa settings, presets, etc) with other post process options. SO yeah, it's the same. But the added sharpness you get from SweetFX can make a world of difference. Here are a couple screens of mine from B2:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8033/8...b5f0bafb_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8175/8...5ab6212c_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8182/8...b1ed997f_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8173/8...358dab3d_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8456/8...8f9c4b9c_h.jpg
jim2point0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:10 PM   #26
ATM743
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 10
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post
SweetFX basically combines the SMAA injector (same smaa settings, presets, etc) with other post process options. SO yeah, it's the same. But the added sharpness you get from SweetFX can make a world of difference. Here are a couple screens of mine from B2:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8033/8...b5f0bafb_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8175/8...5ab6212c_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8182/8...b1ed997f_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8173/8...358dab3d_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8456/8...8f9c4b9c_h.jpg
i downloaded sweetfx did you edit the files for BL2? if so can you uploaded your settings? those screenshots make me wish i didnt get to level 30 already playing stock LOL
ATM743 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:34 PM   #27
BC2 Cypher
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 478
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by roflquake View Post
i use AMD and i can enable msaa / ssaa just normally in the catalyst control center
You can, but it won't work unless AMD added an AA profile for the game to be able to force it through the CCC.

Someone above said that forcing AA through the CCC does work though so I guess this game does have driver supported AA for AMD cards.

Last edited by BC2 Cypher: 10-10-2012 at 08:40 PM.
BC2 Cypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:40 PM   #28
BC2 Cypher
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 478
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post
SweetFX basically combines the SMAA injector (same smaa settings, presets, etc) with other post process options. SO yeah, it's the same. But the added sharpness you get from SweetFX can make a world of difference. Here are a couple screens of mine from B2:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8033/8...b5f0bafb_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8175/8...5ab6212c_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8182/8...b1ed997f_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8173/8...358dab3d_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8456/8...8f9c4b9c_h.jpg
It also added color edge detection for the anti-aliasing.
BC2 Cypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:45 PM   #29
Kakkoii
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 60
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregp View Post
If it truly is a DX9 game, with not a single DX10/11 feature added on top, then I suppose AA from within the game ought to work. On my system, it doesn't seem to be doing anything, and I suspect it's because these MLAA/FXAA modes are 'weaker' implementations of AA, if I understand it correctly, compared to the 'older' and 'stronger' methods like SSAA, MSAA, etc.

That SSAA Tool, by the way, I don't think is limited to DX10/11 games ... I probably should have worded that differently. What I meant was, if a game is DX10/11, then ATI users who aren't able to force AA via CCC might want to try this SSAA Tool, which is really just an automatic downsampling routine.

So yeah, I think it should work.
This is a purely DX9 game.

To everyone in this thread, the reason old AA methods aren't implemented is because this game is using a relatively newer rendering method that UE3 implemented a few years ago called Deferred Rendering, which renders lights way more efficiently. It decouples the lighting pass from the geometry pass, and thus can't be AA'd using the normal methods, without using workarounds in the DX10/11 libraries. The only reasons forcing MSAA/SGSSAA works is because it's pretty much just rendering the game at a higher resolution and down scaling (although that's oversimplifying how it works).

So your best two options are, SGSSAA and injecting SMAA which is a post process operation that works well. (I hope dev's start implementing the full version of SMAA that isn't just post process, because it's actually a very amazing AA method that would negate the need for super sampling.)

So I wouldn't entirely blame Bethesda or game devs who use deferred rendering in UE3 now. It's more a problem that efficient AA methods for deferred rendering haven't been established and implemented into engines yet.
Kakkoii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dishonored


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.