Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 05:58 PM   #1216
jakeowaty
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Honestly, I've been running Chris's Highframes config for about a month now and I WAS (repeat, WAS) very happy about it. My frames were between 100 and 120, the game was so smooth and I enjoyed it very much.
Lately though the framerate dropped to 30-40 frames per second, which is very unpleasant. I've been trying to fix it, even loading the defaults with DX 9, but nothing seemed to help.

Is there anyhing possible to fix it (either by someone or by Valve themselves), so I can play normally again? It's frustrating...
jakeowaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:56 AM   #1217
zopydude
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakeowaty View Post
Honestly, I've been running Chris's Highframes config for about a month now and I WAS (repeat, WAS) very happy about it. My frames were between 100 and 120, the game was so smooth and I enjoyed it very much.
Lately though the framerate dropped to 30-40 frames per second, which is very unpleasant. I've been trying to fix it, even loading the defaults with DX 9, but nothing seemed to help.

Is there anyhing possible to fix it (either by someone or by Valve themselves), so I can play normally again? It's frustrating...
Jake is your performance decrease since the latest update? That's when I started noticing issues identical to yours. I am in work atm so can't try this thread, but it will be first thing I do when I walk through the door tonight. Shall I assume it did nothing for you though? :/
zopydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:31 AM   #1218
jakeowaty
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Well, yes. I had a short break from Friday till Monday, that's when all this started happening. 60FPS loss is just ridiculous.
Tried to do everything, but turning on the DirectX 9 is not helping at all. If you can aid me and people around somehow, I'd be very grateful.
jakeowaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:35 AM   #1219
zopydude
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemon&lime View Post
What kind of system do you have, more specifically CPU and GPU? Also what kind of settings do you have set ingame as far as video options go?
Hope you don't mind me responding to this too - as I'm having the same issue.

My specs are a AMD 8150 x8 core 3.6GHz
and GPU is a HD Radeon 7850 (2GB)
16GB of RAM
Windows 7 64bit

No idea if this indicates anything... I also have a 120GB SSD which is super fast but also nearly full. Is it possible something is clogging up my SSD is it tries to run the graphics files or even that its nearly full causing frame stutter?
zopydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:38 AM   #1220
jakeowaty
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
Well, my computer is wooden as hell.

Intel Dual Core 2.4GHZ
Radeon 8600GT
2GB of RAM
Windows XP (yup)
1920x1080 screen (if that's important)

I used to play on my computer with much smaller screen (1200x1100something), with almost all settings set to the max, getting about 60FPS. As I bought the larger screen, had to sacrifice the graphics for performance, getting 100-120FPS in fights. Latest update broke that.
Using the highframes script by chris with all the ragdolls and facial flexes on.
jakeowaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:38 PM   #1221
zopydude
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 53
just an update - unfortunately adding the steamapps folder to virus exceptions did nothing
i then tried running tf2 with no virus software on and result was sale e FPS

hopefully valve can identify and fix the issue their end
zopydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:44 AM   #1222
FreshKaT
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 116
Posts: 130
Can somebody help me as well

I run no antivirus while playing TF2. I only use Windows Defender anyway
HDD is fully defrag'd and everything
I have solid 90Mbps download/ 60Mbps upload connection, no lag spikes.

No matter what settings I use my fps is just around the same (even with chris fps configs, maxquality and dx9frames-highframes are pretty much the same). Never really gets over 120-130 and drops often to 40-50 for short periods, it feels really jittery.

PC Specs
MB MSI P35 Neo2-FR
CPU Intel C2D E8400 (tried overclocking at 3600MHz, runs stable at around 65*C in full load, TF2 never uses more than 50% anyway)
RAM 4GB DDR2 800 (Dual-Channel)
GPU MSI HD7770 (1000/1150 clocks, idles at 35-37*C full load ~66, TF2 never uses more than 50% again)
PSU Sirtec 460W
HDD Western Digital WD3200AAKS, TF2 is installed on first partition, It has no bads, temps ~ 28*C)

I got 3080 3DMark 11 Points.
Latest 12.10 AMD Drivers
Windows 8 x64 (happens as well on Windows 7 x64)
Playing at 1680x1050, full screen
What's wrong ?
FreshKaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:38 AM   #1223
mreeuwij
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 521
Posts: 3,474
Windows Defender / MS Essentials are the crappiest and is nothing then a bad patchup for a antivirus/antispyware. Get a real anti-virus / anti-spyware for that.

Ehm, with the C2D thats a dual core, so that 50% is just 1 core being topped to the max probably. Shame the "multicore rendering" on dual cores isn't really paying off. I'd try running singlecore (if its set on multicore, if not try vv)
mreeuwij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:11 AM   #1224
FreshKaT
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 116
Posts: 130
I don't really have anything besides my OS and a coupe of casual software like Skype installed + Steam/TF2. Windows Defender is disabled, but I don't think I have any problems like malware/viruses.

mat_queue_mode 2 works better than mat_queue_mode 0 for me, so singlecore not really an option.
what's vv ?
FreshKaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:46 AM   #1225
rushia96
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 76
Hello everyone,

Everytime I play TF2 with 32 players and there´s allot of action on my screen my FPS drop from 60 FPS (I´m running with vsync) to 20FPS..

Specs:
AMD Zambezi fx-6100 6 cores
AMD Radeon 7870 2GB
12 GB RAM
Resolution: 1900x1080
And I don know if it´s relevant but I´ve got a PSU with 700 wts

Hope someone can (finally) help me!
rushia96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:29 PM   #1226
TheStratovarian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
Since the update, same deal, it idles about 120-250ish fps, starts into the map and any rendering, wham, 15-20fps.

Was working fine before the update.

amd ati 7770
amd phenom x4 945 processor
8gb ram (4x 2gb sticks)
Resolution 1680x1050
TheStratovarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 03:53 PM   #1227
xXFejsYXx
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 13
Posts: 177
As I'm watching the forums I see that I'm not the only with low fps since last updates...
xXFejsYXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 05:05 AM   #1228
AzureNinja99
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 9
Posts: 69
I shall do that!. Thanks!
AzureNinja99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:20 PM   #1229
asynesthesickid
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
Linux

I have to run tf in dx8 with chris's max frames config to keep from random framerate drops, but I finally got it up and running on linux, and it runs even better than it does in windows 7. It still suffers from random frame drops from time to time, but it is not related to things such as pyro setting a bunch of stuff on fire, but rather to not-so-perfect optimization on linux at this point. I even used the max quality config and never dropped below 60fps on linux when playing mvm and there were crit rockets and such flying everywhere. Normally I get frame drops on windows 7 in dx8 under the same circumstances. Whatever optimizations valve may have implemented from the linux version, I hope they can get them working in windows, as considering tf2 was built natively for windows, it should run just as good if not better than the linux version. Once valve works out the kinks with frame stability in linux though, I might make the full switch.
asynesthesickid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:50 AM   #1230
Spud-man
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 348
Posts: 2,928
I am in need for some tech help.

Laptop Lenovo G560
i3 M350 2.27GHz
nVidia GeForce 310m
4G RAM

I am currently playing with Chris´ Highframes config and it have worked well since Halloween but now I am noticing very annoying issue.
During setup time, standing still etc. fps is nearly 200. But when getting to the action it drops immediately to about 50-60.
Not that 50-60 fps itself annoys me but that constant jumping between fps values messes my hitscan aim drastically.

edit: I play with 1366x768 with settings medium to low.

So is there any way to like "lock"/ stabilize the fps so the difference between max and min won´t be so high.

Thank you for reading.

Last edited by Spud-man: 02-22-2013 at 06:54 AM.
Spud-man is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.