Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Doom series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2012, 08:44 AM   #16
mseifullah
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg34573 View Post
Well Sikkmod will obviously look better, but there are alot of settings/tweaks for Sikkmod so everyone using it will have a different looking game.
Does Sikkmod have those higher-resolution textures as well? Or what download would you need to get those?
mseifullah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:05 AM   #17
alfred einstein
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 40
Posts: 299
it is nice could do with the higher textures though
alfred einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:15 AM   #18
THE Nakedgun
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2005
Reputation: 597
Posts: 4,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by mseifullah View Post
Does Sikkmod have those higher-resolution textures as well? Or what download would you need to get those?
The textures are a seperate download.

http://www.doom3world.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=24708
THE Nakedgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 01:45 PM   #19
cyborg34573
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 336
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by mseifullah View Post
Does Sikkmod have those higher-resolution textures as well? Or what download would you need to get those?
Like TheNakedGun said, they are separate. I'm using packs from Wulfen and Monoxead.
I highly recommend using POM(Parallax Occlusion Mapping) with these textures though, its what makes them look even better my having them pop out, without POM they will appear flat and dull.
cyborg34573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 04:44 PM   #20
Hilarityensues
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Count_D View Post
Nope. I suggest you try demanding your money back.
Unfortunately I can't. I pre-order through gamestop before I found out about the 20$ upgrade offered through steam.

EA and Bethesda don't allow refunds through gamestop. Should've known gamestop had some crappy rules about that, Everytime I go in I get flak from some obese pimply faced dude with a neckbeard about being a "PC gamer"
Hilarityensues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:37 AM   #21
=DirtY*DawG=
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg34573 View Post
I'm glad you like it man. And yeah Film grain isn't for everyone lol.
I'm still debating over Filmic(complex) and Exponential for HDR tone mapper though. Filmic(complex) makes it darker but is it too dark, hmm idk.

But yeah point is, Sikkmod obviously is alot better than BFG lol.
How did you get sikkmod tab to show up on 6th Venom HQ menu? I dropped the VenomMenu PK4 in the sikkmod folder but the SM tab doesn't show up...
Thanks
=DirtY*DawG= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:33 AM   #22
Mad
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 46
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg34573 View Post
Well Sikkmod will obviously look better, but there are alot of settings/tweaks for Sikkmod so everyone using it will have a different looking game.

This is how I set mine. Just gonna copy paste from my other post.

"Before viewing the screenshots, I recommend turning up your Digital Vibrance a bit in Nvidia Control Panel to get the full effect. Pics will appear dull and colorless if that is set too low. I have mine at 90 percent right now, but we all have different monitor settings so that might be too little or too much depending on what monitor you have, so just experiment with it. You should use it on all your games anyways, it makes their colors pop out more.

Comparisons
BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-36-38-416.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...9-308-Copy.jpg

BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-38-18-029.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...4-511-Copy.jpg

BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-37-34-298.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...4-508-Copy.jpg

BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-38-01-927.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-42-26-318.jpg

BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-39-06-826.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...1-503-Copy.jpg

BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-39-21-753.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...3-010-Copy.jpg

BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-40-46-793.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...8-605-Copy.jpg

Menu
BFG Edition
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-59-48-034.jpg
Modded D3
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...5-16-12-18.jpg
http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...-08-54-320.jpg

Again this is my personal preference. Some people will hate the look I went for but I love it myself, the darkness compliments the horror feel of the game imo."
While there is an improvement of sorts in your modded version images, I can't help feeling that it looks like your character has a pair of black tights over his head. It's like a kind of overlay on the screen rather that actual texture improvements. Just my opinion you understand.
Mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 10:08 AM   #23
beavermatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 84
the "enhanced" lighting is not simply from r_lightscale. It uses a ntechnique present in a few other games, but never implemented in doom 3 until the BFG edition called "r_overbrights". It's default is 2, but set it to 1 and you get normal vanilla DOOM 3 lighting.

there were experimental options for it in prior id tech engine's, but it most certainly is a new lighting source for Doom 3 BFG edition that was not available in Doom 3 vanilla.
beavermatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:17 AM   #24
Khronikos
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 37
Posts: 220
I can't support this garbage. This is a 10 dollar game at best. I thought they were going above and beyond for this game lol. Looks like the same damn old thing.
Khronikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:41 AM   #25
Glaice
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 18
Posts: 249
It's r_overbright 2, not r_lightscale 2. Change r_overbright to 1 and you have original Doom 3 lighting.
Glaice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:05 PM   #26
cyborg34573
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 336
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad View Post
While there is an improvement of sorts in your modded version images, I can't help feeling that it looks like your character has a pair of black tights over his head. It's like a kind of overlay on the screen rather that actual texture improvements. Just my opinion you understand.
Lol that's a funny way of looking at it .
But maybe you'd like the more colorful approach I experimented with before without the grain.


http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/...2/Helltest.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/...Helltest12.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/.../Helltest9.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/.../Helltest3.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/.../Helltest5.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/.../Helltest6.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/.../Helltest2.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/...Helltest15.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/...Helltest11.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/.../Helltest8.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/.../Helltest7.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/...Helltest10.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/...Helltest14.jpg
http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/...Helltest13.jpg

Last edited by cyborg34573: 10-19-2012 at 01:10 PM.
cyborg34573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:13 PM   #27
cyborg34573
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 336
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by =DirtY*DawG= View Post
How did you get sikkmod tab to show up on 6th Venom HQ menu? I dropped the VenomMenu PK4 in the sikkmod folder but the SM tab doesn't show up...
Thanks
Replied to your PM.
cyborg34573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:51 PM   #28
SirWooties
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Count_D View Post
Originally posted by id.dav on Bethesda forums. Reposted here so people will know what they are buying:
Remastered rendering.....really? This is all BS! One can easily activate console and type r_lightscale 1 and will see standard original doom 3 lightning!!!
Oh id, you can cheat console kids, not pc gamers, especially your FANS!

autoexec.cfg :
seta g_fov 100
seta g_gunY -0.6
seta g_gunX -0.1
seta com_skipintrovideos 1
seta r_lightscale 1
Excuse my noob question but I tried adding those commands in a autoexec.cfg in the base folder of doom 3 but it doesn't work. Any help?
SirWooties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:52 PM   #29
MoonUNit
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 2091
Posts: 3,594
I added them to the default.cfg file and they seemed to work for me.
MoonUNit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Doom series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.